We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Accra Urban Adventures

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Ring Road East, Opposite UNDP Offices, Accra 09732, Ghana
Phone Number:
233244156309
Website
Description:

From small homely restaurants to fast and fresh market stalls and sizzling...

From small homely restaurants to fast and fresh market stalls and sizzling street food carts, Accra is home to a wide range of places providing West African cuisine to the masses. On this tantalising guided tour, experience the energy of local markets, taste traditional delicacies, learn how to bargain like a local and pick up some tips on how to prepare traditional dishes.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 39.00*
and up
Accra Slavery Museums and Forts Walking Tour
More Info
US$ 46.00*
and up
Accra Markets Walking Tour
More Info
US$ 44.00*
and up
Accra Cultural Walking Tour: Arts, Crafts and Industry

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 9 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2
    Excellent
  • 3
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
nice walk around the hood

had a nice time walking around, although dont book it on sunday since most of the markets are fully closed. the guide Emmanuel Mills is a very pleasant guy.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
Filip C
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

had a nice time walking around, although dont book it on sunday since most of the markets are fully closed. the guide Emmanuel Mills is a very pleasant guy.

Helpful?
Thank Filip C
Ghana H, General Manager at Accra Urban Adventures, responded to this review

Warm greetings from Accra, Ghana Dear Filip, Thanks very much for booking your tour with us. We appreciate you leaving us your feedback which is very valuable to us. We are glad that you had a good walk on your tour and you found the guide pleasant and helpful. We have taken note to advise future travelers as we indicated... More 

Los Angeles, CA USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

The tour? It was me standing at the meeting point for 45 minutes, alone, in the heat...no one ever showed up. Nor did they call, or email me. Complete waste of time. What's worse is that I only had ONE day in Ghana. Day wasted. Thanks Urban Adventures!

Helpful?
1 Thank SlowJams
Ghana H, General Manager at Accra Urban Adventures, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Accra, Ghana! Thank you for booking your tour with us and leaving us your feedback. First let me apologize that no one showed up at the tour and I understand how you might have felt unattended and in the heat. Could you advise us of your full name and the type of tour you booked with... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

The overall Old and New Accra tour was not disappointing though also not amazing. The real issue was that the guide did not show up for half an hour, and only did because I called and emailed. If I did not have a working SIM card, They took a while to pick up as well. I suspect that I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim1123
Ghana H, General Manager at Accra Urban Adventures, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tim, Sunny greetings from Accra, Ghana! Thank you very much for booking your tour with us and leaving us your feedback. Kindly accept our most sincerest apology for the late arrival of the guide on your tour and I understand how you might have felt to have waited for almost 45 minutes and also receiving not an earlier... More 

Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

I went on the Food Tour, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Locating the guide was a little bit challenging to start with, but I managed to locate him outside the (now closed) Palladium Cinema, along Hansen Road. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to explain some of the history as we made our way to the market (not markets!).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
Accra Urban A, Manager at Accra Urban Adventures, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Andreas, Thanks very much for choosing us to take your West African Market and cuisine tour! We also appreciate it very much for leaving us a review! It is always great to hear feedback on what we are doing right or wrong. We are also glad that you found the local tour guide knowledgeable and helpful. We have... More 

Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
376 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2016

Waiting on my arrival at port; perfectly-timed tours; knowledgeable guides; matched my needs to their schedule; courtesy throughout the day. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank jwjwjwjw1
Accra Urban A, Acting General Manager at Accra Urban Adventures, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We very much appreciate your time to send us your feedback on your tour with us. Your key commendations (perfectly time tours;knowledgeable guides) means a lot to us and we are glad you were accorded the necessary attention and time. We are grateful that you will also recommend us to others! Best regards, Tina (Accra Urban adventures) More 

Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2015

Have a great time with Urban adventures walks. The guide knew what to show you and was very helpful. Would recommend the Accra Old and New walk. It is a credit to the people in this area what they do to help in the recycling of waste. The other tour around Jamestown was also good. Look up the web site... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RobertClaydon
Accra Urban A, Tour Operations Manager at Accra Urban Adventures, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thanks very much for your time to leave us this positive feedback. Am sorry it took me a while to respond to your review.We are glad you had a great time on your walking tour and you found the local guide helpful and knowledgeable. That makes us feel proud! We are happy to have offered you a wonderful... More 

Abidjan, Cote D'ivoire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I have done a market tour. It was great. The guide had a lot of local knowledge and did a nice tour. He has been very customer oriented and would have fulfilled every wish... You just need to ask.

Helpful?
2 Thank Blaudani
Accra Urban A, Tour operations Manager at Accra Urban Adventures, responded to this review

Dear Blaudani, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback! We are glad you found the local guide knowledgeable and helpful on your tour! Our focus to give the best to our clients and giving us such positive feedback helps us to know what we are doing right and can as well improve upon. Hope you can... More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Walking through Accra urban areas provides you with all the experiences one looks forward to coming to Ghana. From nice hotels to squatters and mostly importantly the jostling through the crowds streets just to get to your location or an appointment

Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene O

Travellers who viewed Accra Urban Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Accra Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Accra Urban Adventures and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Accra Urban Adventures staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?