We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Temptation Sailing

Features Animals
| Marina Pier, Glenelg, South Australia 5000, Australia
+61 412 811 838
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Temptation Sailing tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
More Info
US$ 52.92*
and up
Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild dolphin swims daily since 2001, in this time we have never been out on a dolphin cruise and not seen dolphins. In fact we will give you all your money back if dolphins are not seen on this cruise. Dolphins always come over to Temptation and you can stand or lay above them on our front nets. If you wish to swim, no worries (but book early to avoid disappointment) this is a totally wild experience, no feeding, no touching just viewing from within the water. Because these are wild dolphins we have strict rules to abide by (both for the safety of the swimmers and the dolphins) and sometimes it can be rushed to get the swimmers in the water and sometimes the crew do need to yell so that the swimmers know which way to look under water. If you book in for a swim and on the day change your mind, no problems we can refund the difference (direct bookings only), especially for young children who decide they don't want to swim, that way they don't need to feel forced to go into the water. Remember you will always see more dolphins from on board, but seeing wild dolphins underwater is just amazing.
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“dolphin swim” (24 reviews)
“wild dolphins” (23 reviews)
“see dolphins” (17 reviews)
LOCATION
| Marina Pier, Glenelg, South Australia 5000, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 412 811 838
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017

My wife and I joined Temptation Sailing on their dolphin swim and watch cruise during our recent visit to Adelaide, and we were not disappointed. Firstly the weather was great, nice and sunny and calm seas - currently back home it is -6, this made...More

Thank petekemp2017
Reviewed 9 March 2017

I cannot recommend this tour enough! The staff were extremely friendly and full of information about the dolphins and the coastal area. Steve (Captain) asked if anyone had any questions etc. and I certainly jumped at the opportunity, fascinated about the responses. This is an...More

Thank daisymac91
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Lovely cruise, the weather was beautiful, the sea calm, crew were friendly and polite. First did this trip 10 years ago - the vessel definitely looks tired now... maybe a lick of paint, bits of rust showing! On our first trip it was BYO. Not...More

Thank Carol R
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

My friend and I were so exited to swim with the dolphins- But unfortunately the staff were rude and un- enthusiastic , saw maybe 3 dolphins - none while we were in the water whatsoever - no refund on the extra $70 a ticket -...More

Thank Jess M
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Hi Jess, sorry to hear you had a bad swim. Not all our swims are amazing, we can get over 200 dolphins one day and only 10 the next, our swim can last 2 hours one day and then a quick swim by the next,...More

Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

We absolutely had the best morning seen plenty of Dolphins today I would recommend anyone to go on the day cruise and the guys who run it are so friendly and very helpful enjoyed every minute of the cruise. Thanks Temptation guys you guys rock!!

Thank Julie M
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Last night we were booked to go on the sunset cruise and wow it was amazing. The cruise was very calm, staff friendly, and the sunset was beautiful. I don't understand why Adelaide doesn't promote the sunset over the water, it is spectacular. Truly recommend...More

Thank Anne2010
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

I loved going out with the amazing crew at Temptations to see the dolphins! We saw a tiny baby swimming with its mum and it was so incredible! The pictures at the end were beautiful! I can't imagine a better start to the day!

Thank Heather M
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Our initial trip was cancelled with no notice, despite the weather forecast being accurate. Our rescheduled trip wasn't much better, we were thrown off the back of the boat, people has their masks kicked off, I had to grab the anti shark line having been...More

Thank Samuel G
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Hi Samuel, we can see from your review that it was from a swim from March 2016, so around a year ago it is a bit hard to comment on your review. We don’t cancel cruises for no reason, so if you cruise was cancelled...More

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

It started off a bit slow and we thought that perhaps we wouldn't see any dolphins but the crew made sure that we didn't miss out. We came across a huge pod of dolphins and it was absolutely incredible! The crew were so friendly and...More

Thank Jessicca B
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and the dolphins. We hope to have you back on-board again in the near future.

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

I can understand that if people see dolphins and swim with them it is an overwhelming experience that gets you past the $$ aspect the tour has taken. Unfortunately, we did not see any Dolphins other than a fin for 1 sec. We understand it...More

1  Thank Delphine S
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us as you found the boat to be too crowded. Being February, one of our peak months the boat will be full, during our shoulder...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wharf
307 reviews
.11 km away
The Oyster Bar
187 reviews
.00 km away
Orange Spot Bakery
137 reviews
.36 km away
Watermark Glenelg
301 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glenelg Beach
251 reviews
.48 km away
Glenelg Pier
696 reviews
.48 km away
The Beachouse
265 reviews
.36 km away
Bay Discovery Centre
82 reviews
.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
G6007YQmichelle
22 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Stephen W | Property representative |
Hi, Thank you for your enquiry. It really depends on the cruise you are inquiring about, the sails do not get put up on every cruise and is at the discretion of the captain. The main sail does not typically go up, however... More
0
Votes