We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metis Crossing

Smoky Lake, Canada
More
About Metis Crossing
Métis Crossing is the first major Métis cultural interpretive destination in Alberta. The development and operation of this facility mirrors the core values of the Métis community including self-sufficiency, respect of elders, participation of youth, and pride in our culture. Métis Crossing began as a major initiative of the Métis Nation of Alberta. Our mission is to be a premiere center for Alberta Métis cultural interpretation, education, gatherings, and business development. Our 512-acre site is designed to engage and excite visitors, and is comprised of river lot titles from the original Métis settlers to this region in the late 1800’s. Our programming encourages active participation of visitors in activities that promote appreciation of our people, customs, and celebrations.
Read more
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Metis Crossing
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
12Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
azucenarzepka wrote a review Sep 2020
Acapulco, Mexico10 contributions
This place is abandoned!! After driving 1.36 minutes, we arrived to this beautiful modern building. It was opened, but absolutely dessertet! Nobody to greet us or guide us in any way. We made our way to the outside grounds where Three staff memebers were having their lunch and they tottaly ignored us!! We found our way to the tiniest museum. The displays were covered with dust!!! A total waste of time!!!! If you are looking for a cultural, historical experience THIS IS DEFINETLY NOT THE PLACE!!!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from LeonH1495, General Manager at Metis Crossing
Responded 23 Oct 2020
We were so sorry to hear about your experience and acknowledge that this should never have happened. We have had an internal meeting to talk about this circumstance and how we can do better moving forward. We pride ourselves on being a welcoming and professional destination for Métis cultural interpretation and this clearly was not the experience you were provided. You should have been properly greeted and offered the opportunity to participate in a guided Meet the Métis interpretive experience. In an effort to ensure the safety of our visitors, in the summer of 2020 we moved to a pre-booking system for our Meet the Métis Program, ensuring COVID19 protocols were effectively implemented and limiting interactions between visitors. It is likely that our staff did not have your tour pre-booked and were not prepared for your arrival – you should have been welcomed all the same, we apologize. Please email us directly at metiscrossing@metis.org. We would love to offer you and your travel cohort a complimentary experience on your next visit.
Read more
RuthH_10 wrote a review Sep 2020
Edmonton3 contributions1 helpful vote
I enjoyed a very good visit to Metis Crossing. It was a pleasant country drive to get there from Edmonton. The site is beautiful and the guides provided great information
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Stacey u wrote a review Sep 2020
Edmonton, Canada33 contributions10 helpful votes
My family and I went to the Metis Crossing during July 2020 yes right in the middle of the Covid-19. Although they did not have all the entertainment I have heard about or the canoe rides, it was very interesting. We camped there and had the whole campground to ourselves
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Fanmiro wrote a review Sep 2020
Edmonton, Canada16 contributions5 helpful votes
Great day outing for the whole family! Metis Crossing is a beautiful setting right along the North Saskatchewan River. We signed up for the tour and had 4 or 5 different tour guides. We learned to weave bracelets, had a dance lesson and heard stories around a campfire. We ended the afternoon with a terrific trout burger in the wonderful sitting area overlooking the river. The museum has some great pictures and displays. A great way to spend a day!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Sunshine07650061135 wrote a review Nov 2018
Edmonton, Canada1 contribution
I've gone out to Metis Crossing for the past three years for their annual Indigenous Day celebrations in June and Voyageur Days in August. Metis Crossing is a 1 1/2 hour drive from Edmonton and is one of my favourite locations. It's adjacent to the North Saskatchewan River. We got to go on a canoe ride as part of the celebrations, enjoy live music and traditional Metis jigging, hiking that included a labyrinth walk, and so much more. The grounds are well kept. Sunflowers were in abundance in the garden in August as were the berries on the Saskatoon bushes. A magical place!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LeonH1495, Manager at Metis Crossing
Responded 17 Jun 2020
Thank you so much for coming out and experiencing this important part of our culture! We love you enjoyed it so much.
Read more
Previous