We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adventure HQ

20 Tobin Place, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Adventure HQ tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
More Info
US$ 48.35*
and up
Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle - Taupo NZ
More Info
US$ 37.69*
and up
Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle - Turangi NZ
More Info
US$ 27.02*
and up
Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle - One Way from Ketetahi Carpark NZ
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good11%
  • Average2%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
20 Tobin Place, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Ways to Experience Adventure HQ
from US$ 48.40
More Info
from US$ 27.70
More Info
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tongariro crossing"
in 10 reviews
"shuttle company"
in 2 reviews
"return shuttle"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 4 reviews
"hike"
in 10 reviews
"passengers"
in 3 reviews
"driver"
in 8 reviews
"instructions"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we made the booking we were advised the last shuttle was at 4.30pm but when we got on the bus we were advised the last shuttle was 3.30pm. and They left four customers behind which was horrible. Apparently they knew what would happen to...More

Thank Carina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Ratlidge, Owner at Adventure HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

As per our terms and conditions, which you agreed to and out of consideration to people who arrived on time we depart on time. We offered to return and collect you at your expense which you declined.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Thank you Deb and the team at Adventure HQ, Great customer service keeping me updated with changes in the weather as I tried to lock in a day to do the Tongariro crossing - Deb's local knowledge was invaluable and helped pick the best of...More

Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I got a shuttle from Taupo to/from the Tongariro crossing. The shuttle was on time and they pick you up right at your hotel! It's still an early wake up ; ) but the buses are very comfortable and you don't have to worry about...More

Thank vanessa_werder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

the shuttle was on time. The mini bus picked us up at 5:50 am and arrived at Tongariro around 7:45..not too early not too late, just nice..return shuttle starts at 2:30 pm and last shuttle is 4:00 pm..we had plenty of time to do the...More

Thank 663zins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

They arrived to pick us nearly on time in the morning at Turangi iSite. We've filled a document with our names for the other driver to not forget to pick us at the end. Tell us that we have to be at the end of...More

Thank fred43st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Ratlidge, Owner at Adventure HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

This is an very unfair review. You were given exactly the same information as the other 30 odd people that travelled with us that day. Yet somehow you managed to miss the shuttles that were waiting, in full view, at the end of the track...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Perfect solution to doing the Tongariro crossing from Taupo. Early pick up was cool, buses were comfy and Daz was awesome. Aircon on the bus was just what I needed for a deep sleep on the way back to Taupo.

1  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

This co. is excellent they schedule very early pick up so we can avoid the crowds. I highly recommend this co.

Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

The shuttle was on time to pick us up from the hotel. It was a small, comfortable, clean, and air conditioned bus. The driver gave us heads up, discussed the weather, and cracked a few jokes. After the hike, we were picked up and shuttled...More

Thank Andrzej C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Good staff good service. Tongarido is a must. And we were waiting one person lost in Mordor during one hour.

Thank fisioloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 68 hotels in Taupo
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
201 reviews
.22 km away
Airport Motel at Rainbow Point
23 reviews
.43 km away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
234 reviews
.49 km away
Te Kowhai Landing
2 reviews
.57 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Edgewater Restaurant
208 reviews
1.09 km away
Ploughmans
333 reviews
.23 km away
Espresso Cove
101 reviews
1.34 km away
The Fish Box
171 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Waipahihi Botanical Gardens
140 reviews
1.45 km away
Taupo's Floatplane
93 reviews
.62 km away
2mile Bay Water Sports Centre
35 reviews
.40 km away
Andrew Christmas Professional Trout Fishing Guided Tour
19 reviews
.86 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hannah W
12 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Paul_Ratlidge | Property representative |
Cancellation Policy Being a weather dependent activity in an alpine environment on active volcanoes, we reserve the right to cancel at short notice if the conditions are unsafe to proceed. If we cancel, for safety reasons... More
0
Votes
;