We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butterfly Creek

#36 of 264 things to do in Auckland Features Animals
10 Tom Pearce Drive, Auckland 2150, New Zealand
+64 9-275 8880
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Is this the best we can do?

I mean.....yes there are dinosaurs and butterflies and even a crocodile or two and some bunnies... read more

Reviewed 11 September 2016
Tomb1000
,
Auckland Region, New Zealand
via mobile
petting zoo is amazing... the other activities are not amazing

We had a choice of only visiting the petting zoo or the other activities (butterfly which was... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2016
Shereen H
,
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Read all 452 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“train ride” (74 reviews)
“farm animals” (59 reviews)
“petting zoo” (31 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:30 - 17:00
LOCATION
10 Tom Pearce Drive, Auckland 2150, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 9-275 8880
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 90 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I mean.....yes there are dinosaurs and butterflies and even a crocodile or two and some bunnies. But, the croc enclosure feels like something they put out the back as it was the only thing they could think of. The train ride takes you round a...More

Thank Tomb1000
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We had a choice of only visiting the petting zoo or the other activities (butterfly which was closed, aquarium, dinosaur area, and crocodile area). We paid 50% extra and butterfly was closed. the dinasaur area was just big constructed ones, the aquarium was few fish...More

Thank Shereen H
ButterflyCreek123, Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this review

Hi, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the petting zoo, it is very popular. Unfortunately when you visited all visitors were advised that the butterfly numbers were way down as we had just installed a new roof and there was a time lag in...More

Reviewed 4 September 2016

OMG how run down and neglected has this attraction become. This was our third visit two previous 2013, 2014 last visits, Butterflies what butterflies there were absolutely none, if don't count odd dead one on walking pathways. What shocked me about the butterfly house was...More

5  Thank Barry M
ButterflyCreek123, General Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this review

Wow. It certainly seems that you found absolutely nothing to your liking here at Butterfly Creek - one long negative rant. Most of your comments are totally inaccurate and certainly not founded in fact. Typical being your comment re the butterflies. All visitors entering over...More

Reviewed 4 September 2016

Amazing Attraction for families and anyone. Awesome butterfly encounter. Dinosaurs, farm park, cafe etc.

Thank NelsonInfoCentre
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Loved this place to my step son there for his 5 yr old birthday celebrations with our family. He LOVES dinosaurs and he got to learn so much but have fun at the same time. Definitely recommend the train

Thank SianCrouch
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I loved the Butterfly House the best! The butterflies are beautiful and captivating. The cafe is a bit spendy though.

Thank Melanie R
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Butterfly sanction out of action due to the re roofing of their habitat, bugs reptiles (crocodiles) and spiders enclosure was cool to view, aswell as the farm animals and getting to feed them, kids really enjoyed the small train ride and walking amongst the dinosaursMore

Thank MrSwannell
ButterflyCreek123, Marketing at Butterfly Creek, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review, and bearing with us! This is the first time we’ve closed the Butterfly House in 13 years, we apologise for any inconvenience, but are confident the improvements will provide you with an even better experience when visiting next time as...More

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We found this outing quite over priced for what it was. The butterfly enclosure was out of action due to roof maintenance which was disappointing but could not be helped. Kids still enjoyed the dinosaurs and farm animals.More

Thank 909brookes
ButterflyCreek123, Marketing at Butterfly Creek, responded to this review

Hi 909brookes, Apologies for the inconvenience, we're confident the improvements will provide you with an even better experience when visiting next time! The new roof will enhance light levels improving the flight behaviour of our 700+ butterflies. We hope you'll check us out again once...More

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

A mix of beautiful delicate butterflies to sharp teeth and claws of crocs and dinosaurs! Perfect for children.

Thank avishtas
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for something to do near the airport out this at the top of your list. Crocs jumping, dinosaurs roaring and lots of beautiful butterflies that land on you

Thank Lucinda J
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Szimpla Gastro Bar
395 reviews
.54 km away
Dunkin' Donuts
12 reviews
1.12 km away
1958 Bar & Eatery
25 reviews
1.34 km away
Jamaica blue
62 reviews
.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Emperor Lounge
324 reviews
1.27 km away
Rocket Ropes
31 reviews
.07 km away
Helicopter Me
29 reviews
1.22 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Amnon M
Are you open today?
2 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Mareah M | Reviewed this property |
Should be open check the website for their holiday hours
0
Votes
Peeeach
I have booked the tickets online and received the email of my tickets. Do I need to print it out or I can just show the staff my email and get my tickets?
23 January 2016|
Answer
Response from ButterflyCreek123 | Property representative |
Hi there, yes you can show your phone over the counter. Hope that helps.
1
Vote
passionxx
Family pass prices
15 January 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit