We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penguin Place

#13 of 110 things to do in Dunedin Features Animals
45 Pakihau Road | Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9077, New Zealand
+64 3-478 0286
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 147.06*
and up
Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour
More Info
US$ 133.35*
and up
Full-Day Wildlife Tour from Dunedin
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Penguin Place is a private conservation effort to help save the world's most endangered penguin, the Yellow Eyed Penguin. Visitors are taken on guided walking tours through a unique system of trenches and hides to view the penguins undisturbed at close range. Penguin Place is funded 100% by the support of our visitors, this funding enables habitat restoration, predator control, a research programme and on-site rehabilitation for sick, starving and wounded penguins. It is our hope that through our efforts, the future of this rare and wonderful penguin will be assured.
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good21%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
45 Pakihau Road | Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9077, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-478 0286
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Penguin Place started as the result of a farming family seeing the effects of their livelihood on the native birds. The owner began restoring the land where the penguins nest by planting native trees and shrubs. He then built hides throughout so that visitors can...More

Thank kidsalongtraveler
Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a cool opportunity to spot these rare penguins! All revenue from visitors goes towards conservation. We were lucky enough to spot 3 Penguins.

Thank Jessica L
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for visiting and supporting our project here at Penguin Place. We are so glad you enjoyed the experience.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good afternoon out with the kids in our NZ holiday. The bus ride and walk through the tunnels and trenches to hide from the penguins is worth it even if you don't see many penguins. We started off at the penguin hospital and saw some...More

Thank DanMarlee
penguinplace, Front Office Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for supporting our project here at Penguin Place.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have done this tour a few times and every time the tour is slightly different, this is the great thing about wildlife. Each time the staff have been highly friendly and informative. It would be nice to see the penguins in their natural habitat...More

Thank Kelsey P
penguinplace, Front Office Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We thank you for your continued support of our project.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was a terrible experience. I had my 9 year old son with me. We had to walk a very long way to see Penguin. And there were only 5 Penguins to see and it was very far. The adult ticket is not worth at...More

Thank grcace
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The tour in total is 90 minutes in duration and no longer the 1 kilometre of walking and about 90 steps involved. To see 5 penguins is incredible and is a higher number than most people will ever see. Everywhere does state that it is...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a trip here whilst staying in Dunedin for a few days and we were really pleased we did. We had a great introduction and some background information about the area and the penguins and we even got to take a peek into the...More

Thank Atkos
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience here with us. We thank you for supporting our project at Penguin Place.

Reviewed 19 June 2017

We came mid-winter so we were lucky to see 4 penguins coming ashore. It was really cold, but great to see them and the network of trenches to get out and view without disturbing the penguins was impressive. More importantly the rescue and help recuperate...More

Thank kiwieric
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for visiting and supporting our project here at Penguin Place. It sounds like you had a great tour and you were very lucky to see 4 penguins out in the wild.

Reviewed 15 June 2017

I'm glad we came here, since it was a beautiful place to visit. It was also interesting walking through the tunnels that have been built to view the penguins. You have to realize though that you are lucky if you see just one penguin, and...More

Thank JoanMarietta_GA
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting and supporting our project here at Penguin Place. Yes unfortunately the Yellow-eyed is not like the penguins you see in South Africa, we are glad you got to see one returning from sea.

Reviewed 5 June 2017

This sanctuary (reserve) was part of the trip to the Otago Peninsula. It is a must do activity where you learn the efforts that are in place to maintain this place. The staff is super helpful and take you around the reserve by foot and...More

Thank mabrondani
penguinplace, General Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience here with us. Thank you for supporting our project at Penguin Place.

Reviewed 24 May 2017

This is a fantastic way to see a highly endangered animal with minimal intrusion into their natural lives. This preserve works hard to increase and conserve the habitat of the Hoiho. You will get a solid education on the habitat and history of the penguins...More

Thank Stephanie B
penguinplace, Front Office Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thank you for supporting our project here at Penguin Place. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
1908 Cafe Restaurant
404 reviews
7.72 km away
The Portsider
68 reviews
8.73 km away
Blueskin Nurseries Cafe
68 reviews
13.67 km away
The Galley Cafe and Bar
22 reviews
8.75 km away
Nearby Attractions
Happy Hens
43 reviews
7.97 km away
Otago Peninsula
1,559 reviews
2.29 km away
New Zealand Marine Studies Centre
17 reviews
7.77 km away
The Royal Albatross Centre
1,369 reviews
2.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
craig r
22 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ChristianSuiMex | Reviewed this property |
Hi, we went with Monarch Cruise from Dunedin port at 13h. They didn't pick up at Port Chalmers when we where there but you maybe can ask them. We paid aprox 260 nzd for our family of 2 adults and 2 little boys. Tip: we had a... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
GreenQueenColleen
8 January 2015|
Answer
Response from penguinplace | Property representative |
Our first tour is 10.15 am. At this time of year both this and the 1.15pm tour are likely to be similar. For bookings and enquiries contact us via our website. Thanks
-1
Votes