We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden

Open Now: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Share
Review Highlights
A great place to explore ,pass on the food

We go here often and at different times of the year as there is always something different to see... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Tony H
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
Such a tranquil and unspoiled woodland

I went with my sister and we were pleasantly surprised. We started off by having a coffee and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
jamescheshunt
,
Kangaroo Flat, Australia
Read all 416 reviews
266
All photos (266)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“boat trip”(111 reviews)
“oak trees”(7 reviews)
“lots of water”(6 reviews)
About
Enjoy a relaxing and peaceful day out away from the hustle and bustle in our 130 acre organic woodland garden with our exclusive broad. Wander the 3 miles of fully-accessible paths, take a trip on our boat Primrose then enjoy a cream tea or light...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
School Road, South Walsham NR13 6DZ, England
Website
+44 1603 270449
Call
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
220
126
42
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
220
126
42
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip oak trees lots of water mobility scooter for sale st benets abbey scones beautiful flowers tea room lovely place afternoon tea cafe staff round the gardens flora and fauna relaxing walk few hours minute trip
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 416 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We go here often and at different times of the year as there is always something different to see each time, this time we called into there cafe for lunch which was a bit disappointing, we both ordered sausage sandwiches which should have been an...More

Thank Tony H
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went with my sister and we were pleasantly surprised. We started off by having a coffee and homemade cake each in the cafe, and booking a boat trip. This left us 90 minutes to wander in the gardens on our way down to the...More

Thank jamescheshunt
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear James Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. I am so pleased that you and your sister enjoyed exploring the garden and taking the boat trip. Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited Fairhaven with my daughter, whom I was home-educating at the time. We had a walk around the gardens and enjoyed a boat trip on the broad. We had lunch in the cafe which serves wonderful home cooked food. We visited the shop and...More

1  Thank Mia M
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mia Thank you very much for your review, recommendations and kind words about our staff, which are much appreciated. Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Fairhaven for the first time today - two adults and one teenager, and really enjoyed our 3 hour visit. It was so peaceful and tranquil walking through the woodlands and gardens on a bright sunny autumn morning and the boat trip to the Abbey...More

Thank K1472CRkarenc
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Karen Thank you very much for your review and recommendations. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Fairhaven. Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Basically some unspoiled woodland with some uneven paths. This may be the exception in the area, but there are many better areas than this where we live that we can walk around free of charge so after being charged over £20 admission we were expecting...More

Thank Derek B
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Derek Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit, but am glad that you enjoyed the boat trip. Fairhaven is a natural garden with ancient oak and beech trees. We have beautiful autumn colours and...More

Reviewed 7 October 2018

Walking in woodlands can be one of the most interesting activities because of the birds and wildlife. Taking the cruise on the broad allows you to enjoy a small element of a broad cruising day. Walking to and from the cruise and round the gardens...More

Thank stevemd44
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Steve Thank you so much for your review and recommendations. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the garden, including the boat trip and the tearoom. Thank you Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 27 September 2018

This is mostly woodland and very natural, not at all a 'manicured' garden, it doesn't claim to be, therefore quite dark even on a lovely sunny day. We spent a very pleasant morning here, the best part for me was sitting by the broad at...More

1  Thank ANN S
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Ann Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the garden and also enjoyed your coffee and sandwich at the tearoom. Thank you for your feedback about the garden entry charge. To explain, the garden...More

Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

It was a lovely sunny day so it was nice to wander around the woodland area and look out over the broads. Very nice cafe and also boat trips available.

Thank Julieterry02
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Julie Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed exploring the garden and visiting the tearoom. Thank you Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 22 September 2018

With over 100 acres of natural gardens, woods and lakes, this is a great place to spend a day. There is the option of woodland walks, boat trips, and a welcoming cafe. Highly recommened.

Thank Graham T
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Graham Thank you very much for your review and recommendation, which is much appreciated. Paul Fairhaven Garden

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

These gardens are sadly underwhelming. The pathways and plants could do with a lot more attention. The entry fee is too high. The 20 minute boat ride was OK but could have had a lot more commentary to make the most of the nature on...More

Thank sallyalex
Paul D, Public Relations Manager at Fairhaven Woodland and Water Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you very much for your review. I am so sorry that you did not get a call back about the St Benet's Abbey boat trip and that you were disappointed by your visit to the garden, including the boat trip. I hope you don't...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Acle
420 reviews
5.56 km away
Hotel Wroxham
528 reviews
8.09 km away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
823 reviews
9.57 km away
Sutton Staithe Hotel
106 reviews
10.53 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
The Ship Inn
468 reviews
.43 km away
Maltsters Pub & Restaurant
524 reviews
1.58 km away
The White Horse
210 reviews
2.86 km away
Scooters Cafe
126 reviews
4.25 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Ranworth Broad
141 reviews
1.97 km away
Eastwood Whelpton
46 reviews
3.32 km away
Pirates Island Adventure Golf
18 reviews
5.58 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Joe G
24 October 2018|
Answer
Response from Dickson_Tours | Property representative |
Hello Joe, please can you let us know what type of work you are looking for. Thank you Paul
0
Votes
mick1942606
12 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Pink_Primula | Property representative |
Our 2017 Admission prices are; Inc. donation (Not inc. donation) Adults £6.75 (£6.14) Concs £6.15 (£5.59) Child £3.85 (£3.50) U 5's... More
1
Vote
clairestapley
17 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Dickson_Tours | Property representative |
Yes, dogs on leads are very welcome and water/drinking bowls are provided. There is a small charge for dogs (25p) to cover the cost of a poop scoop.
0
Votes