We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sudwala Caves

Closed Now: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Open today: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Review Highlights
First visit in 18 years

Although resident in Nelspruit since 2000, this was my first visit to the Sudwala Caves. I have... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
tommyjav
,
Nelspruit, South Africa
a sight not to be missed....awsome

want to go back in time...visit the Sudwala caves. Inside temperature cool and fresh. wear takkies... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Stay16282694590
,
Alberton, South Africa
Read all 510 reviews
364
All photos (364)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good47%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“dinosaur park”(48 reviews)
“fish spa”(28 reviews)
“crystal tour”(27 reviews)
About
The Sudwala Caves is the oldest known caves in the world and lie in the Drakensberg escarpment.Regular guided tours take you 600 meters in and 150 meters underground. Tours leave every 10 min (approx) and take about 30 minutes.The caves have some...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
See all hours
Contact
R539, Nelspruit, South Africa
Website
+27 83 446 0228
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
198
205
36
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
198
205
36
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinosaur park fish spa crystal tour tour guide million years cave entrance cave experience stalactites and stalagmites hour tour interesting visit per adult worth a visit curio shop whole family great guide an amazing experience amphitheater
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although resident in Nelspruit since 2000, this was my first visit to the Sudwala Caves. I have been to many much bigger caves like the Kango Caves in Western Cape and other caves in USA and Australia, so these caves are quite small but anyway...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank tommyjav
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

want to go back in time...visit the Sudwala caves. Inside temperature cool and fresh. wear takkies - recommended. An exilirating experience

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Stay16282694590
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Had a personalised tour of an ever changing cave - interesting seeing that the earth is only 6000 yrs old. Awesome natural formations.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Sandra Sue K
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Amazing tour. We had a very young guide who easily answered all the questions we had. He excelled in the tour and joked with everyone. The caves have a great history I would recommend everyone gets to know. There is a few amazing views in...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Leroy B
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

This was one of the best caves I have enjoyed in Mpumalanga. You can't afford to miss this place when you around Nelspruit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Moses B
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We followed advice on Tripsdvisor and went to Echo caves first and we were not disappointed! Both experiences were so different but greatly enjoyed. Echo cave requires a bit more endurance and bending whereas Sudwala is easier but can be slippery. I would highly recommend...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Nicolesha911
Reviewed 8 October 2018

My recent visit to the caves was disappointing due to commercialization and lack of interest by the staff. Even the tour guide was nothing better than a tape recorder and clearly had no geological or historical back ground. The tour being only a hollow visit....More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank vanderwesthuizen2018
Guy E, Manager at Sudwala Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for your review, feedback is important to us. The Sudwala Caves is a commercial operation as indicated by the ticket sales and guided tours. I am sorry you felt the tour did not cover the history or geological aspects of the cave in...More

Reviewed 26 September 2018

We were staying next door at Sudwala Lodge so decided to do the cave tour. Very pleasantly suprised and glad we did the tour. We were the first tour so ended up with a very knowledgeable guide (Innocent) for just the two of us. The...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Stuart P
Reviewed 24 September 2018

I battled to find a review comparing the two caves before our trip, so here is a review of Echo Caves vs Sudwala caves. Our family recently enjoyed a trip to both the Echo caves and then the Sudwala caves. My opinion is that both...More

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank LinnyWilliams
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Nice little guided tour through the caves. Kids enjoyed it. Caves are very well maintained and good value for money.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank JacoBoshoff
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 nearby hotels
Mbombela Holiday Resort & Spa
10 reviews
8.76 km away
Falcon Glen
7 reviews
19.68 km away
Bushveld Lodge
2 reviews
23.09 km away
Angels Mist Guest House
2 reviews
23.18 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 101 nearby restaurants
The Seedling
69 reviews
17.34 km away
Miz Gooz Berry
32 reviews
23.12 km away
Bohemian Groove Cafe
110 reviews
23.44 km away
Koek n Pan
36 reviews
23.00 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 38 nearby attractions
Tydon Safaris
25 reviews
31.39 km away
Lone Creek Falls
240 reviews
31.91 km away
Lowveld National Botanical Garden
310 reviews
26.26 km away
Hops Hollow
18 reviews
29.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Freda232015
8 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Angela H | Reviewed this property |
The cave is not recommended but all other areas are pet-friendly.
1
Vote
cindydebeerl
7 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Guy E | Property representative |
For an able bodied, regular person the stairs are not that challenging. It does have a sturdy handrail and rest benches for those that want to take it more slowly. There is an alternative route via the top car park. This is... More
0
Votes
cecen19
17 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Becks J M | Reviewed this property |
Hello :) I have never made a booking before. Just arrived and paid, and waited for the next available tour. I think if you want to do the deeper tour that goes way further into the caves, you have to book in advance. It's... More
1
Vote