We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thunder Jet

Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
+64 3-441 1116
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 93.02*
and up
Lake Wakatipu and Kawarau River Jet Boat Ride
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
THE ULTIMATE ADVENTURE DOWN THE SPECTACULAR KAWARAU RIVER! Jetting you through a theatre of New Zealands most stunning landscapes, THUNDER JET QUEENSTOWN is the REAL jet boating experience, tightly sealed with an impeccable safety record. If the scenery doesn't leave you breathless the 360 degree spins will. "The perfect mix of mother nature and machine"
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good13%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“kawarau river” (38 reviews)
“great fun” (68 reviews)
“hour ride” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-441 1116

Similar Things to Do in Queenstown

Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Levi was our driver. He was so cool and funny. His jokes made the journey so fun. The way he drove the jet boat was awesome too. It was like he was almost hitting things but didn't. So thrilling. Strongly recommended.

Thank Binny S
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have now made it a tradition to take all my friends and family that come to stay in Queenstown on Thunder Jet. Great way to introduce people into the adrenaline junkie town while giving them some great info about the town an the history...More

Thank joeaM9945OV
ThunderTeam, Director of Sales at Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What a fantastic way to introduce people to beautiful Queenstown! We're so glad you had such an exciting trip with Levi and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One hour long jet boat ride worth the money. The skipper does spins and entertains you with relevant but entertaining history of Queenstown. Make sure you wear layers of clothing, hat and gloves if you are doing this in the winter. A rain coat is...More

Thank Rachael S
ThunderTeam, Director of Sales at Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

You couldn't be more right Rachael - wrapping up warm in these Winter months is essential! Thanks for choosing Thunder Jet and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were a couple minutes late because we were participating in Tandem paraflight. The lady told us we probably could not make the session via phone. Once we finished the flight, we rushed to Thunder Jet and luckily it had not departed yet. The lady...More

Thank Lun L
ThunderTeam, Director of Sales at Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Lun, thank you so much for your great review! Commentary in a different language is definitely something we are looking into - and possibly something for the future!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A fabulous fun experience for the whole family. Excellent value for money. Make sure you wear gloves if you're doing it during the winter monthsMore

Thank auckland1982
ThunderTeam, Director of Sales at Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. That's right - it is essential you wrap up warm before heading out on Thunder Jet in the winter months! Hats and gloves a must! We do hope you enjoyed your time in Queenstown and hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The thunder jet was a great experience and the driver we had was a great host. Highly recommend this experience to anyone visiting Queenstown.

Thank timpage2016
ThunderTeam, Director of Sales at Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Tim for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your trip out with us on Thunder Jet and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely awesome trip!! Incredible scenery while shooting up the river! Staff were really friendly and we had a bloody brilliant driver! Great commentary and felt super safe the whole time!

Thank Carol H
ThunderTeam, Director of Sales at Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Carol, you have mentioned some of our strongest qualities. We always love to inform our customers about our community and its history along with those awesome 360's! Thanks for your review and we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Queenstown.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had an amazing time on boat with multiple 360degrees turn. It was something different done in the morning of a winter.

Thank mngolovetotravel
ThunderTeam, Director of Sales at Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're so please you had such a great time! Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loads of fun - not super extreme. Got a great bit of local colour AND they dropped us off at our hotel pontoon on the way back! We were staying at The Hilton and because we got the water taxi, we got a little discount....More

Thank teamhayman
Haley K, Director of Sales at Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review! That is correct - we do offer hotel drops offs and pick ups from selected lakeside hotels! We're so glad you enjoyed your trip with us and look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Two poor university students in Dunedin trying to see Queenstown. We borrowed an older car from a friend and had some car troubles on the way. We called and said we couldn't make it for our scheduled time. A very rude woman on the phone...More

Thank caxb34
ThunderTeam, Director of Sales at Thunder Jet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We really do apologise that you felt you were treated unfairly recently at Thunder Jet. Unfortunately, as Book me is a separate booking site to ours, they do have their own Terms & Conditions which are stated on their website. As the seats you booked...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Perky's - Floating Bar
186 reviews
.07 km away
The Taj Indian Kitchen
106 reviews
.03 km away
Tandoori Palace Indian Cuisine
210 reviews
.07 km away
Ivy & Lola's Kitchen + Bar
1,139 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Wakatipu
202 reviews
.11 km away
Queenstown Water Taxis
86 reviews
.05 km away
Moa Statue
71 reviews
.04 km away
Creative Queenstown Arts & Crafts Market
18 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Thunder Jet staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit