We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walter Sisulu National Botanical Gardens

Malcolm Road | Poortview, Roodepoort 1732, South Africa
+27 86 100 1278
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 161.46*
and up
Gardens in the City Private Tour in Johannesburg
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Welcome to an Eden hidden in the West Rand of Gauteng where beautiful nature welcomes visitors and the rushing water of the Witpoortjie Waterfall, gushing from a height of 70 metres, soothes and revitalises careworn city-dwellers. The garden is home to a pair of breeding Verreaux's Eagles (Black Eagles) which have become proud symbols of this majestic garden. Walking, hiking, picnics, exercising, bird watching, relaxing, nature appreciation, are some of the popular activities of visitors to the garden.
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good31%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“black eagles” (56 reviews)
“bird hide” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Malcolm Road | Poortview, Roodepoort 1732, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 86 100 1278
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 60 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

What a great day to spend outdoors with nature. Had such a pleasant day out with various walks that were not difficult. The beautiful waterfall & eagles ( which I never saw today) they offer free entry for pensioners on a Tuesday or special price...More

Thank Sharon S
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I always come here and the gardens are absolutely gorgeous.. If you're looking for a romantic place to have a picnic, or a good place to jog this is the place to come to

Thank Kelley94
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Visited the botanical gardens with friends for a picnic and the experience was great . I have been here many times and each times is as good as the last . The place never disappoints , it's always clean and peaceful with no disturbances. The...More

Thank Phila D
Reviewed 24 December 2016

A visit to these spectacular gardens is a must. So many paths to walk and climb up the mountain or you can just sit and picnic, and enjoy the beauty of Nature. There is a Restaurant if you'd prefer to eat there. A wonderful day...More

Thank birkettnh
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Had a picnic with the whole family (from toddlers to grand parents) and it was a very good day with lots to see an nice play grounds for the kids. Beautiful hiking trails.

Thank Thinus O
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful place .. really worth the visit.. kids loved the hike ... awesome place to just relax and unwind ...

Thank Akter L
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This is a special place to go, relax with a picnic under the trees, go for a walk up the mountain, or just gentle stroll around the gardens. The on site restaurant is ok-ish if the owners think ripping people off is fair game they...More

Thank PhilAyres
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Big and beautiful indigenous gardens with the focal point being the waterfall cascading down the cliff face. The Black Eagles reside close to the top of the waterfall. You can walk around the well-maintained pathways or go on the wild side and climb to the...More

1  Thank Cathy W
Reviewed 17 December 2016

I've been here many times. The gardens are well kept with plenty of indigenous plants. We ate in the coffee shop the food is average and the service a little slow however, the staff are keen to please. I would recommend a visit.

1  Thank Oakridge_9
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

A fantastic place to visit my wife go regularly on a Tuesday which is free for pensioners the scenery is great as is the bird life , my one complaint is in the men's toilets there is never anything to dry your hands on only...More

1  Thank Lepisdore
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Doppio Zero
77 reviews
2.99 km away
The Verandah Bistro
40 reviews
4.61 km away
Rocomamas Featherbrooke
43 reviews
2.70 km away
Westwood Arms
32 reviews
4.62 km away
Nearby Attractions
Silverstar Casino, Krugersdorp
126 reviews
2.95 km away
AirVentures Hot Air Ballooning
80 reviews
4.66 km away
Woodlands Spa
13 reviews
6.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
dawnhopeful
21 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from kayleighcdc | Reviewed this property |
I am so sorry that you feel that you were treated badly by the tour company. This should not happen but sometimes it does,. If you have your own transport I suggest that you could drive there or alternatively use Uber. The... More
2
Votes
AngelaMdhluli
21 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AngelaMdhluli |
Unfortunately I called he offices and guess what I got false information actually de lady at reception didn't have time for me bcos she told me no and they don't host for a big number of which I have a friend dat booked... More
0
Votes
Helen B
27 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Colleen L | Reviewed this property |
The following is not allowed in the gardens: Balls, bats, bikes, kites, frisbees, skateboards, rollerblades, scooters, fires, gas braais, dogs/cats, alcohol, musical instruments, radios/CD players.
1
Vote