We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours

Features Animals
Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
More Info
US$ 157.38*
and up
Atherton Tablelands Rainforest by Night from Cairns
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
'Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours' specialises in small group rainforest wildlife tours with a twist! As a lot of Australian rainforest animals are nocturnal (at least 80% of them) a night element and spotlighting is always included with a knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide. It is magical to be involved in seeing a wild animal unrestricted in its natural environment in the rainforest, especially at night with all the new sights and sounds around you. On our tours we can never guarantee what we will see but we do promise you will see something! As an example we often see the elusive platypus (we have at least a 90% success rate) and the rare Tree Kangaroo as well as rare birds, musky rat kangaroos, possums, frogs, owls, reptiles, bandicoots and various invertebrates. Your wildlife adventure starts early afternoon with pick ups from your Cairns hotels and returns you around 10pm. Included is binoculars, wet wether gear, afternoon tea in the forest and dinner at a country restaurant.
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good6%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tree kangaroo” (51 reviews)
“green ants” (16 reviews)
“wildlife tour” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia

Similar Things to Do in Cairns

Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tree kangaroo"
in 51 reviews
"green ants"
in 16 reviews
"wildlife tour"
in 12 reviews
"elusive platypus"
in 12 reviews
"nocturnal animals"
in 11 reviews
"musky rat"
in 11 reviews
"night walk"
in 12 reviews
"great tour"
in 29 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 11 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 16 reviews
"huntsman spider"
in 6 reviews
"night tour"
in 14 reviews
"spot animals"
in 5 reviews
"leaf tailed"
in 5 reviews
"love wildlife"
in 4 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 18 reviews
"great wildlife"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Paul was our wonderful tour guide. He introduced us to a wide variety of kangaroo, plants, insects and reptiles. He is very knowledgeable and entertaining. He knows just where to look to find all the critters. We never would have seen such a wide variety...More

Thank waterlover000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you. It is always fun on this tour, and luckily for me the wildlife is very consistent all year round! I am glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the more unique aspects of this tour is the night-spotting part following dinner. You get to see the rainforest "alive" at night. My wife and daughter were worried initially about mosquitos and the difficulty level of the trails. Both worrries didn't materialise. Walking...More

Thank cyk179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review. We keep it easy on our walks and mosquitoes are not crazy here either. Glad you enjoyed the night walk. That’s what makes us different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was really looking forward to this experience and I was not disappointed. The guide was so knowledgeable and explained everything very well. We visited several different locations looking for specific animals and the only one we did not manage to see was the platypus....More

Thank ICEMAIDEN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

That platypus can be tricky to find sometimes! So glad you enjoyed the tour. Thanks for the review and recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This tour was better than expected. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and answered all our questions. We saw some incredible flora and fauna, including the elusive platypus. The nighttime tour was wonderful. We wouldn't have done it on our own and wouldn't have seen all...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank ibsharkbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey thanks for the recommendations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately we could not participate in the tour we booked due to other issues on our vacation. We were really looking forward to it! When we called to explain our situation, we were pleasantly surprised by how we were treated. Thankfully we didn't have to...More

Thank Misty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Well you did book last minute as well and you didn’t quite get the distances involved from your hotel to Cairns! Port Douglas is ok but Cape Tribulation is a bit far. Hope you do try again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Paul knows his stuff! This was an excellent tour highlighting so many animals that I would never have seen on my own. Amongst other creatures I saw: platypus, tree kangaroo, ringtail and bushtail possum, bandicoot etc, etc. The small group (we were 7 but max...More

Thank anniethomas152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Cheers. You are right small groups work best. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

What a great tour, so pleased we booked. Our guide Paul clearly cares that those on the tour have a memorable experience. We saw lots of wildlife including the Plataypus, which impressed our Aussie friends when we told them, as they had never seen one!...More

Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Not many Australians get to see a Platypus in the wild! Our tour is special in that regard as we get to see them at least 90% of the time! Thanks for the recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 63 hotels in Cairns
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
817 reviews
.07 km away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
1,792 reviews
.12 km away
Mantra Trilogy
2,106 reviews
.24 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
669 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Oasis Kebab
281 reviews
.09 km away
Grill'd
732 reviews
.08 km away
Spicy Bite
312 reviews
.09 km away
Royal India
92 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cairns Esplanade Lagoon
3,135 reviews
.05 km away
Esplanade Boardwalk
4,843 reviews
.07 km away
Michaelmas Cay
557 reviews
.12 km away
Doongal Aboriginal Art
54 reviews
.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Samantha S
4 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Paul M | Property representative |
Of course you can. It is up to you what you wear.
1
Vote
Shelahlah
20 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Paul M | Property representative |
It is around 15-20 mins from Airport to Hilton. We pick up there between 1:30 and 1:45. So as long as your plane is on time you will be ok. It is not really possible to catch up to us in a taxi.
1
Vote
Mariano F
29 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Paul M | Property representative |
4 years and above
0
Votes