We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cairns Fishing Charter

Features Animals

Cairns Fishing Charter
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
35
All photos (35)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good12%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible31%
17 Jul 2018
“Communication meltdown!!”
13 Jul 2018
“Is there a rating less then 1”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
28°
22°
Dec
30°
22°
Jan
29°
22°
Feb
Contact
Finger C, Marlin Marina | Marina Mirage, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Website
+61 7 4034 3277
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
65
16
5
5
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
65
16
5
5
41
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Booked on line provided all details including card details.Arrived ready to enjoy the day.Nothing in terms and conditions re need for comfirmation. No youre not fishing today.Ive got a sole booking for 8 and thats your bad luck. All he needed to do is communicate.Looks...More

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank selyts_12
Gone Fishing Ca... F, Owner at Cairns Fishing Charter, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

This customer booked online through email and was never confirmed. They did not travel with us and therefore shouldn’t be able to write a review

Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Just don’t bother. Biggest waste of money I have ever spent. I think a wet fish would have been more inviting but we wouldn’t know as we didn’t catch anything worth writing home about. I think he spent more time just driving the boat around...More

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Gonefishingcairnsux
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

That was the worst fishing charter I have ever been on and Jim is the worst guides and a embarrassment to Cairns. Please don't waste your money!

Date of experience: April 2018
4  Thank gazybarnes
Jim103299, Owner at Cairns Fishing Charter, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

There were 8 of you that drank two cartons of beer in the first two hours of the charter. You were drunk and very obnoxious.

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

What a waste of time!! Jim has the personality of a wet rag. Sorry i dont call somebody throwing your line out and just leaving it there until you get a bite fishing. If we were going after Barra jim obviously didnt want to use...More

Date of experience: April 2018
9  Thank rospascale1
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Went out Barra fishing with gone fishing charters cairns, an absolute waste of money and time . Jim the tour guide needs to lighten up a little maybe this is not the right job for him , his people skills are non existent his arrogance...More

Date of experience: October 2017
14  Thank Joe M
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

What a total waste of half a day in this beautiful place. Cairns doesn’t deserve operators that are cocky and arrogant. I didn’t know that part of my half day fishing that an hour and a half was spent watching Jim throw his net to...More

Date of experience: October 2017
9  Thank nonuborg
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We went on a half day trip (morning) & was very disappointed....Jim is a rude man who treats everyone like idiots. We spent the first 45 mins watching him trying to catch bait (thought he should've been prepared & already had it organised). We didn't...More

Date of experience: October 2017
3  Thank trace246
Jim103299, Owner at Cairns Fishing Charter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

If you had of taken the time to read our brochure or website it says that all trips begin with the collection of live bait. My day already starts at 5.30am do you suggest it should start at 4.30am. It also says that locations are...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I did the half day tour which took us to 3 locations where we caugh minimal fish ( not deep sea fishing). Jim attitude needs to change or he needs to change his careeer. This was a waste of time on my holiday. Its not...More

Date of experience: September 2017
4  Thank Ambertalia
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Well it pains me to write this but my partner and I returned to the jetty at Cairns after a morning fishing with Jim. We both looked at each other as we walked away and said what a rude pig of a man. From the...More

Date of experience: September 2017
4  Thank nugget20369
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Jim is unfriendly and disrespectful, and he seems don't wanna people to keep fish, cause he never ask anyone wanna keep fish, he just release all day. We booked a full day fishing trip with gone fishing on 7/8/2017, and Jim confirmed that for us....More

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank 三色貓 三
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 63 nearby hotels
Hilton Cairns
2,577 reviews
.03 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
788 reviews
.14 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
2,224 reviews
.18 km away
Pullman Cairns International
2,457 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 689 nearby restaurants
Tamarind
918 reviews
.18 km away
Bushfire Flame Grill
1,050 reviews
.13 km away
Ochre Restaurant
413 reviews
.11 km away
Dundee's Restaurant on the Waterfront
2,493 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 384 nearby attractions
Green Island
2,096 reviews
.09 km away
The Reef Hotel Casino
608 reviews
.12 km away
Underart Gallery
30 reviews
.15 km away
Anzac Park
19 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cairns Fishing Charter staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines