We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 1 Wellington Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Dolphin Watch & Nature Tours)
Phone Number:
+64 3-573 8040
Website
Today
08:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

We provide award-winning, wildlife and conservation focused guided cruises...

We provide award-winning, wildlife and conservation focused guided cruises and dolphin swimming experiences through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds.

Those looking for the thrill of a lifetime can join us for our Dolphin Swim or View Experience or you could take part in our fully guided cruises to your choice of bird sanctuary islands or Historic Ship Cove.

A clean green paradise of bush and sea full of natural beauty, history and wildlife is waiting to be explored and experienced.

E-Ko Tours is Qualmark Enviro-Gold certified and the only local operator able to actively search for Dolphins. We provide degree qualified, professional guides on all our Tours.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 120.76*
and up
Half-Day Dolphin Eco-Tour from Picton
More Info
US$ 72.46*
and up
Half-Day Dolphin Viewing Eco-Tour from Picton
More Info
US$ 72.46*
and up
Ship Cove and Dolphin Eco-Tour Cruise

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 266 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 198
    Excellent
  • 25
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
SUCH AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!

We went through Picton just for this and we were not disappointed! You're given a wetsuit, snorkel and mask before you leave headquarters, so there's adequate time to get... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 days ago
Ozzie M
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went through Picton just for this and we were not disappointed! You're given a wetsuit, snorkel and mask before you leave headquarters, so there's adequate time to get dressed. When we first went out, we traveled for quite a bit and saw nothing for ages and our spirits started dying. We thought, "we're not seeing anything today", but then... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ozzie M
Budgewoi, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This tour was excellent, the guides (both the driver Tristram and Geyer) were fantastic, informative, knowledgeable and available to answer questions. We had a great day checking out birds, seals, salmon farm, onto the most northern island and a walk to the top to check out where Captain Cook claimed the South Island, and then my favourite, lots of stops... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacquie_fs
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great tour! I went to talk to them beforehand to ensure nothing exploitive happens with the dolphins, and I was gratified to see that doesn't happen. They told me of a few days prior when new born babies were in the water and the swim didn't take place. Although we didn't get to swim with dolphins on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gemini_Reno
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I did the E-Ko afternoon Wildlife tour. It was a comfortable boat with interesting and highly-qualified staff. The first attraction is the lovely scenery of Queen Charlotte Sound. The second is its wildlife. There are no guarantees what you will see with wildlife. The staff know where to look and adapt the route to give you the best chance of... More 

Helpful?
Thank AntheaFG
Paul K, Owner at E-Ko Tours, responded to this review

Hi there thanks so much for your kind very. It's great to hear you had a good trip :) More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The crew at E-Ko tours needs to be complimented on bringing humans and dolphins together in a fantastic way...by letting the dolphins come to you. This group has figured out how to not mess with the environment yet give us an experience we will never forget. We had a group of 11 going out to the Marlborough Sound on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank HolladayTraveler
Paul K, Manager at E-Ko Tours, responded to this review

Hi there it's great to hear you had such a good time! thanks for taking the time to write a review :) More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

We booked this tour as a group of 8 as a fun trip out with friends before Christmas, we had a great day but didn't see Dolphins We booked this tour through Book Me NZ so we got a discount on the ticket price of the tour, we were told by E-Ko Tours that we are eligible for a partial... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
Paul K, Owner at E-Ko Tours, responded to this review

Hi there thanks for taking the time to write a fair and balanced review. for anyone reading this our speaker has been fixed! the salt water is very hard on our equipment and we do our best to keep on top of maintenance and replace parts as soon as possible. I was very sorry to hear that the Captain's commentary... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

Booked through a cruise ship. Get on board only to find there are not enough seats for all passengers. Some people had to sit outside in the rain (and freezing cold) whilst a few others (my self included) had to stand up the entire time. We did the 2 hours wildlife cruise and walk at the nature reserve. The nature... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenni177
Paul K, Owner at E-Ko Tours, responded to this review

Hi there sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your tour with us. Sounds like a series of unfortunate events with terrible weather in the middle of summer, a quiet day for the wildlife and an unexpected hike up a hill. More 

Mow Cop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable afternoon and got to see common dolphins and penguins our guide Guiya was great highlight of our hol so far

Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
Paul K, Owner at E-Ko Tours, responded to this review

Thanks Jenny! I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Gaia More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

We had an amazing time, although we did not get to actually swim with the dolphins. We did however see the rare Hector's Dolphin with the even more rare sight of them with their calves. That made it well worth it! We did receive a partial refund for not being able to actually swim with the dolphins and we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank simplylivinghappy
Paul K, Owner at E-Ko Tours, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for your kind review it's really great to hear you appreciate how special that encounter with those little hectors and their babies was! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Even though we couldn't swim or find other pods of dolphins it was still an awesome cruise out in the sounds

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
Paul K, Owner at E-Ko Tours, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca, thank you for your review, it's always sad on the rare occasion we don't find any dolphins but we do our best to have a good time anyways so it's great to hear you did enjoy yourself :) More 

Travellers who viewed E-Ko Tours also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to E-Ko Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of E-Ko Tours and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from E-Ko Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?