We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middelvlei

Flamingo Road, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
+27 21 883 2565
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
A Rustic Braai lunch

From the lovely farm setting, to the warm welcome, the big, friendly dogs to the absolutely... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2016
Suzy M
via mobile
Small, cozy and excellent wine...

This is my wife's favourite wine farm for some very good reasons. The wine is excellent, the... read more

Reviewed 26 May 2016
kevanstuart
,
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Read all 81 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The urban sprawl of Stellenbosch comes to an abrupt halt, in its south-western suburb of Onderpapegaai, when you enter the gates of Middelvlei. Suddenly, before you lies a beautiful vineyard-strewn amphitheatre overlooking the Bottelary Hills and the upper reaches of Devon Valley. This is the home of the Momberg family, who have been wine farmers since 1919.Join in the Boerebraai fun at Middelvlei where our resident braai expert will prepare your chops, boerewors and chicken sosaties to perfection. As if the appetising aromas of roosterkoek and braaibroodjies are not enough, Ben's homemade pâté and Ouma Annie's pumpkin fritters have placed the Middelvlei Braai in a league of its own.
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good29%
  • Average1%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“snoek pate” (7 reviews)
“boerewors” (7 reviews)
LOCATION
Flamingo Road, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 883 2565
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stellenbosch
from US$ 26.10
More Info
from US$ 26.10
More Info
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pumpkin fritters"
in 9 reviews
"snoek pate"
in 7 reviews
"boerewors"
in 7 reviews
"farm animals"
in 7 reviews
"lamb chops"
in 10 reviews
"green salad"
in 5 reviews
"free run"
in 4 reviews
"south african braai"
in 3 reviews
"braai meat"
in 2 reviews
"wine farm"
in 7 reviews
"wine blending"
in 3 reviews
"lunch time"
in 3 reviews
"homemade bread"
in 2 reviews
"excellent wine"
in 3 reviews
"cape town"
in 2 reviews
"pinotage"
in 11 reviews
"menagerie"
in 2 reviews
Filter

21 - 30 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

From the lovely farm setting, to the warm welcome, the big, friendly dogs to the absolutely delicious food - it was an unforgettable experience. Will recommend it to anyone who would love to have experience authentic South African welcome.

Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

There is nothing like true South African hospitality! So happy that you could experience that here at Middelvlei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

This is my wife's favourite wine farm for some very good reasons. The wine is excellent, the service is always good and the staff very welcoming. They also don't skimp on the tastings. It's hidden away and makes for a great afternoon lazing around with...More

1  Thank kevanstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

As there are such wonderful wine and food experiences in the Winelands it is quite an hounour to be somebody's favourite! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

This wineries tasting room is in the old stable, which has been done up very nicely to be different from most other wine farm visits you will do. This wine estate has much to offer with regards the varietals on offer. There Shiraz and Pinotage...More

Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thank you very much for your visit and kind word about our wines. Next time you visit you can enjoy our Boerebraai Tapas wine pairing or even try your hand at our wine blending experience. If you follow us on social media you will soon...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

At first it seems unimpressive, but one needs to understand that this is not the typical Cape Dutch wine estate that is typical to the region. This is more a traditional Afrikaans "Boere" setting with traditional Afrikaner cuisine. Hence the title of this review... We...More

Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

At Middelvlei we try to keep our offering as real and unpretentious as possible. Thanks for your appreciation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed this family birthday, nothing to complain about. Just a nice and relaxing atmosphere with excellent food, service and wine!

Thank Martie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

We want our guests to experience Middelvlei as home away from home. Hope to soon have you back again for more...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

Beautiful wine, food and company, we were treated as family. Highly recommended!! Please try the wine blending and boere braai but book in advance to avoid disappointment!! Best stop ever!!

Thank Eddie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We'd booked the boerebraai for Sunday lunch with friends visiting from Gauteng - I had checked out several reviews and it looked good. We were made to feel very welcome as we arrived, and we were seated under an umbrella in the garden - there's...More

Thank Ethnee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

It is always good to hear that our guests have a good time at Middelvlei. We put a lot of effort into staff training and I am delighted to hear that it is paying off! Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We did a corporate function in 2014, was a lovely summers day with fantastic scenery, food and wine.

Thank Gerhard_B_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

I am so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your visit to Middelvlei Boerebraai! I trust that you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Well Done Meddelvlei. We really enjoyed our experience with you. Thank you for fitting us in a great welcome excellent food and wine. Our visit will live on as a fond memory of our visit to Stellenbosch

1  Thank morrispaul10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

We are delighted that we could help creating beautiful memories of your visit to South Africa. This is exactly why we started the Boerebraai in the first place - the opportunity for foreign guests to experience true South African hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

This was the last stop on our visit to South Africa, and one of our favorites. Our whole family enjoyed the traditional South African braai (barbeque). The grounds are beautiful, and it was fun to see where the meat is cooked out back. They had...More

Thank teenagetraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmhm, Owner at Middelvlei, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

We are honoured that Middelvlei Boerebraai was one of your highlights during your visit to South Africa - quite an achievement for us being part of such a spectacular tourist destination like South Africa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Stellenbosch
Protea Hotel Stellenbosch Dorpshuis & Spa
133 reviews
1.62 km away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
150 reviews
2.31 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
985 reviews
2.44 km away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
371 reviews
2.51 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pane E Vino
82 reviews
1.28 km away
Ya-Ya Cafe
119 reviews
1.54 km away
Middlevlei Wine Estate
37 reviews
.91 km away
Mill House
10 reviews
1.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rupert Museum
162 reviews
1.58 km away
Oude Libertas Amphitheatre
57 reviews
.67 km away
Bergkelder
67 reviews
1.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Middelvlei staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;