We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate

Features Animals
Share
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
354
All photos (354)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good30%
  • Average5%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“duck parade”(105 reviews)
“duck tour”(9 reviews)
“hay bales”(6 reviews)
About
Vergenoegd Wine Estate is a Heritage site and one of the oldest wine estates on the Stellenbosch Wine Route. Easy access from the freeway and merely 20 minutes from Cape Town International Airport. Indian Runner Ducks are used in our vineyards as a...more
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Baden Powell Drive | Faure, Stellenbosch 7131, South Africa
Website
+27 21 843 3248
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stellenbosch
from US$ 25.40
More Info
from US$ 59.90
More Info
from US$ 25.40
More Info
from US$ 90.70
More Info
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We visited with a group of 14 unannounced on Boxing Day. The staff were brilliant and set us up a table under the oak trees. The history of the farm is amazing, the manor house built in 1696, lovingly restored and used for all manner...More

2  Thank Danny_Zam
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Danny, thank you for visiting Vergenoegd Wine Estate as well as your great review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your day! Apologies for the late response - we have finally got the reins to manage our Tripadvisor page! Looking forward to welcoming you back...More

Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This is the second time I have visited the restaurant in the past 5 weeks. The first time it was very busy and I had overseas guests who also commented on the slow almost non existent service. We received a 3 pack of their wine...More

1  Thank Sinclairs250967
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Hi Sinclairs250967 Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd again. Though we take pride in the great service we usually provide, there should be no excuse for letting our guard down despite any potential contributing challenges. We are constantly working on perfecting every aspect of our offering,...More

Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
140
72
15
17
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
140
72
15
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck parade duck tour hay bales saturday market feed the ducks wine estate duck march ducks walking olive oil pest control manor house pork belly cape town saturday morning course meal takes place unique experience
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 50 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

This was our third time to Vergenoegd and this time we brought my husbands parents. It is lovely to walk around the estate and look through the house. We had booked breakfast a couple of months ago online but they have stopped doing it for...More

Thank Burbabes
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi Burbabes It's an absolute delight receiving feedback like this and we thank you for visiting Vergenoegd, once again! We're thrilled to have had the opportunity to serve you and that you enjoyed your experience at our farm! We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Sad to say we were quite disappointed with the majority of the olive tasting experience We had booked for 1030; the room was not set up, there was nobody about. We had to find our own stools from the tea & coffee blending room, we...More

Thank FionaHDavies
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi FionaHDavies Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd, we appreciate your feedback. We take pride in the service we offer and based on your previously great experiences at Vergenoegd, your most recent visit missed the mark by a large margin. Please accept our apologies. We will...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018

We were in time to see the running of the ducks - quite a spectacle, and most impressive! The tasting we had was well presented with good commentary and we really enjoyed the top quality wines. Where else can you go and taste 20 year...More

Thank Sam d
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hi Sam d Thank you for visiting. We're happy that you enjoyed your experience at Vergenoegd. Hope to see you soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

I visted the wine estate with my partner in January this year and very disappointed with the wine wich was on offer and I chose not to continue with my wine tasting as my partner continued and then comes the main usp of the farm...More

Thank ParvCh
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hi ParvCh Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd, we appreciate your feedback! Kindly remember that wine tasting is subject to your own palate and we encourage guests to share their different opinions with our wine tasting manager on the day so that we may better understand...More

Reviewed 2 March 2018

The Duck run at Vergenoegd is one of those things that you have to see yourself...it is so special to see these ducks walkling to the vineyards to do their job and sometimes have a quick dip in the pond where guests can feed them...More

Thank botha6302015
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hi botha6302015 Thank you for visiting, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your time viewing our ducks at Vergenoegd and hope to see you soon again! We appreciate your review and rating! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd

Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

To be honest if not for the ducks, I would give this one a miss. Somehow the wine tasting and the deli seemed far away and unconnected with like a main house in the middle. A bit disconnected. We bought some wine and cheese platter...More

Thank Sandiwells13
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hi Sandiwells13 Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd! We're delighted that you enjoyed the ducks but would obviously have had you leaving our farm feeling 100% satisfied. Vergenoegd is a Heritage site and we're making use of the original, historic buildings for all our offerings and...More

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

A lovely parade of 100s of ducks overlooking a dam. The wine wasn't very good in the wine tasting though and the place looks run down.More

Thank Anne W
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Anne W Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd Löw Wine Estate. We appreciate your comments but please remember that wine tasting is subject to your own palate and does not necessarily mean that the wines tasted are not good. We would however be happy to...More

Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Good tasting. I recommend the Sauvignon and the merlot. And then the Duck parade... so much chaotic fun!! Nice estate, extremely well maintained.

Thank NVAVNT
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi NVAVNT Thank you for visiting! We're happy that you enjoyed your Vergenoegd experience and hope to see you soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd

Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

We would never have found this place if my mum hadn’t suggested she take me and my wife there but how glad we were that she did. It is a truly unique experience where you order a picnic basket containing bread, pate, meat, cheese etc...More

1  Thank Ropho
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hi RosscoH1980 Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd! We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciate your awesome rating and review of your visit! We hope to welcome you back soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd

Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Market itself is rather small with more eateries than goods for sale. You can also combine wine tasting with your visit. I absolutely loved the duck parade which was definitely a first for me. In all a lovely setting and worthy of a visit. 2...More

Thank Megan M
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Hi Megan M Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd. We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to welcome you back soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 nearby hotels
Spier Hotel
2,303 reviews
7.58 km away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
456 reviews
8.73 km away
Somerset Lodge
22 reviews
10.68 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
411 reviews
11.62 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 298 nearby restaurants
Siki's Koffee Kafe
8 reviews
6.65 km away
The Avontuur Estate Restaurant
483 reviews
7.82 km away
Cavalli Restaurant
604 reviews
7.42 km away
Burger Brothers
52 reviews
6.60 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 233 nearby attractions
Proudly Macassar Pottery
24 reviews
4.11 km away
Imzu Tours
217 reviews
4.90 km away
18 Gangster Museum
29 reviews
4.71 km away
ABCD Concepts
10 reviews
5.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
KristyLips
22 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Vergenoegd | Property representative |
Hi Kristy Our restaurant is closed for renovations but our deli serves light lunches - no reservations required. You also do not need to book for a wine tasting. Reservations are required for experiences (wine blending... More
1
Vote
Mrdoak1
27 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from nicolecostello | Reviewed this property |
I found that emailing them works best as the duck parade times can differ
0
Votes
Shirley S
15 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Vergenoegd | Property representative |
Hi Shirley The Duck parade times are as follows: Mon - Fri: 07:00, 12:30 & 15:30 Sat - Sun & public holidays: 10:00, 12:30 & 15:30 The Family Market at Vergenoegd runs every Saturday throughout the year from 9am... More
1
Vote