We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun Buggy & ATV Fun Rentals - Pismo Beach

Closed Now: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
124
All photos (124)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“pismo beach”(27 reviews)
“sand dunes”(20 reviews)
“these guys”(7 reviews)
About
ATVs, UTVs, and Dune Buggy rentals right on the beach. The only State Parks Certified Vendor to have ATVs, UTVs, and Dune Buggies all in one place, By Far Sun Buggie has the newest fleet of the Best Name brand vehicles, and the best safety record in...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
328 Pier Ave, Oceano, CA 93445-9730
Website
+1 805-244-9721
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
110
38
8
7
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
110
38
8
7
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pismo beach sand dunes these guys safety video nice staff five minutes an accident a couple times rental process answered all of our questions hour rental two hours take care starting point toed shoes slow down first timers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great time riding the dunes. Staff super friendly and accommodating as we needed to switch out the machines. Vehicles were well loved but in good working order. My kids are already trying to reorganize our Thanksgiving trip to fit in a second day of riding......More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank DougM611
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were 11 in our group and we had a blast in our first ATV experience. Staff was friendly and very informative. Only down side is one of our ATV kept on dying on us. They sent another one, but it didnt work too. We...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank mayrl0907
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

We had a good time Larry was very helpful and very knowledgeable about the route. My 4 Wheeler got stuck he help me right away. Thanks so much Larry you were great. Ask for Larry to be your tour guy👍🏾👍🏾

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank norrice w
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Worst experience ever— ruined what should have been fun group experience. They rented us a defective dune buggy that got stuck in the dunes 15 minutes after starting. Despite several calls with the staff assuring us we would have someone help us in 5-10 minutes,...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Gordon R
SunBuggy, Manager at Sun Buggy & ATV Fun Rentals - Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

It is indeed a shame that unscrupulous individuals would attempt to extort money from upstanding businesses by being disingenuous. Our policy clearly states that any ride time lost due to mechanical failures will be compensated for with additional ride time only. You cannot have an...More

Reviewed 11 September 2018

Rented a dune buggy at Sun Buggy Fun Rental near Pismo Beach. Looking forward to a fun smooth ride in the dunes (something I always wanted to do). It was an old machine w/ worn out shocks and super rough ride. The belt broke about...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Tami S
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We are a family of 5 (10 year old twins and. 13 year old). We rented the cinco which was actually a 6 seater dune buggy. I was afraid my teen wouldn’t like being a passenger and prefer to drive but he did have a...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank tobshan
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our quad bike riding in the dunes! Staff were friendly and helped to settle our 9 year old in! Riding for all abilities and confidence levels, can highly recommend!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Rebecca C
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

They tell you to get there an hour early. We did and watched a ridiculous informational video that was about five minutes long and a bit pointless. It was repeated information that was not useful. Useful information would’ve been how to avoid getting stuck in...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Rebecca6783
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Would absolutely do this again! From reserving our dune buggy with Eric on the phone to Jersey at the dunes ( I think this was his name), our whole experience with Sunbuggy was great! We had so much fun as first timers and would definitely...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ginas0617
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We first talked to BJ's and then a neighbor suggested Sun Buggy so we checked them out. It seemed that they were cheaper than BJ's and we got more time. By going on the first ride of the morning (9AM) we got three hours for...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jimbo G
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Pacific Plaza Hotel
74 reviews
.26 km away
Oceano Inn
42 reviews
.54 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
252 reviews
3.26 km away
Motel 6 Pismo Beach
192 reviews
3.28 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 7 nearby restaurants
Old Juan's Cantina
224 reviews
.53 km away
The Spoon Trade
131 reviews
1.85 km away
Rock N Roll Diner
182 reviews
.62 km away
Sylvesters Burgers
51 reviews
1.66 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 13 nearby attractions
Pismo State Beach
107 reviews
.37 km away
Oceano Dunes State Vehicular Recreation Area
141 reviews
.23 km away
Pacific Adventure Tours
36 reviews
.69 km away
The Locked Inn
7 reviews
1.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nana0187
11 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Djriva5 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
prepper
14 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SDCA312 | Reviewed this property |
IMHO the dune buggies are much safer because they have better stability (wider wheel base), you are protected by the vehicle's cage, wear helmets and buckled up with seat belts. With the ATVs you only have the helmets... More
0
Votes
Jake M
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kale M | Reviewed this property |
They told us immediate on a refund and it’s taken over 8 days not there yet. Manager won’t answer phone.
0
Votes