Floors Castle
Floors Castle
4
Speciality & Gift Shops • Castles • Gardens
Read more
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Write a review
About
Scotland's largest inhabited castle A visit to Floors Castle is a wonderful day out in a stunning location in the Scottish Borders - just 1 hour from Edinburgh and Newcastle. Visit the Castle and tour it's wonderful collection of furniture, art, tapestries, ceramics and much more. Stroll through the spectacular walled garden and see what's growing in the Victorian glass houses. Enjoy tea and light bites in the Castle's Courtyard Cafe, or take in the beautiful Garden while dining on freshly prepared meals from the Castle kitchens at the popular Terrace Cafe. Shop for local produce and special gifts at The Apple Shed and Castle Gift Shops. Explore the Castle grounds offering scenic countryside walks along the River Tweed, cycle trails through the woodlands, kids playground in the Garden and dog friendly spaces.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Floors Castle and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
874 reviews
Excellent
451
Very good
248
Average
99
Poor
45
Terrible
32

skels0
County Dublin, Ireland7 contributions
Solo
During my visit to Kelso, Scotland, I walked to Floors Castle and found their grounds and garden breathtaking. The castle is about a 15 minute walk from Kelso and it overlooks the Tweed river and some lush rolling green pastures. There were lots of gorgeous sheep out in the pasture, fly fishermen in the river, and a few locals walking the grounds. I didn’t tour the inside of the house as it was so beautiful outside I wanted to enjoy the warm weather. I highly recommend visiting this beautiful property.
Written 24 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

DarrenMooney
Denny52 contributions
Grand house - very well maintained. I thought we would have been allowed access to more rooms than just a few rooms on the first level.

More than disappointed as what we were allowed access to was very nice.

Gardens were nice - I'm sure they are even better in the height of season.
Written 21 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

RHall381
South Lyon2 contributions
Friends
Our group tour guide John Robb was an absolute gem! The staff of the courtyard cafe was also wonderful. Thank you for a wonderful time.
Written 16 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

591Sue21
Saumur, France133 contributions
Couples
A delightful day out. I have a problem with stairs and the guides took me into a lift to avoid the staircase taken by others. They were very helpful and kind. The rooms which are open, are a glimpse into a country manor home, rather than the opulence of a stately home. There are wonderful country walks and a friendly cafe for tea, coffee, scones and cakes all baked in the kitchens. Some beautiful art and tapestries.
Written 13 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Karen D
12 contributions
Loved the whole feel of the castle. Though fewer rooms to visit than at some places. there is plenty to keep you here most of the day, with lovely gardens, riverside walks, tea rooms & a shop. The rooms are lovely & choc full of furniture & furnishings of interest. The guides have lots of information so don't be shy of promping their stories from them! The facilities for the public are up a notch from the usual quality, & the new Duke seems very involved with the local community & his guides are all employees rather than volunteers. There was a short film on the Duke's environmental work & the biomass energy that runs the castle which was interesting.Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this wonderful place & recommend it for others.
Written 13 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mal
1 contribution
I visited in the first week of Sept 22. Despite living in the North East, I had never been before.
That has been my loss, because this is a delightful day out.
It has a lovely feel to it and I fully intend to return to see the walled garden at its best.
I didn't visit the castle because the gardens and grounds were what I was interested in and based on that I would strongly recommend a visit
Written 10 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

richard r
Borgue, UK121 contributions
Couples
Not the cheapest entrance fee but there is enough to keep you here all day.
The garden has a formal area that had interesting, well maintained herbaceous beds. Even at the end of this drought there was plenty of interest. Nice cafe that allows dogs outside but you might need to book at busy times. There are well signed longer walks round the house and down to the river. If you are just visiting the garden ,dont park at the first car park - keep going.
The house is accessed from the first car park which also has a , simpler, cafe.
The house is not particularly Scottish, butdoes display the style and elegance associated with aristocracy.
My favourite was the room full of stuffed birds. Not very PC these days but a window into a different world.
Written 6 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Gregor
1 contribution
Couples
2 concessions £34 magnificent castle. However the tour was shocking. Only a few rooms and out . Even taking our time with my disabled wife only lasted 20 mins .

Absolute rip off .. been to hundreds of castles and that was by far the worst.

They should be ashamed
Written 3 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We a very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by Floors Castle. We offer a self guided visit with guides and information boards in the rooms. With your tour taking only 20mins it indicates that you did not tap into the information to help you understand that not only is Floors Castle a home, but your visit was to see the exhibition of incredible furniture, ceramics and antiques as part of the collection of the late 8th Duchess. Your entry fee also includes access to the Victorian walled gardens which are bursting with blooms at this time of year and glass houses filled with beautiful plants. The vast grounds of the Castle are also included as part of your visit - offering the opportunity to connect with the landscape of the beautiful Scottish Borders. In no way are we ashamed - we are in fact very proud to be identified and awarded by Visit Scotland as a 5 star visitor attraction. Our staff are exceptional and look after all visitors. You are invited to come back, to take your time and let us help you to see what you missed on your recent visit.
Written 4 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David N
Manchester, England, United Kingdom90 contributions
Friends
We visited Floors castle for the first time today.
I have to start by saying what a magnificent building it is. Incredibly impressive.
The staff were super friendly, knowledgeable and professional.
However, we were left bitterly disappointed by the tiny fraction of the castle you actually get to view for £18 per person.
The only room of note was the ballroom and one pretty drawing room. A room listed as the dining room was very obviously originally the small billiard room that they've just popped a dining table in. It was more like a breakfast room and obviously won't compare to the state dining room which along with the vast majority of Floors you cannot visit.
For your £18 you get to see between 5/10% of the castle.
Written 1 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mikeandme1234
44 contributions
Couples
Beautiful castle and grounds, lovely walks.
Friendly staff, the girls the the courtyard cafe very nice and polite. The ladies in the rooms on show were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the castle . Would thoroughly recommend a visit .
Written 24 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 843
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Floors Castle (Kelso) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Floors Castle

Floors Castle is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Floors Castle tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 1 Floors Castle tours on Tripadvisor