We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

QE Health Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 1073 Whakaue Street, Rotorua 3040, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 7-343 1665
Website
Today
09:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 09:00 - 21:00
Sat - Sun 09:00 - 19:00
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

QE Health Spa is located on the shores of Lake Rotorua, 3 minutes walk from...

QE Health Spa is located on the shores of Lake Rotorua, 3 minutes walk from the Tourist Information Centre. We are a geothermal health spa, incorporating volcanic mud and mineral water into our treatments. We offer Mud baths and mineral pools for bathing. As a Spa within a health facility we offer therapeutic and remedial massage, as well as lymphatic drainage and pregnancy massage. Our therapists are all highly qualified and experienced. Single treatments or multi day health spa packages are available. Open 9am to 9pm, weekdays and 9am to 8pm, weekends.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 409 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 252
    Excellent
  • 114
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
A great way to relax!

Don't be put off by the external appearance of this spa. Although the building is now very 'tired' (and due for re-development, I understand), the treatments were everything we... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
baz1404
,
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 400: English reviews
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't be put off by the external appearance of this spa. Although the building is now very 'tired' (and due for re-development, I understand), the treatments were everything we had hoped for. The staff are friendly but nevertheless very professional and discreet. Pricing is lower than other places we looked at in the area. We used the thermal baths which... More 

Helpful?
Thank baz1404
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although old and nearing the end of its useful life this lovely old building exudes peace and charm. The staff are friendly and the treatments I received were administered in a caring and professional manner. I look forward to my next visit.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank sandrajmcdonnell
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome visit to spa. Very friendly staff that made our day special. The mud bath is a must for all to try!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Linelle M
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hate to write negative reviews, BUT this spa experience left my friend and I really disappointed. Firstly, the spa felt old and dated. We elected to do the AIX massage-- to try something new. The massage had no music, you could hear your neighbour's treatment and the water was constantly hot-cold and making noises. Combine all of the above... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ttg6162
QEHealth, Manager at QE Health Spa, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience and thank you for your feedback. QE Health is 75 years old, so it does look like an old building, we appreciate that it is not your usual spa setting, but it is seeped in history. Under the aix water you actually cannot hear any music playing (we have tried),... More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

QE may not be as opulent as many spa environments but it is clean, tidy and friendly. The treatments are always excellent and we recommend them. The range of treatments is also excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank birchwoodfarm
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a superb opportunity for myself and my elderly parents to benefit from a massage whilst experiencing the natural healing properties of the Rachel water. The therapists are very respectful and know how to make you feel comfortable. We enjoyed it soooo much that during our short 3 day stay in Rotorua we returned each day to experience OTHER... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
QEHealth, Manager at QE Health Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your parents with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Rotorua. More 

Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took 3 Norwegian friends here for a massage and facial. The staff were amazing and we all came out feeling great. Well worth what we paid for

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank anncN246DB
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rachels Pools: Relaxing and hot - they definately helped to sooth my aching muscles after a 19.2 km hike Relaxation Massage: My massage was amazing.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank deborahk66
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017

Massage a lot harder than thought would be. Quite sore after, did not seem to ease off for very long. Welcoming staff.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank drwoof
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

I visited the QE nine years ago on my last visit to New Zealand and was so impressed with the varioustreatments that I had that I vowed to return. I was lucky enough to revisit Rotorua last month and was pleased to see that the spa is still therel. Don't be put off by the building - it may be... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank christinegadsden

Travellers who viewed QE Health Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to QE Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from QE Health Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?