We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenorchy Air

91 McBride Street | Queenstown Airport, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Glenorchy Air tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
More Info
US$ 287.97*
and up
Milford Sound Landing and Glaciers Fly Over
More Info
US$ 327.08*
and up
4-Hour Milford Sound Cruise and Fly Experience
More Info
US$ 280.86*
and up
Milford Sound and Glaciers Fly-Over Tour from...
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Glenorchy Air flies from Queenstown airport and everyone is guaranteed a window seat. We are a family business which is owned and operated by Janet and Robert Rutherford. We have been operating for 25 years. We fly fixed wing aircraft in which everyone has window seat for unimpeded views. These include fly-cruise-fly to Milford Sound, as well as overflight, and coach options into and out of Milford Sound. Glenorchy Air also runs regular flights to the Mount Cook region, to Mount Aspiring, to Queenstown's local glaciers, to Stewart Island, to Otago's East Coast and to Fiordlands Doubtful Sound. As we worked on the "Lord of the Rings" movies we have a unique insight into movie locations with various flightseeing options and personalised tours on offer.
  • Excellent93%
  • Very good4%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“milford sound” (490 reviews)
“scenic flight” (59 reviews)
“fly cruise fly” (56 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
91 McBride Street | Queenstown Airport, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Ways to Experience Glenorchy Air
from US$ 288.00
More Info
from US$ 327.10
More Info
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"milford sound"
in 490 reviews
"scenic flight"
in 59 reviews
"fly cruise fly"
in 56 reviews
"small plane"
in 37 reviews
"new zealand"
in 82 reviews
"southern alps"
in 35 reviews
"fantastic flight"
in 17 reviews
"seater plane"
in 17 reviews
"return flight"
in 23 reviews
"great pilot"
in 24 reviews
"queenstown airport"
in 18 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 27 reviews
"window seat"
in 16 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 27 reviews
"mount cook"
in 9 reviews
"boat cruise"
in 14 reviews
"informative commentary"
in 16 reviews
Filter

141 - 150 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2017

Scenic flight info Milford sound was spectacular. Great pilot, nice plane and viewing that was indescribable. Must do experienceMore

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Public Relations Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Hi Joseph K, we are really happy to hear that you had an amazing day with Glenorchy Air. With our biggest plane being a 7 seater, we are able to provide a window seat to every customer, which gives you the incredible views of our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

This flight was cancelled due to poor conditions in Milford. Glenorchy Air was excellent at keeping us informed and held off the decision to cancel, hoping the cloud would burn off as it had done the previous day. At the time of each update we...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Public Relations Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Hi KevinG, as our flights are view flights and not radar, unfortunately, due to safety reasons, we can't fly if the weather conditions are poor as you mentioned above. We always try to reschedule the flights if that is the case, to give our customers...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Public Relations Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Public Relations Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We were impressed Glenorchy Air had the experience to know it was going to be a great morning in Milford despite the very gloomy conditions in Queenstown. Gabby was a very personable and competent pilot and guide and we really enjoyed her commentary. Cruise was...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank W369KXpeterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Hi W369KXpeterp, thank you for taking the time to review us. The weather in Milford Sound can often be very temperamental but after years of flying in and out on a daily basis, our pilots have developed an excellent understanding of the conditions and geography....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Awesome morning to Milford Sound. From the time we were picked up to our return to Queenstown the staff were friendly, efficient and informative. Everything went like clockwork and they even parted the clouds for I'd to leave on time. Thank you Glenorchy.More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 170bevanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you 170bevanc for your review. We do aim to provide the most efficient and unique trip possible and it sounds like you had an amazing trip. Parting the clouds for a customer is only reserved for very special customers so we hope that you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We had a great day on our flight-cruise-flight trip to Milford sound. It was a sunny day (one of 50 per year, we were told), the 45min flight was smooth, our pilot Will pointed many interesting things out, including Mt.Cook in the distance. The vessel...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Bubine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Marketing Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Hi Bubine, and thank you for writing us a review. The weather completely dictates whether we can fly or not so any flying day is a good day. It must have been particularly clear for you to see all the way to Mount Cook in...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Absolutely incredible day, it is a little more expensive then getting a bus or driving but it was a way better option then the 5 hour car trip each way with a toddler! I really didn’t think it could get much better then the flight...More

Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Public Relations Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you, Laura N, for this amazing review. As a family owned business we truly appreciate every feedback that we get. We can imagine that long journeys can get hard with a 16 month old, and we are thrilled to hear that you've had an...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

One can go to Milford Sound by coach or self drive also but it takes a lot of time plus the views that one gets via the aerial route are breath taking.... something not easily available worldwide within this time/cost.More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Manoj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Public Relations Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Hi Manoj S, Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review. Milford Sound is a beautifully spectacular place as you will have seen and can only be truly appreciated from the skies. Flying in not only offers great views of snow...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Amazing views, amazing service. Our pilot was lovely and very knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend.More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Public Relations Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Hi Georgia S, first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We truly appreciate that. The south island of New Zealand offers an amazing scenery and we are happy that you've had an amazing...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 59 hotels in Queenstown
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
565 reviews
.61 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
1,365 reviews
1.10 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
3,056 reviews
1.16 km away
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
440 reviews
3.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Odelay
85 reviews
.38 km away
Ma Boulangerie
43 reviews
.49 km away
Bombay Palace Frankton
125 reviews
.99 km away
Thaitanium
121 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Alpine Aqualand
81 reviews
.59 km away
Remarkables Market
37 reviews
.71 km away
Air Milford
990 reviews
.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Danie O
23 October 2017|
Answer
Response from arawata |
As long as yo bring a wind proof jacket and sensible walking shoes or boots you will be fine.
0
Votes
Katie O
9 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from glenorchyAir | Property representative |
As long as you don't have huge gear like bikes or skis etc we can put your luggage in our back office.
0
Votes
Mapsver
8 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from wightm | Reviewed this property |
The flight was about 35 minutes as the do a bit of sight seeing. I often get air sick in small planes but we had great weather & very little turbulance
0
Votes
;