Victoria & Alfred Waterfront

Victoria & Alfred Waterfront

Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
4.5
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
About
The V&A Waterfront is a 123-hectare mixed-use destination, and one of Africa’s most visited cultural and historical hubs. Set on the edge of a natural, historic working harbour with the iconic Table Mountain as its backdrop, it offers local and international visitors a cosmopolitan mix of experiences ranging from leisure, shopping and exclusive entertainment. It also offers prime residential and commercial property. The prime positioning of the V&A Waterfront boasts sweeping views of the ocean, city bowl and mountain peaks. Up to 100 000 people visit every day during peak season. Contributing R259.1 billion in nominal terms to the South African economy over the last twelve years, the V&A Waterfront’s cumulative contribution to the provincial GGP since 2002 was over R227 billion. The property also reported a 19% increase in retail trade sales for 2014, marking four consecutive years of consistent growth since 2011. By end 2014, total visitor numbers to the property had grown to 24 million a year. Although the V&A Waterfront remains South Africa’s favourite attraction for international visitors, they account for only 23% of all visitors. Visits by locals increased to 63%, while 14% of visitors were from upcountry. With 22 official landmarks on-site, it is also part of South Africa’s historical legacy. Jointly owned by Growthpoint Properties Limited and the Government Employees Pension Fund (GEPF), represented by the Public Investment Corporation Limited (PIC), the V&A Waterfront was developed in 1988 by the state-owned transport corporation, Transnet Limited, while official commercial trading commenced in November 1990.
Duration: More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Top ways to experience Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
The area
Address
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • momr2d2
    Mississauga, Canada1,561 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    fun place to hang out
    we came here several days during our trip. There are many great shops, the mall, restaurants and eateries, playground for kids, live performers, seals to watch and a nice canal boat tour. Very lively and a lovely view of Table mountain.
    Hi momr2d2, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We hope you enjoyed your visit to our neighborhood creating new memories. We looking forward to welcoming you back!!
    Written 20 May 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Written 9 May 2023
  • travlbloke
    Australia276 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Everything you could want in the way of shopping, dining and a unique busy waterfront experience
    A huge selection of dining options, all inexpensive, offering superbly presented local African cuisine. Local shops are plentiful across all the necessities and designer goodies at prices everyone can afford. Cape Town is NOT expensive. make it on your bucket list. GO!
    Hi travlbloke, Thank you so much for an excellent review. We hop you enjoyed your visit in our neighborhood and created new memories. We looking forward to welcoming you back!!
    Written 4 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Written 22 May 2023
  • KC
    Fredericksburg, Virginia57 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Boutique hotel nicely appointed
    Very elegant hotel with small boutique feel. Very professional staff and nice large bathroom showers. Well appointed rooms and nicely appointed gym. Only negative is it is situated slightly farther from the waterfront and views also blocked by other buildings. We did love their restaurant and ate there for 2 6 course dinners that were excellent.
    Hi kostasc284, thank you for a great review. Please indicate which hotel you stayed in so we can share this review with them. We hope you enjoyed your visit to our neighborhood and looking forward to welcoming you back!!
    Written 4 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 22 May 2023
  • CandiceAnnM
    Durban, South Africa74 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    5 star treatment
    My husband I stayed at the Victoria and Alfred hotel for 3 nights both business and pleasure. The outside of the hotel is a bit of a building site currently (but it’s lovely to see them doing so many upgrades). The communal areas of the hotel are still beautiful, the rooms are a little tired. Spacious with all amenities but looking a little aged but I am assuming the renovations are going to slowly make their way to the rooms. However, the staff are outstanding and can be highly applauded for their high level of service. From the amazing jolly helpful friendly doormen, to the reception staff, to the amazing barmen, to the breakfast waitrons. They all excelled in their positions and made us feel spoilt from the time we arrived. The breakfast was outstanding and all the dinner meals looked amazing. The convenience of being right at the waterfront. Steps away from the center is invaluable and Ubers were 2 min away at any given time. I would definitely stay at this wonderful hotel again.
    Hi CandiceAnnM, thank you for a wonderful review. Thank you for loving our neighborhood and staying on the property. We hope you enjoyed your visit and looking forward to welcoming you back!!
    Written 4 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 25 May 2023
  • Spudwynk
    North Shields, United Kingdom57 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great for tourists and solo travellers
    Lovely food in the restaraunts, great artisans and gift shops. Love d the live music and the seals. Enjoyed a hardbour tour and a visit to the aquarium. Had a half day to spend on my own before airport transfer as a single woan and felt very safe on my own
    Hi Spudwynk, thank you for a wonderful review. We hope you had a great time in that half day. We looking forward to welcoming you back and hopefully the stay will be longer!
    Written 4 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Written 1 June 2023
  • ramreist
    Zurich, Switzerland120 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nice, clean, safe
    Pro tip: you can do some luxury item purchases and get the VAT refund upon departure from South Africa. It's a clean and safe place. They have spots for Uber pick up and drop off. Lots of places to eat with different price ranges.
    Hi Ramreist ,thank you for your wonderful review. We will discuss your tip with the rest of the team. We are looking forward on having you back again.
    Written 27 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Written 24 June 2023
  • 16Bonnie
    Parker, Colorado304 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    V&A Waterfront
    We spent an afternoon wandering around Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It was very nice. There are a lot of shops in the mall, but even better, there is a market area with locally made products which was wonderful. Lots of beautiful options, lovely displays, and a fun way to see some new products. We didn’t eat here as we had a reservation somewhere else, but we did have a glass of wine at Vivotelo and listened to a local group of young adults singing and entertaining. They were amazing! There are many dining options here, and next time we will definitely eat dinner at V&A. Highly recommend visiting here!
    Hi Bonnie thank you for a wonderful review. We are very happy to read that you had an exciting experience at our neighbourhood . We will definitely be looking forward to welcoming you again.
    Written 29 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 24 July 2023
  • mollyQuel
    West Yorkshire, United Kingdom63 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely area
    Really nice area to spend time. Busy place with many shop’s & restaurants. Very safe area. Good place to spend the evenings. Lots of well priced souvenir shops too.
    Hey there, thank you for a great review we glad you had an amazing time at our neighbourhood and looking forward to have you again.
    Written 13 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 9 August 2023
  • QW Teo
    Singapore, Singapore95 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nice touristy place
    The place feels pretty tranquil where you can see plenty of yacht and upscale housing. Private security can be seen thus the area feels pretty safe. Upscale restaurants are lined up over the waterfront for tourists to enjoy the food and beverages.
    Hi there, thank you for the wonderful review .We appreciate your presence in our neighbourhood we looking forward on your next visit.
    Written 4 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 25 August 2023
  • Karen W
    Palo Alto, California175 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Typical shopping center in a nice location
    Your typical shopping center with a few stores selling South African goods. The majority of stores are found in America. We ate at Willoughby and Co., a disappointment though highly reviewed. The shopping center is located on the waterfront, which is nice, and there are musicians outside.
    Hi there, thank you for the wonderful review. We sincerely apologize that our was shopping center was not up to your expectation. We also happy to hear you created great memories on our neighbouhood.
    Written 28 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 14 September 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles14,471 reviews
Excellent
8,742
Very good
4,450
Average
1,061
Poor
155
Terrible
63

