We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Toru Tours

#29 of 164 Tours in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 37b Bel Air Drive | Hillsborough, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 274 570 011
Website
Description:

Come on our personalized 3-Hour tour, showing you the highlights of what...

Come on our personalized 3-Hour tour, showing you the highlights of what makes this city of Auckland so special. From the diverse eateries to the many Volcanoes, to the working farm,and beautiful gardens that we have. We can guide you to Auckland's best shopping, cuisine and sights. Along the way, you'll learn about the Maori culture and settler history. We will meet local people and share stories which provide you with an enriching experience. Small groups (16max and yes we even take 1) increases the quality of the tour, so you can ask as many questions as you like. We get plenty of time to stretch our legs with 4 stops along the way. Let us show you 'our Auckland'.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 55.51*
and up
3-Hour Auckland Express Tour
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 108 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 96
    Excellent
  • 6
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Class Act!

Paul, the owner of Toru Tours, took us on a wonderful tour of Auckland. Not only did we see some of the tourist sites, but he took us to some "real-life" sites so I felt that we... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Iwannagetoff
,
Victoria, Canada

Similar Things to Do in Auckland

Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paul, the owner of Toru Tours, took us on a wonderful tour of Auckland. Not only did we see some of the tourist sites, but he took us to some "real-life" sites so I felt that we truly had experienced the city. Paul was responsive, courteous and adaptive. He is just a pleasant person to be around and I think... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iwannagetoff
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Having been born and bred in Auckland, I live and breath the place. I feel it so important to get a "real" perspective. We are pleased you enjoyed Auckland ,and it was my pleasure hosting you. Safe Journeys. Paul. More 

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I took this tour yesterday, March 25th. When I booked, I asked for a hotel pick up and almost immediately received a confirmation from Paul that he would pick me up at 9:55 am at the hotel. He was prompt, professional and full of joy and knowledge about Auckland in particular and New Zealand in general. The tour highlights many... More 

Helpful?
Thank NoogaCat
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming to Auckland. Having been born in Auckland, and having ancestry going all the way back to Polynesia I have a massive arc of information to share. I feel it is so important that you get a genuine view of what makes Auckland tick. This is what I am here for. Thank you for the... More 

Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

We booked this tour at the last minute when the rain vetoed our other plans for the day. Paul is an excellent guide! He's entertaining and very knowledgeable and passionate about his city. If this tour was offered as a full day, I'd do it again in a heart beat. Also, make sure to try the Hokey Pokey ice cream!

Helpful?
Thank NataliaMLS
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and you are more than welcome to come back to New Zealand. It is a great tour to do on a rainy day, and glad i'm you enjoyed your time here. Paul. More 

Erina, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Paul our driver was ready and waiting for us as our shipped docked in Auckland. Paul is a local man of Maori heritage with extensive knowledge of the area. This day was recorded as one of the worst downfalls of rain recorded. Paul did everything he could possibly do to give us a tour of the city. He could be... More 

Helpful?
Thank jillsttn64
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your damp review (kiwi humour). Yes we had one of wettest days, and we still had a lot of fun. It was great that we were able host you and I hope that you did finally get some sun. Thank you for the recommend and hope to see you in the future. Paul More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

It is amazing what you can learn in 3 hours with a informative guide. We chose the City Express Tour and soon discovered the highlights of the city and surrounding area. The Winter Gardens were spectacular. The Tour made the rest of our stay more enjoyable as we had a good idea of what Auckland had to offer.

Helpful?
Thank Tom O
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is a salient point that when you visit a city, you actually don't what is there. Sometimes you can read brochure, and then it's a big chore working out how to get there. I am pleased we took all that guess work away. Safe journeys. Paul. More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
291 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

We booked this tour through the I-site on the quay at very short notice. When the minibus turned up we found we were the only customers that session so we got a personal service. Paul was a good driver and very informative. As there were only the 3 of us we had a good chat. Other reviewers have covered the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We really focus on making all of our guests feel welcome. Auckland as mentioned can be difficult to get around, and being shown around by a local can save you lot of time and money. Really enjoyed the chat. Safe journeys. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

We only had one day in Auckland, so this tour was a terrific, time efficient way to see Auckland highlights. Our tour guide Paul was excellent and very accommodating- we really appreciated being dropped off at our hotel at end of the tour.

Helpful?
Thank Daisy8888888
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes we wanted to make sure you don't waste time in Auckland, especially when you are holiday. It was a pleasure hosting you. Paul. More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Since we had walked around our downtown hotel area and to the wharf after arriving from the States, I had previously booked this 3-hour tour with Toru Tours for the next morning. Paul, our driver, picked us up promptly at our hotel and also loaded our luggage in the back of the van, since I had requested this in my... More 

Helpful?
Thank joanhenkel
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review

Thank for your review, and excellent summation of the tour. There is a lot to see in Auckland. Safe Journeys. Paul. More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Paul of Toru Tours was excellent. He was interesting and informative and the three hour tour gave us a good overview of Auckland. Would thoroughly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank CT1810
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the recommend. More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We did the 3-Hour Auckland Express Tour with our guide and driver Paul, and it was fantastic! Paul was informative, fun, personable, and professional. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Helpful?
Thank kvoss90
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed the tour. There are cheap and nasty alternatives to getting around Auckland, but why not make it fun and have someone who was born in Auckland showing you my home. Hope the rest of your journeys go well, and hope to see you back in New Zealand. Thank you Paul. More 

Travellers who viewed Toru Tours also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Toru Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Toru Tours and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Toru Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?