We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share

Markets of Warwick Tour
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
33
All photos (33)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good21%
  • Average2%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible2%
26 Jan 2018
“Never turned up, no notice”
22 Sep 2017
“Excellent insight into interesting part of Durban life”
About
Markets of Warwick Tour is a 2.5 hours walking tour through the 9 informal markets in Warwick Junction. Warwick Junction lies on the edge of the Durban's inner-city and is the primary public transport interchange in the city. On an average day the...more
Contact
127 Johannes Nkosi Street | NGO Asiye eTafuleni Unit 111 Business Incubation Building, SEDA eThekwini, Durban 4001, South Africa
Website
+27 31 309 3880
Call
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
30
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
30
8
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

I had great emails/organisation from the organiser before I left Australia. Everything seemed in order and we went to the meeting place at the arranged time. Nobody showed up to greet us and we waited for 45mins. Fair enough if we were advised or there...More

Thank TravelAgentStacey
TasmiQ, Public Relations Manager at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

We are responding more fully for the public record, to say that we conducted an investigation into the matter and the following was communicated with Stacey via email communication. We hope this clarifies that the tour was not cancelled out of negligence, but rather because...More

Reviewed 22 September 2017

Just to echo all the positives below. We definitely feel we wouldn't have been able to have such a relaxed and informative time at the markets if we had gone on our own. Aside from the information about the markets, our guide had much of...More

Thank RichardAck1960
Nonhlanhla N, Markets of Warwick Team at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

We appreciate you taking time to write the review, thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Markets of Warwick and in Durban.

Reviewed 29 July 2017

Well worth doing when visiting durban. Our guide was outstanding.. Very informative and interesting.

1  Thank benrob2017
TasmiQ, Research Officer, Asiye eTafuleni at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Happy to hear that your experience was worthwhile and that your guide impressed! We value your feedback, thank you!

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Loved my walk (in fact two walks) through the Warwick markets. So good to interact with the people that are there selling their wares. Only hate about the whole walk was the Bovine market. It is smelly and not very clean. However they have their...More

Thank Lynncooper_sa
TasmiQ, Research Officer, Asiye eTafuleni at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Glad you enjoyed the experience and interacting with informal traders. Like many informal market hubs around the world that experience high traffic from consumers, commuters, vehicles and different modes of public transport, there are urban cleanliness challenges that are better or worse in different parts...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017

What a great tour! Such an eye opener to how much trade is taking place at these markets. So well organised and very informative. I would recommend this tour to anyone both local and foreign. Thank you to Toe and the TAC representative.

Thank Bryden N
Phumzie1818, Manager at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and that you are recommending it to others. We are looking forward to your visiting us again in the future. Best regards, The Markets of Warwick Tour Team.

Reviewed 26 March 2017

There are 9 markets in central Durban, and you will be fascinated--everything from bead jewelry to traditional medicinal herbs, and lots of surprises in between. Our guide was friendly and helpful and made it lots of fun. This is a tour that shows you something...More

Thank KLFinTheWorld
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience.

Reviewed 1 February 2017

Led by a local, one can gain deep insights into the (mostly black) community's trading business and living circumstances. One cannot but perceive the stark contrasts in Southafrica's society. Definetely a must do to understand a bit about the country and its people!

Thank IAmABerliner
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you for the review and sharing your great photos. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience. Markets of Warwick Tour Team

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

It was a very interesting and eye-opening experience! Great guide, felt very safe at all times. I would go back for sure...

Thank Emma S
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

We appreciate the review, thank you very much.

Reviewed 17 December 2016

I booked this tour in advance then cancelled based on a local's recommendation that the area was shady and it wasn't a place to get souvenirs. I rebooked again when a fellow traveler told me about her experience and I'm SO glad I did. The...More

4  Thank Christina H
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you rebooked and got to experience the markets. We hope to see you again with more of your friends and family in the near future. Best Regards, Markets of Warwick Tour

Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

I embarked on a fascinating tour of the Warwick Triangle markets with Slindile who was a great source of information. I suppose I could have visited those markets by myself but it was nice to be accompanied by someone who really knows the area. I...More

1  Thank NicholasPeart83
Nonhlanhla N, Tour Coordinator at Markets of Warwick Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Thank you for the review and for visiting the Markets of Warwick. We are glad that you enjoyed the experience and that Slindile was a great source of information. We appreciated your feedback and thank you for liking our facebook page @marketsofwarwick. We are looking...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 nearby hotels
Riviera Hotel
32 reviews
1.17 km away
Road Lodge Durban
43 reviews
1.20 km away
SUN1 Durban
45 reviews
1.36 km away
Durban Manor Hotel and Conference Centre
68 reviews
1.37 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 719 nearby restaurants
The Oriental restaurant
74 reviews
1.02 km away
Butchers Block
42 reviews
1.12 km away
Patels Vegetarian Refreshment Room
11 reviews
.43 km away
Little Gujarat
16 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 246 nearby attractions
Natural Science Museum
57 reviews
1.44 km away
Greyville Racecourse
70 reviews
1.42 km away
West Street Mosque
35 reviews
.75 km away
Port Natal Maritime Museum
41 reviews
1.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
loveholidays
7 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Phumzie1818 | Property representative |
Dear Gwen, Thank you for your message and your interest in visiting our City of Durban. We are happy to organize you a tour of the Markets in Warwick Junction and also a guide be available for you for the day. Please send... More
1
Vote