We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pokagon State Park

450 Lane 100 Lake James, Angola, IN 46703-7597
+1 260-833-2012
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Visit when Redbud trees are in bloom

We always drive through the park when the redbud trees are in bloom, normally late April. The... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
kbmath1
,
Angola, Indiana
via mobile
Beautiful park

My husband and I enjoyed the hiking trails. We were here in March so we weren't able to enjoy... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
331mafa
,
Indianapolis, Indiana
Read all 302 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Pokagon is an Indiana State Park located in Angola, Indiana, on the shores of Lake James. Pokagon has both electric and non-electric campsites, as well as a youth tent area and group camp. There a two swiming beaches at Pokagon along with miles of hiking trails, a bike trail, a Nature Center open daily and the Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center. In the winter, Pokagon is home to a refrigerated toboggan run. Because of it is refrigerated, it does not need snow to go and is open from the day after Thanksgiving until the last weekend in February.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good32%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“toboggan run” (66 reviews)
“nature center” (48 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
LOCATION
450 Lane 100 Lake James, Angola, IN 46703-7597
CONTACT
Website
+1 260-833-2012
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"toboggan run"
in 66 reviews
"nature center"
in 48 reviews
"horseback riding"
in 26 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 23 reviews
"lake james"
in 23 reviews
"fire pit"
in 8 reviews
"nice lodge"
in 4 reviews
"year round"
in 8 reviews
"camp store"
in 6 reviews
"all ages"
in 14 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 8 reviews
"inn"
in 82 reviews
"sled"
in 22 reviews
"camping"
in 47 reviews
"snow"
in 18 reviews
"indiana"
in 38 reviews
"campground"
in 23 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We always drive through the park when the redbud trees are in bloom, normally late April. The natural color is absolutely beautiful!

Thank kbmath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I enjoyed the hiking trails. We were here in March so we weren't able to enjoy swimming or kayaking in the lake, but we would like to return at a warmer time to do so!

Thank 331mafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I have fond memories of this place as a child. I went down twice in the hour we rented, the sled was heavier than I remembered (Now that I am the parent, I get the carrying honors). I would say that the heavy sleds are...More

Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2018

we arrived and drove around then walked and sat by the lake. It was chilli but so refreshing and quiet.

Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We travel here every year. We are from Northern Ohio, and Pokagon is our "GO-TO" camping location. This year we have our annual family camp trip scheduled for July!!! Can't wait!

Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Lots of snow. Very pretty area. We hiked several trails. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean. We had breakfast in the inn. Service and the food was good Many nice areas in the in to sit and relax. Nice pool and recreation areas. We...More

Thank LittleGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

My husband and I, along with 2 friends, went to Pokagon to go down the toboggan run. We went in late January. Expecting long lines, we got there right when they opened. The line wasn't too bad, though many people had the same idea we...More

Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

very small room...smelled musty....could hardly turn around in the shower. Bedding was in bad shape. Buffet was not worth the money. Very disappointed

Thank katherinemV9931JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokagon12, other at Pokagon State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We will share the information with the Potawatomi Inn Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

What a great family fun place to get away to. The tobagon run is a lot of fun. Just $13 hour. The inn is a great place to stay and very family oriented. Food at the inn is very good as well.

Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokagon12, other at Pokagon State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thanks for reviewing Pokagon! We are glad you had a good time. Come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

What fun for the whole family. Iced toboggan runs. Rentals and staff on had to help and keep it safe. Check park for dates. Weekend and especially when weather is on the warmer said be prepared to wait.

Thank JQuacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokagon12, other at Pokagon State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thanks for visit Pokagon, we are glad you had a good time. Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Angola
Potawatomi Inn and Conference Center
351 reviews
.42 km away
Budgeteer Motor Inn
9 reviews
2.04 km away
Ramada Angola/Fremont Area
502 reviews
2.07 km away
Holiday Inn Express Fremont
179 reviews
3.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Caruso's Restaurant
170 reviews
3.40 km away
Timbuktoos
207 reviews
3.83 km away
acapulco mexican grill
112 reviews
2.32 km away
Red Arrow
23 reviews
4.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Satek Winery
62 reviews
4.77 km away
Glendarin Hills Golf Club
21 reviews
4.54 km away
Briali Vineyards
19 reviews
3.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jjc110
9 August 2017|
Answer
Response from ltsailors | Reviewed this property |
I have not camped so I don't know your answer
0
Votes
Kathleen N
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Pokagon12 | Property representative |
Yes, through Labor Day weekend.
0
Votes
nancyculver
27 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Pokagon12 | Property representative |
Yes. They can be rented at the Potawatomi Inn and the Camper's Store.
0
Votes