KnitsbyConnie
MA515 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Friends
Several visit to the V&A via the hotel shuttle.
Lovely place. The shopping mall is huge and sprawling. You can get lost as I did.
At the Watershed you can get local handcraft items that are especially nice.
The Waterfront area has lots to do and see, and plenty of eating place. The area was still alive and vibrant during the Easter weekend.
Written 16 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you had a magical experience in our neighborhood. We can't wait for your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

rosie8788
Eastbourne, UK63 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Couples
Amazing place to spend time. Great shops and lovely restaurants. Really great vibe and full of life. You can get boat trips or if the harbour at reasonable prices. Views of Table Mountain are awesome.
Written 5 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Rosie, thank you for your wonderful review. We happy to read about your lovely experience at our neighbourhood and looking forward on your next visit.
Written 9 April 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Celeste V
Centurion, South Africa20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Family
Stunning place to go shopping, walk around and see spectacular views of Cape Town and Table Mountain.

It is bustling and has amazing markets and restaurants and activities. Never a dull moment. It is ideal for the locals and tourists alike. You have to go if you are in Cape Town!
Written 31 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your wonderful review ❤️😊
Written 4 April 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sambob52
East Riding of Yorkshire, UK34 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Friends
Beautiful area to visit - plenty of shops to browse, plenty of restaurants (the best steak ever according to my other half) at the City Grill. Vibrant area with lots going on. Great during the day and at night. The tour boat trip was informative. The seal platforms are amazing could stand and watch them for hours.
Written 16 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, what a lovely experience you had. 😊❤️
Written 4 April 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Patty B
Nashville, TN1,480 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
We walked over from The One & Only hotel. Lovely shops and lots of restaurants. It was a nice way to spend a couple of hours. We also went back for dinner two nights at Baia and Belthazar. I have reviewed both separately. We also enjoyed a ride on the Ferris wheel. Area was safe. We checked that out before going and it was safe as we were told.
Written 4 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Patty , We appreciate your great review. We're glad to hear that you had a pleasant time during your few hours in our neighbourhood. We hope to see you again soon.
Written 7 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christian D
Fort Worth, TX7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Solo
Great shopping and beautiful views. Nice area to wander around to eat, shop and soak in the views of the harbor and the mountains.
Written 3 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Christian, thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to read about your experience at our neighbourhood. We looking forward on your next visit.
Written 7 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Edinburgh186525
Edinburgh, UK34 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Couples
Stunning hotel and room. Can’t beat the location. Great housekeeping. Great coffee shop attached to hotel.

2 main issues which is why I’m not able to give 5/5. On the very well known 3rd party site I used to book our stay, it stated the hotel had a pool, gym and numerous other facilities that actually were in the sister hotel across the road. Nowhere on that site did it mention that they were part of the other hotel. Secondly, and more annoyingly, we only went to use the pool once for a couple of hours and turned up and there were only about 12 beds, 2 of which were “reserved” but empty the whole time we were there. There is however loads of space for additional beds. I can’t see how 12 beds would ever be enough for a pool that is used by 2 hotels (or maybe 3 as I’ve read there’s another sister hotel). We had to have a quick dip and head home as no beds became available.
Written 29 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Edinburgh ,thank you for the great review. We apologize for any uncertainty you may have experienced. Please provide more information so we can prevent it from happening again.
Written 10 April 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sue
Gdansk, Poland8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Business
Beautiful place to chill out, great view and atmosphere. A quite touristic place so there might be a lot of people. Would love to go there back one day.
Written 25 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Sue, thank you for a wonderful review. We are looking forward on your next visit to our neighbourhood.
Written 7 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LeanieM
Doha, Qatar7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Business
I had the privilege of staying in the houseboat while attending a conference at the Waterfront and what an experience it was! When I stepped onto the boat, I was greeted by delicious croissants and a bottle of prosecco which I had while watching the sunset from the boat. The boat was fully equipped for all my needs (shower, bed, kitchen, coffee machine, hairdryer, fridge, wifi, you name it) and has back-up power for load shedding. The location was perfect!! A short walk (5 minutes if that much) to all the shops and restaurants in the waterfront. For those who might wonder about security, there is a dedicated (and friendly) security guard at the entrance to the marina side where the all the boats are docked and you are only able to enter and exit the marina with a key card which you receive upon check-in. The boat also has a door that can be locked. A special thanks goes out to Malusi who checked me in to the boat and to Carmen (and Elsa and Lourens) who made arrangements for my stay. I would HIGHLY recommend booking the houseboat for upcoming stays in Cape Town and cannot wait to visit again.
Written 21 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Benjamin J
Curepipe24 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Family
We were there 4 times. Loved the KFC, Nando's. But, the Ocean Basket there gave me a huge stomach ache. Had to poop a lot. OB, your food's too greasy. Nando's was better. The Festa Roll is a must try. And, KFC was good. Watched West Ham United vs. Manchester United. It ended WHU 2-0 MUN. I recommend parking at Battery Park. And, the last listed time was for Robben Island (see my review about it).
Written 19 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 10,662
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Victoria & Alfred Waterfront - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Victoria & Alfred Waterfront

According to Tripadvisor travellers, these are the best ways to experience Victoria & Alfred Waterfront:



Attractions near Victoria & Alfred Waterfront: View all attractions near Victoria & Alfred Waterfront on Tripadvisor

All Cape Town Central HotelsCape Town Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cape Town Central
All things to do in Cape Town Central
Day Trips in Cape Town Central
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire