We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holkham Hall

Holkham Hall 149 Holkham Estate | Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1AB, England
+44 1328 710227
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Mostly great

I loved looking around the house itself, and the level of information provided by the guides and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Sophie-Reviews8923
Day out to Holkham Hall

Firstly we went to the garden. The garden is amazing and well worth the walk which takes you passed... read more

Reviewed yesterday
MrsJo1970
,
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Read all 934 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Holkham is a beautiful place rich in wildlife, history and architecture. It is set in an epic landscape, combining unspoilt coastline, big skies and open countryside. Take in a spot of culture and visit the magnificent 18th century hall and explore the six acres of walled garden, part of an exciting restoration project. Visit the Field to Fork Experience and discover the fun and interactive story of food and farming at Holkham without having to put your wellies on! Let our ‘talking tools’ tell you their use; test your foody knowledge with our table-top game; enjoy our ‘Holkham Year’ film and don a Holkham tweed jacket and bowler hat for a selfie. Children will enjoy our Woodland Adventure Play Area, with its tree house, high level walkways, rope ladders and zip wire, plus a special area just for toddlers. On high days and holidays explore further with cycle hire or discover Holkham’s watery world with our choice of rowing boats, canoes and kayaks. Finish off your visit by treating yourself in our Courtyard Cafe, where we serve only the best, locally-sourced food and our gift shop, showcasing the work of local artisan suppliers. Our varied programme offers delights such as chamber music and opera in the Marble Hall and open-air concerts in the park, to outdoor theatre in the courtyard. Visit our website for full information on our visitor season and events.
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good27%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“walled garden” (190 reviews)
“gift shop” (73 reviews)
“stately home” (35 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Holkham Hall 149 Holkham Estate | Holkham, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1AB, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1328 710227
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 928 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I loved looking around the house itself, and the level of information provided by the guides and the information boards was excellent. I especially loved the information boards detailing the daily lives of people who would have lived in the house, like housemaids or footmen....More

1  Thank Sophie-Reviews8923
Reviewed yesterday

Firstly we went to the garden. The garden is amazing and well worth the walk which takes you passed the edge of the lake. Walked back to the court yard to have lunch at the very good cafe. Then we went into the building. The...More

Thank MrsJo1970
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Holkham is a lovely spot and had some lovely walks and cycle rides. The cafe and restaurant was good, but the drinks were very pricey, even by high street standards. When we visited we tried the short four mile walk around the park. Parts of...More

2  Thank Navmonkey
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at Holkham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review and comments. We take visitor safety extremely seriously and ask that all traffic, including estate vehicles and visiting traffic, abide by a 20mph limit. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed walking in the woods and hope to see...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

Holkham is a real treasure because there are so many different reasons to love it. The beach is one of my favourite places to be and long windswept dog walks are one of my biggest reasons for loving it there. The Hall and museum is...More

Thank Sophie J
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at Holkham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoy Holkham so much and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 days ago

Don't go near the hall for outside events. Traffic management is abysmal. £11 for a 1.5 hour queue in and out and late for the concert. Outrageous use of money and attitude towards the public. Great concert, rotten infrastructure. Get a grip Holkham and stop...More

3  Thank Mark D
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at Holkham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. We are investigating the issues experienced on Sunday with the organisers of the Tom Jones concert. We welcome your comments and if you have any further enquiries please contact us via email to concerts@holkham.co.uk

Reviewed 2 days ago

If you plan to see a concert here, get there very very early. The congestion can be appalling and there will be no stewards to help clear the traffic at the end. You may find yourself leaving by a different gate so beware and take...More

2  Thank iwells6
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at Holkham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. We are investigating the issues experienced on Sunday with the organisers of the Tom Jones concert. We welcome your comments and if you have any further enquiries please contact us via email to concerts@holkham.co.uk

Reviewed 2 days ago

Awesome evening at Tom Jones. It was a festival setting, so expect festival prices. If you planned travel properly and looked on the website then a lot of the frustration (not all) could be avoided. Living round the area gives you the heads up that...More

Thank 612shiner
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at Holkham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your kind comments and 5 star review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Tom Jones concert and hope to see you at Holkham again soon.

Reviewed 3 days ago

Attended Tom Jones concert. Queued 2 hours to get in to the car park. No food or drink was permitted to be taken in. This was so you had to purchase from a poor array of catering vans and bars. £7.50 for a disgusting sausage...More

3  Thank Debbie D
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at Holkham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. We are investigating the issues experienced on Sunday with the organisers of the Tom Jones concert. We welcome your comments and if you have any further enquiries please contact us via email to concerts@holkham.co.uk

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Holkham Hall should be Faulty Towers 3 hours from wells next to sea to the allocated field for parking for the concert . No traffic stewards or crowd control no direction so complete chaos unsafe environment people complaining no toilets Inthe Gold area. Food and...More

4  Thank Christopher B
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at Holkham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. We are investigating the issues experienced on Sunday with the organisers of the Tom Jones concert. We welcome your comments and if you have any further enquiries please contact us via email to concerts@holkham.co.uk

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Oh dear. What a mess. The queuing for us had nothing whatsoever to do with the accident near Fakenham. It took two hours queuing just one mile from the venue to get in. Once in (and people really shouldn't vent their frustrations at the marshalls...More

3  Thank CliveJayneAmelie
HolkhamEstate, Public Relations Manager at Holkham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. We are investigating the issues experienced on Sunday with the organisers of the Tom Jones concert. We welcome your comments and if you have any further enquiries please contact us via email to concerts@holkham.co.uk

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wells Crab House
884 reviews
3.06 km away
Season Seafood & Grill
135 reviews
3.23 km away
Bang In Wells
212 reviews
3.19 km away
The Albatros
453 reviews
3.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Lord Nelson
52 reviews
3.58 km away
Wells Next The Sea Beach
1,100 reviews
3.85 km away
Mable's Paint Pot
7 reviews
4.91 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
coxy80_11
23 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HolkhamEstate | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. Yes the walled garden is open every day including days that the hall is closed. Entry is £2.50 Adult £1 Child.
1
Vote
Carmen C
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SanH1 | Reviewed this property |
It is approx 2.5 miles to Wells next the Sea from the Hall, depends how much you like walking.
1
Vote
S J
16 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HolkhamEstate | Property representative |
Thank you for you question. Entry to Holkham park is free for cyclists and pedestrians and £3 for car parking. You are most welcome to cycle through the park on your own bicycle.
0
Votes