Casa Popenoe
Casa Popenoe
4.5
Monday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
About
Casa Popenoe appeals to the inquiring mind. It prompts us to ask questions about ideas, about passion, about commitment; about history, art, science, beauty, austerity, proportion. What role does each play in human development? In the development of civilization?
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles107 reviews
Excellent
77
Very good
21
Average
5
Poor
1
Terrible
3

Betsy L
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Couples
This was one of my favorite places in Antigua. The history of the house itself and the Poponoe family is fascinating. We had a knowledgeable guide, an architect, who was generous with his time and our questions. Spending time in the gardens and rooms of the house made it easy to imagine what life would have been like in the colonial era. Learning about Wilson Poponoe's contributions to agriculture and appreciation for the history of Antigua made me want to learn more about his work.
Take time to book a tour ahead of time and you won't be sorry.
Written 26 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Abovetheclouds
1,986 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 • Solo
I was there a while and had time. If you have time and have done everything else or you have a real interest, then do it. Otherwise, not a must. Well kept. Very interesting guided tour. Check timings before going.
Written 29 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bess713
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019 • Solo
Loved this museum. I go to a ton of museums, and this one was excellent. My guide was incredibly knowledgeable, even citing sources as she was talking. It was very interesting too, to see the home of a wealthy antiguan, and the layout and the uses of different rooms. Highly recommended if you like history, architecture or even just the rich and the famous
Written 10 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review, we are so happy when our guests like what we show and talk about Casa Popenoe. Have a great vacation here.
Written 11 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ARTX2
College Station, TX60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019 • Couples
I love learning about the history of the places I visit and this tour hit all the marks!

Scheduling was very easy, simply email casapopenoe@ufm.edu. I got a response in about an hour and tour was booked.

Loren was our English speaking guide and she was fantastic! We got to hear about the history of the house, the history of Wilson or Dorothy Popenoe in Antigua and why their mark on this house became so influential to the city. Learned lots of interesting facts about colonial life and specific design features of the house. (Seriously, the colonial plumbing is remarkable!) Great info on how the house has been reconstructed, and deconstructed, over the years. Even learned that their daughter, in her 90s, still lives in town and visits the house regularly.

If you love history you will not want to miss this tour!
Written 14 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you, it is a pleasure to show the house to people interested in history and art. We always want to give our best and love when people enjoy the tour as you said so. Thank you very much.
Written 18 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hugh T
Atlanta, GA59 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2019 • Couples
This wonderful house museum was recommended to us by a fellow dealer in antiques. He was spot on! This was our favorite museum in a town full of interesting things. The Casa tour has to be booked via the internet. You’ll find the web address on the door of the house. Lorena was our contact. She also provided the tour in Spanish the day we visited. A tour in English is provided on some days, unfortunately not the days we were available.
The tour gives great insights into the beginning of the development of Antigua and how the house itself was restored. The tour takes around one and a half hours. It seems quicker.
It’s worth the small effort required to make the appointment. The web address is casapopenoe@ufm.edu
Use this to make your online appointment. Hope you’ll enjoy it as much as we did.
Written 16 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review, we are always delighted to give our best to visitors so they will have a wonderful tour. You are always welcome!
Written 17 April 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian J
Fife, Scotland57 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2019 • Couples
This is a very worthwhile tour. Our guide was very knowledgable & enthusiastic about Popenoe & Guatemala's history generally. It's a wonderful insight into the hidden world behind the high walls and solid wooden doors of magical Antigua. But you do have to email and book a tour at least 24 hours in advance. Don't just turn up and bang the brass door knocker. You won't get past security if you haven't booked.
Written 16 February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review, We always ask people to book ahead because we are not always available, or perhaps we are touring a visit at that moment. We like to give a good quality tour and we need to schedule the visits in advance to ensure this. Our volunteers come by demand they are not here all day long, but all of them love Casa Popenoe and are very happy to give a tour. Thank you again for coming and for loving what we show here at Casa Popenoe.
Written 22 February 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karenandmartin
Calpe, Spain28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2019 • Couples
We had no problems arranging our tour of Casa Popenoe; simply send an email and the curator will come back to you with some options. Lauren responded to us within a couple of hours fitting us in with another group of 4. In the end the other 4 were no shows, so we had a personal tour.
Loren was absolutely charming and the tour was really informative.
Casa Popenoe should definitely be on your must see list in Antigua - so email a couple of days in advance to make sure you can get in.
Thank you Loren
Written 7 February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you, Karen, we feel so happy when our guests enjoy Casa Popenoe. This is the reason we try to do our best to show the house, talk about its history, and to manage the different requests to enter Casa Popenoe as good as possible. Thank you very much. And all the best to you!
Written 8 February 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

stephan j
London, UK896 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2019 • Couples
I can confirm what another reviewer said. I have tried to arrange a visit on their website. However it seems as we are less than 5 people one can’t even send a request for a visit which would perhaps enable them to add us to another group.
Disappointing
Written 2 February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, This is surprising for us that the website didn't allow you to put a number lower than 5, because we usually received requests for two or just one person and we accommodate them in the tours we have available. For example: Tue, Feb 5, 1:49 PM (2 days ago) to casapopenoe Visit us Name: xxxx Email: xxxx Date: 02/12/2019 Time: 9:30 Number of adults: 3 Number of childrens: 0 And I tried myself and I could put any number in the space. We are sorry you couldn't find the way. We always try to do our best receiving and accommodating visitors in different schedules as they wish.
Written 7 February 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lequesteau
Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2018 • Couples
We had a great tour. Eugenie gave an outstanding guided tour. It was very interesting and she was very knowledgeable. It's an amazing place with an amazing history.
Written 15 November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for your review! We are always happy when our visitors find the house and the guide superb. We want to give a great experience to our tourists and show them a bit of a House in Antigua.
Written 16 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

StevieCCD
Leigh-on Sea, UK96 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2018
We tried, we tried but did not realise how difficult it would be to visit Casa Popenoe - there is no info on trip advisor or lonely planet. We simply turned at the Casa today according to the published opening hours and were turned away, unceremoniously, by the security guard. A bad experience.
This is what I learned - You have to book ahead, via email and have a group size > 5. If you are independent travellers forget it because the placed is booked out by tours. I checked the Casa website which is limited help. I even had an emil dialogue withe the person who tried to be helpful and apologetic but te bottom line is we wasted time and energy and never did get to see the Casa - don't waste your time too...
.
Very disappointed as it sounds wonderful
Written 7 November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are so sorry we couldn't give you a tour the day you wanted. We offered you the tour the next day of the day you wanted it, but you were not able to make it. We were going to give you the tour no matter if you were only two. I just said that Thursday was full so we were able to give you the tour on Friday. In our webpage which is in Spanish and English, we provide the information to book a tour of the house. casapopenoe.ufm.edu/en/visitor-information Anyways we are apologizing again with you, our guardians don't understand or speak English and they don't allow people to get inside the house if they are not coming for a tour, so they gave you a card with my email and I answered you as soon as possible. Loren Lemus Curator of Casa Popenoe
Written 8 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 72
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Casa Popenoe - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Popenoe

Casa Popenoe is open:
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Sat - Sat 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM


Restaurants near Casa Popenoe: View all restaurants near Casa Popenoe on Tripadvisor

All Antigua HotelsAntigua Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Antigua
All things to do in Antigua
Day Trips in Antigua
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire