We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Brien Group Arena

105 Pearl River Road | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
+61 1300 756 699
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Could be better ice!!

Ice needs to be cut/resurfaced far more often than it seems to be. Having poor quality ice at a... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 2 days ago
pua_007
Ice hockey and ice skating

My daughter and I had a great day ice skating and watching the women's ice hockey team, so much fun!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Aaron G
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 174 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Located in the heart of the Docklands, O'Brien Group Arena is Australia's premier ice experience. Come ice skating, 7 days a week, 364 days a year! Adults $28 (including skate hire) Concession/Student $26 (including skate hire) Child 6-14 years $24 (including skate hire) Child 3-5 years $15 (including skate hire) Family (2 Adults + 2 Children) $85 (including skate hire) Single Family (1 Adult + 2 Children) $66.50 (including skate hire)
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good35%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“ice skating” (50 reviews)
“skate hire” (12 reviews)
“school holidays” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
105 Pearl River Road | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 1300 756 699
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Ice needs to be cut/resurfaced far more often than it seems to be. Having poor quality ice at a great venue doesn’t help with safety.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank pua_007
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I had a great day ice skating and watching the women's ice hockey team, so much fun!More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Aaron G
Amy O, Manager at O'Brien Group Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Aaron, Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad to were able to catch the Melbourne Ice Women's game while you were here. They have two more double header weekends coming up (18 & 19th November and 13th & 14th January) and then we...More

Reviewed 18 October 2017

Great place for mates to hang and have a jolly good time. Great staff, Great environment although the pricing could be better as I don't have a membership however skate often therefore resulting in a great sum of money spent.More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank tommyrayner22
Amy O, Manager at O'Brien Group Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi Tommy, Thanks for your review, great to hear that you love coming in to skate! If you would like to see if a membership would suit you please feel free to email memberships@obriengrouparena.com.au and we can explain what we have to offer. See you...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017

What a fantastic day! We brought our 13yo daughter and her friends for a weekend meet up and it was fantastic. The staff were very helpful/friendly! We will definitely be coming back!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank adrianmC2828AC
Amy O, Manager at O'Brien Group Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi adrianmC2828AC, Great to hear you had such a great time. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Reviewed 7 October 2017

We found it a little difficult to access 'Peak Medicine' (in the Arena) because ground-floor reception was unaware that we wanted to go upstairs. We had to line up with the people paying to go ice-skating in order to make ourselves known. Our time in...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jorchard2
Amy O, Manager at O'Brien Group Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi jorchard2, Thanks for your review. We limit access to the top levels as this area is restricted for events and our other tenants like Peak Sports Medicine. We apologise that this took so long for you to get through, if you happened to come...More

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Just your average ice skating venue. Very hard to find at Docklands with the building activity. A 10 minute walk from the tram but don't get fooled by the signs directing you through the shops. Look at your map and walk direct. 2 rinks and...More

Thank Mike K
Amy O, Manager at O'Brien Group Arena, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Mike, Thanks for your review, much appreciated. Yes, it is a bit tricky with the building sites at the moment. We are certainly looking forward to them being completed (+ all of the new and exciting shops and cinemas!). Yes, we always provide a...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We have skated here three times and this last time was a joke we paid the extreme price as it was for my girls Birthday I asked to hire seals and was told i didn't need to as it was before 11 which the website...More

Thank Briony H
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Hi Briony, Thanks for sending through your review. We are sorry to hear that your recent visit wasn't how you had expected. We would like to have you back for another under 8's session. We run these everyday from 9am - 11am during the school...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We've been here a few times, not since the change of management though. It's a great way to have fun, use energy and spend a few hours. The carpet needs to be replaced as it is a tripping hazard for the elderly or infirm as...More

Thank Bluedog908
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Always a great atmosphere, maybe at the food place upstairs near the main bar have a few salad and sandwich options so that people dont have to walk through thecrowd and be in the way of the games to get to the downstairs cafe where...More

Thank JOBrien4692
Management response:Responded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking your time to send this through. We have passed your feedback onto our Commercial Department and will take this into consideration for the 2018 season. Thanks, O'Brien Group Arena

Reviewed 17 September 2017

My visit was very fun, the first time I came was back in 4 years go and i remember that I found it super fun and amazing. But this time I wasn't too surprise but it was still pretty cool and bring back lots of...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank rosemaly13
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bopha Devi
210 reviews
.53 km away
The Groove Train Harbour Town
121 reviews
.30 km away
Old Man Pho
17 reviews
.31 km away
Le Cirque Fine Foods
98 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
ArtVo
512 reviews
.13 km away
Melbourne Star Observation Wheel
1,442 reviews
.10 km away
Newquay Promenade
9 reviews
.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Charlotte C
7 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from songsee24 | Reviewed this property |
Think we had about perfect seating, center of top row, though any middle seating would be ok. Keen to go again when next in Melbourne
0
Votes
counsellor2015
9 August 2016|
Answer
Response from janice2899 |
Hi team, i am janice here from malaysia , i want to ask if i want take this ice skating course how much is it? but now i at malaysia. please revert me soonest thanks janice
0
Votes