We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tabacon Hot Springs

| Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
+506 2479 2099
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 146.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano and Tabacon Hot Springs Tour
More Info
US$ 125.00*
and up
Arenal 1968 Park Hiking Tour with Hot Springs
More Info
US$ 173.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano Lava Flow Hike and Tabacón Hot Springs with Dinner
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“swim up bar” (318 reviews)
“hot springs” (1,324 reviews)
“day pass” (197 reviews)
LOCATION
| Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
CONTACT
Website
+506 2479 2099
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"swim up bar"
in 318 reviews
"hot springs"
in 1,324 reviews
"day pass"
in 197 reviews
"buffet dinner"
in 182 reviews
"main pool"
in 63 reviews
"hotel guests"
in 35 reviews
"locker room"
in 46 reviews
"costa rica"
in 229 reviews
"hot pools"
in 75 reviews
"warm water"
in 55 reviews
"after a long day"
in 48 reviews
"buffet style"
in 36 reviews
"spring pools"
in 36 reviews
"arenal volcano"
in 111 reviews
"hot river"
in 32 reviews
"unique experience"
in 32 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 42 reviews
Filter

11 - 20 of 3,208 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Breathtaking place but highly recommend water shoes. Also if you are here in April, Avoid going after sundown. It is lowly lit so it’s easier to walk into and onto rocksMore

Thank imoreno91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello imoreno91, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you hada wonderful expereince and that you enjoyed our thermal pools and ponds. Just as you mentioned, our thermal pools and ponds are located in the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 2nd time. We visited in April, and there seemed to be fewer visitors. Start with a yummy buffet. (we like eating before hitting the water). Take a look at the map on the wall before you go out. There are 4 bridges...More

Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to read we had the pleasure of hosting you and that you had a 5 star visit. We appreciate you consider Tabacon a must do in Costa...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was an inclusive part of our tour package but I could have skipped it and spent the time at our hotel which had a hot spring swimming pool. It was moderately pleasurable experiencing the volume of hot water coursing through the man made pool...More

Thank CrocodileRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed our location. However, we are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectations regarding to our location. Tabacon is the only resort at...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We weren’t able to get a room here bc they were sold out, but we did the day pass with lunch/dinner. This has to be one of the prettiest places on earth. Really, really pretty amazing place. I felt that the day pass was absolutely...More

Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Director General at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear valeud guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit. It's great to know you enjoyed our wonderful thermal springs and that you consider our complementary meal to be...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very cool springs especially when you escape the area with all the dumbs and get up to the quieter and calmer pool.More

Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Director General at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Chris, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a cool experience and that you enjoyed all our thermal ponds. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A truly special place. The other spas in Fortuna are nice and they each have their own distinctive personality. Tabacon is all class. They've gone out of their way to make you feel as if you are sitting in a natural river with the warm...More

Thank psavila1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Director General at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Psavila1, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit. It's great to know we had the opportunity of hosting you. It's great to know you enjoyed your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hot river with pools to sit in. So fantastic! Free but we tipped a guy who watched our car and lead us to a safe entrance to the river The current is a bit strong and the rocks can be slippery so be careful! Wear...More

Thank jacqui d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Jacqui, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to read we didn't have the opportunity of hosting you. For safety reasons we do not recommend visiting the hot springs of free access as they represent a risk to the safety...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The ambiance, the dinner buffet, and the natural hot springs were well worth the amount we paid to come. We paid less to go to another popular hot springs resort, but that did not compare to the environment at Tabacon. We spent 8 days in...More

Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jen, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a wonderful thermal experience and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. It's great to know you took a relaxing time with you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful resort with a series of hot and cooler flowing pools and streams to relax and enjoy the day or evening. Very kid friendly, food buffet, and bar services. Forest setting near volcano is stunning. Limited parking for day pass so arrive early!More

1  Thank Russell O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Russell, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed all our services and facilties. We appreciate your review and hope to host you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We purchased the day pass of Tabacon Hot Springs even we stayed at the hot spring resort too. Tabacon is nice overall but it was a little crowded and since it's natural, it could be fast flowing at places so watch your kids closely. Plus...More

Thank M800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello M800, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. It's great to know you enjoyed our thermal pools and ponds during your visit to Tabacon. Just as you mentioned, we always recommend our adults guests to stay and watch close...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 59 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
3,782 reviews
.01 km away
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
1,325 reviews
1.27 km away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
210 reviews
2.35 km away
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
1,238 reviews
2.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Altamira Restaurant
278 reviews
4.24 km away
Que Rico Arenal
741 reviews
3.95 km away
Cascajo's del Arenal
253 reviews
.90 km away
El Novillo del Arenal
225 reviews
1.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Baldi Aqua Spa
29 reviews
4.56 km away
Lake Arenal
1,585 reviews
4.52 km away
Rio Chollin
1,005 reviews
.17 km away
Los Lagos Hot Springs
560 reviews
3.86 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
NYNY878
11 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Community M | Property representative |
Dear NYNY878, Thanks for writing to Tabacon. The transport service is facilitated by an external tour operator which offers its services to our hotel for an additional cost, you can contact them to know their rates and... More
0
Votes
perlaoshea
7 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Community M | Property representative |
Hello Perlaoshea, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. Regarding the weather, as we are located in the middle of the Rainforest the weather of the area tends to change suddenly so it can be sunny and suddenly... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
aprenti3
20 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Community M | Property representative |
Hello aprenti3, Thank you for taking the time to share your question with us, it´s great to read you are planning to visit us. For the enjoyment of our visitors to our thermal springs we offer the option of Day Pass which... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor