We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Derwent Hunter Day Tours

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Shingley Drive | Abell Point Marina South, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 7 4946 7124
Website
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Tall Ship Reef Adventure. Day Sailing on board the Australian legend...

Tall Ship Reef Adventure. Day Sailing on board the Australian legend Derwent Hunter. Whitsunday Islands, Great Barrier Reef. Help sail, snorkell fringing reefs, explore coral atolls of Langford Reef and Bali Hai. Multi award winning for adventure and eco tourism. Departs Airlie Beach.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 132.82*
and up
Tallship Sailing and Snorkeling Adventure from the Whitsundays
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 298 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 218
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Great weather but poor snorkelling on the day

Enjoyed a 7hr day snorkelling tour from our P&O cruise into Airlie, the weather was superb, the ship skipper and crew absolutely fantastic, showing great enthusiasm and providing... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Mark H
,
Brisbane, Australia
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Airlie Beach

Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a 7hr day snorkelling tour from our P&O cruise into Airlie, the weather was superb, the ship skipper and crew absolutely fantastic, showing great enthusiasm and providing us history and location facts. A nice lunch provided and plenty of cold drinks for sale on board. A little disappointed with nil actual sailing on the day due wind directions and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Having done a thrilling speedboat type trip on the previous day, this was the perfect trip to follow up with. The Derwent Hunter has a fascinating story that the skipper clearly enjoyed sharing with us. Once we were out of the marina, we as guests were able to assist with the sailing, whether it be getting behind the wheel or... More 

Helpful?
Thank NoelR1991
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, the Derwent has an amazing history and we love nothing better than sharing it with our guests. Enjoy the rest of your travels More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

HUGE dissapointment snorkeling!!! We had been looking so much forward to go snorkeling here, but due to cyclone we couldnt see anything at all on the first snorkeling. On the second snorkel we saw a little bit but not very clear. They should not take people on trips offering great snorkeling when they cannot deliver it. Crew kept saying "next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heidi N
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed with your snorkeling, as you mentioned this was 2 weeks after the cyclone which caused damage to many of the corals. The snorkel spots that we took you to are still in good condition, as you mention it was possible to see things but not too clear on this particular day with big tides.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2017

This day trip was just perfect from start to finish. The staff were so informative and friendly, their knowledge and passion was incredible. This was truly an unforgettable trip and one of my highlights of Australia. The snorkelling sites were beautiful, we even saw turtles at Langford Sandbar. The food was delicious (particularly the carrot cake which I ate way... More 

Helpful?
Thank NomadsAdventures
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

We booked the chill and thrill package (one day Derwent and one day Ocean Rafting) it was the perfect combo. The boat was almost empty so we got really lucky. We were taken to great locations, got to swim with many turtles and had so much fun. Thanks for the team to explaining all the fish we saw and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank mgxpinson
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really do appreciate. So glad you enjoyed your best both worlds Thrill and Chill package. Enjoy the rest of your holiday. More 

Bowral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This is another 'must do' when at the Whitsundays. The Derwent Hunter is a beautiful - and very well travelled - schooner, and took us for a beautiful day sailing. There was a northwesterly that day, which is unusual, so the crew made sensible adjustments to where we went and managed her well in the choppy conditions sailing back to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this review

Great to hear that you enjoyed your day! Thanks for reviewing us, our crew love to read them! More 

London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We spent a day on the Derwent Hunter for a day sailing. It was one of the best tours in Queensland: now packed with tourists, relaxing, great food ( and plenty!) and two good snorkeling locations. The crew is very knowledgeable and friendly, Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Vaniades
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your day sailing on Derwent Hunter. Thanks for reviewing us! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

This was possibly one of my favourite said out on Airlie Beach. The snorkelling was brilliant the crew were amazing and very informative. The trip was relaxing and the food was good.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us, we do appreciate it. Glad to be on your "favorite list" More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Such a fun opportunity to be aboard a tallship; they also will let the guests help with the sails which my friend enjoyed. Both snorkel spots were great; saw some turtles and great coral. The lunch was good and the crew was great to my friend who started to feel a bit ill (not as a result of the ship... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica E
Level Contributor
468 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Perfect day sailing with two stops at the coral reef for snorkeling. Nice and friendly staff. The food was ok, nothing special, but the experience was definitely worthwhile.

Helpful?
Thank Kasia Z

Travellers who viewed Derwent Hunter Day Tours also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Derwent Hunter Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Derwent Hunter Day Tours and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Derwent Hunter Day Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?