We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ullswater Steamers

Glenridding CA11 0US, England
Share
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 21.65*
and up
Ullswater Lake Boat Ride
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good32%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pooley bridge”(366 reviews)
“steamers”(377 reviews)
“boat trip”(66 reviews)
About
The lake runs a serpentine course in three reaches with Helvellyn crowning the plateau at the head of the lake; at 3117 ft it is England’s third highest mountain. Ullswater ‘Steamers’ create the perfect opportunity to combine a cruise with some of...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Glenridding CA11 0US, England
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pooley bridge"
in 366 reviews
"steamers"
in 377 reviews
"boat trip"
in 66 reviews
"round the lake"
in 51 reviews
"ullswater steamer"
in 36 reviews
"great trip"
in 38 reviews
"relaxing trip"
in 17 reviews
"day ticket"
in 21 reviews
"ticket office"
in 23 reviews
"return journey"
in 25 reviews
"kirkstone pass"
in 12 reviews
"below deck"
in 15 reviews
"sit outside"
in 13 reviews
"lake district"
in 57 reviews
"car park"
in 43 reviews
"wrap up warm"
in 10 reviews
"hot drinks"
in 10 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We booked the steamer in advance and couldn't have been luckier with the weather, which was fabulous. Great way to see Ullswater and the beautiful scenery. The steamer makes several stops so that you can walk between the drop off and collection points. I recommend...More

Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Ullswater Steamers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you to Leigh H for their fantastic 5 star review. We are all delighted that you had such a great time and look forward to welcoming you on board again very soon. For those that have never visited the area before, please download our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

Short cut your hike or enjoy the wind and water. The children or couple. It is simple and it is most enjoyableMore

Thank rv15243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Ullswater Steamers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you to this passenger for their fantastic 5 star review. We are all delighted that you had such a great time and look forward to welcoming you on board again very soon. For those that have never visited the area before, please download our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

What a lovely day out. Arrived at Pooley Bridge and embarked on The Lady of the Lake at 1115. The weather was resplendent, and the steamer was majestic. We completed the round trip down to Glenridding and back and the whole experience was quite delightful....More

Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Ullswater Steamers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you to RobC for their fantastic 5 star review. We are all delighted that you had such a great time and look forward to welcoming you on board again very soon. For those that have never visited the area before, please download our free...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Ullswater Steamers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very pleasant cruise on Ullswater The only note was that it was quite confusing if you do not know the area were you want to go to, so we just stayed on board.More

Thank francesduncan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Ullswater Steamers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you to francesduncan7 for their fantastic 5 star review. We are all delighted that you had such a great time and look forward to welcoming you on board again very soon. For those that have never visited the area before, please download our free...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice trip, beautiful scenery and relaxing. Good opportunity to stop off at various points on the trip. What disappointed is the fact that the boats are powered by diesel, they are not ‘Steamers’. We were looking forward to travelling on a true steamer.More

Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Ullswater Steamers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Chris h, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review of your trip with us. I am sorry to hear that you were unaware that our original 'Steamers' were converted to diesel over 80 years ago and we have never...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a very unfit person, I was glad to find that unlike Pooley Bridge, there's lots of parking right by the pier if you go to Glenridding. Lots of choice about where to sit and just the most incredible views

Thank tentgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Ullswater Steamers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you to tentgirl for her fantastic 5 star review. We are all delighted that you had such a great time and look forward to welcoming you on board again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Ullswater Steamers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had an awesome afternoon cruise to supplement a function we attended. Lovely boat with a fabulous friendly crew. Spectacular views of the lake shores and the surrounding fells. Totally relaxing.

1  Thank wiggymarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Ullswater Steamers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely 5 star review! We are all delighted that you had a wonderfully relaxing cruise and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Glenridding Hotels
The Glenridding Hotel
466 reviews
.29 km away
Inn on the Lake
1,823 reviews
.32 km away
The Patterdale Hotel
1,030 reviews
1.15 km away
Howtown Hotel
159 reviews
5.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Helvellyn Country Kitchen
280 reviews
.36 km away
The White Lion Inn
127 reviews
1.25 km away
Fellbites Cafe and Restaurant
401 reviews
.41 km away
The Orangery
163 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glenridding Sailing Centre
175 reviews
.17 km away
Place Fell
67 reviews
1.16 km away
Hallin Fell
82 reviews
5.17 km away
Distant Horizons UK
35 reviews
7.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
margaret j
25 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from francesduncan7 | Reviewed this property |
The whole trip took about 2 hours+ without us getting off at any of the two stops.
0
Votes
twigs42
6 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mark B | Reviewed this property |
Yes dogs are allowed with a £1 fee. Enjoy your trip
0
Votes
ann187062
26 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mark H | Property representative |
Generally speaking yes you can - please phone the office for up to date information about which boats are operating which services on the day that you are planning to come.
0
Votes
;