We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Ranweli Spice Garden

No 31 Gannoruwa-Muruthalawa Rd | Opposite The Suspension Bridge Of Peradeniya Botanical Garden. 800m Towards North, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
+94 81 2 387613
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 137.77*
and up
Private Kandy Tour
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
New Ranweli Spice Garden is located in close proximity to Peradeniya Royal Botanical Garden ( Walking distance from the suspension bridge of peradeniya botanical garden)
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good24%
  • Average26%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“herbal tea” (9 reviews)
“free massage” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
No 31 Gannoruwa-Muruthalawa Rd | Opposite The Suspension Bridge Of Peradeniya Botanical Garden. 800m Towards North, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
CONTACT
Website
+94 81 2 387613
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I hired a tuk tuk to visit this place and once I got there I payed the driver and asked him to leave. but the tuk tuk guy pretended like he didn't understand anything came behind me to the spice garden. I didn't mind it...More

2  Thank Lola F
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Lola Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You can use google maps or the offline map ( maps.me) to locate us. Otherwise you can always send us an email to ask for a pick up from the town. Our email address is...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Basically a classical tuk tuk driver forced stop rip off. I found the same products (different brand, same containers) at the Kandy market for a 10th of the price. I totally discourage to buy.

Thank longobard
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perhaps the highlight of our time in Kandy was learning about spices with Asanka. He’ll make you laugh pretty much the whole time. Also found out that I’ve been lied to my whole life and I’ve never had real cinnamon before coming here!

Thank Travis S
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for the review. For a pick up from the town please do send us an email on spicegardencli@gmail.com Don't hesitate to contact us

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

my five star review would have been a one star review if I didnt do any research on the spice gardens of sri lanka. I hired a tuk tuk to visit the only spice garden that has good reviews and I was taken to a...More

1  Thank trudy4506
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Yes you can use maps to find us or simply send us an email for a pick up from the town. We shall come and pick you up. Our email address is spicegardencli@gmail.com

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very informative tour, seeing plants and trees in their original state. However we did get bit a few times from bugs (despite wearing repellent)More

Thank Kazbar02
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear madam thank you for the review. please note that our spice garden is located near peradeniya botanical gardens and a pick up will be given by us from kandy town or peradeniya town if you let us know in advance. our email is spicegardencli@gmail.com....More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

There are a number of spice farms/gardens along the highway. They all show a multitude of spices in natural plant form and treat you to a wide variety of amazing concoctions prepared from plants on site. A fascinating educational experience if you like spices but...More

Thank rgbob
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear madam thank you for the review. please note that our spice garden is located near peradeniya botanical gardens and a pick up will be given by us from kandy town or peradeniya town if you let us know in advance. our email is spicegardencli@gmail.com....More

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Perfect for those looking to learn about the different fruits and spices of Sri Lanka, how they are made and where they come from! Asanka was highly educated and willing to answer all questions. Additionally he was not pushy at all when it came to...More

1  Thank akonlolo2008
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Message from new ranweli spice garden- those who like to visit our spice garden can send us an email and arrange a free pick up from Kandy . Our email address is spicegardencli@gmail.com Don't hesitate to contact us Thank you

Reviewed 2 November 2017

After our visit in Sri Lanka I fell in love with the products from spices, and I do buy a lot. And after some montns it was no more left. So I order some products to send to me in Sweden. And it took not...More

1  Thank Hagel K
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Message from new ranweli spice garden- those who like to visit our spice garden can send us an email and arrange a free pick up from Kandy . Our email address is spicegardencli@gmail.com Don't hesitate to contact us Thank you

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

It was nice place to learn and understand many facts about spice planets .. The local guide was nice we take a tour around and at the end of the tour they take you to the shop. You have to avoid buying anything you will...More

1  Thank Wael A
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Message from new ranweli spice garden- those who like to visit us can send us an email and arrange a free pick up. Our email address is spicegardencli@gmail.com Don't hesitate to contact us Thank you

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

This was my first spice garden experience and was everything I hoped it would be. Very peaceful little spot with a beautiful garden packed with more spices and fruit than you can imagine. The guide was great, full of awesome information and loves answering questions...More

Thank Andrea D
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Andrea thank you for the review Those who are planning to visit us can Send us an email on spicegardencli@gmail.com For a free pick up Thank you

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fire Plate Restaurant
75 reviews
2.89 km away
Barista - Peradeniya
19 reviews
1.64 km away
Peradeniya Rest House
66 reviews
1.88 km away
Kapila Bakers and Sweet House
5 reviews
2.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal Botanical Gardens
2,803 reviews
1.54 km away
Oak Ray Creations Batik
11 reviews
2.26 km away
Commonwealth War Cemetery
380 reviews
1.68 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joshua J
10 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from newranweli | Property representative |
New ranweli spice garden is walking distance from the botanical gardens. You can first visit the botanical garden and make a small detour to New ranweli spice garden. Suspension bridge is the second entrance or the exit of... More
1
Vote
jerum
1 March 2017|
Answer
Response from rbs02 | Reviewed this property |
Yes I agree that they don't sell hair remover , please go through my review , I have mentioned exactly what is there..
1
Vote
newranweli
2 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from jerum | Property representative |
Dear sir No problem. We trying to educate the tourists that there are a lot of spice gardens and most of them are not listed on trip advisor. So they post their reviews on ours. We can solve it if the tourists can remember... More
1
Vote