We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 28 Doctors Gully Road, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Phone Number: +61 8 8981 7837
Website
Fee: Yes
Description:

Visit Aquascene at high tide when hundreds of fish approach the shore to be...

Visit Aquascene at high tide when hundreds of fish approach the shore to be fed by onlookers.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 73.64*
and up
Darwin Afternoon Sightseeing Tour
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 486 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 172
    Excellent
  • 164
    Very good
  • 80
    Average
  • 33
    Poor
  • 27
    Terrible
Lots of kid fun

Great place to take the kids. Make sure you take towels. They also have the most amazing marble statues ive ever seen.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Nikki Z
,
Broken Hill, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 476: English reviews
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to take the kids. Make sure you take towels. They also have the most amazing marble statues ive ever seen.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki Z
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Nikki - glad you had a great time! More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fish feeding at Doctors Gully is one of our favourite family experiences in Darwin!! We arrived with approx. 20mins to spare and most people were leaving, so we were charged half price as there wasn’t much time left- bonus. Can’t rave about the staff enough, so friendly and clearly passionate about the safety of the animals which was lovely to... More 

Helpful?
Thank BuffaloJade
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post such an informative review and we are all really glad you and your family had such a great time :-) More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I couldn't believe it cost $15 to enter. There were a lot of fish but the highlight was the cockie that let you scratch its neck. I can't see why they charge so much. A lady gave some information over a microphone which added a bit but really, go somewhere else and throw some bread in for free.

Helpful?
Thank ChillyMarlin
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't feel you got value for money - our resident cockie "Jimmy Choo" is quite a popular character. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Loved it! An abundance of bread and soooo many fish of different varieties. The staff were great and very friendly, didn't mind having a chat. Standing in the water with the fish having a nibble was an experience. Come give it a go!

Helpful?
Thank Aussie1881
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

We think it's pretty special too :-) Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience! Thanks for the feedback. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

They charge to much for what it is. The lady running the show seem a bit grumpy and spoke down to people. Better to go to the wharf for dinner and feed the fish.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Thanks for the feedback - we try to make everything as clear as possible - on the website, the entry itself and other media - Adults are $15 and Children and Pensioners are $10 - sorry to hear you didn't feel that you got value for money. More 

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

highly priced, open sea in front so I am not sure how we were protected from crocs and Jelly fish , crowded so difficult to feed the fish , even it is not easy to take photos as people keep coming in your photo range. a few fish of one type there which were very friendly, you can even touch... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Syed H
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

HI Syed, The actual volume of fish that come in to feed on the tides act as a natural barrier to the jelly fish although we do still keep a close eye out at certain times of the year. You're right - It can be tricky to get photos without people in them as often we have quite a few... More 

Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

If you've ever seen a fish before, then this attraction is not a 'must see' and expensive. But, if you haven't seen a fish before, then worth a visit as they come in close. We were expecting a wider variety of fish, but all just big grey ones.

Helpful?
Thank Ali B
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

There is a wide variety of fish that frequent Aquascene, the milkfish are a predominate visitor - unfortunately we have no control over what shows up on the day More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016

Seriously, don't bother going unless you've run out of things to do in Darwin. This place is equivalent to feeding bread to pigeons in the park. Only you pay $$ to do it.

Helpful?
Thank Blandis212
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Sorry to hear it wasn't your cup of tea :-( More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

If you do anything in Darwin, do this. Although this should be a government run, not private which I presumed it was? You will need to pay an entry fee and ignore the lack lustre dinky shop with Asian influence. If you can get past the above, it is one of the most memorable things to do. Wild ocean fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deb T
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Deb - really glad to hear you enjoyed feeding the fish. Many people don't realise that Aquascene is actually located in the backyard of a private residence - which is why it's not government run - and the entry fees simply cover the running costs - not sure if you noticed that there is some construction... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

$43 for an hour of feeding fish bread and we couldn't hear the commentary. Such a let down at the end of an amazing NT family trip where we have got great value for everything we have paid for. Also been lots of fantastic free activities. The NT Gvt or Darwin Council would be better off to make this an... More 

Helpful?
Thank cowjumpedoverthemoon
Aquascene, Marketing at Aquascene, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback - sorry to hear you didn't feel you got value for money. $43 is the cost for a family pass which is 2 adults and up to 3 children - we try to make what we offer as clear as possible - which is the opportunity to hand feed wild fish on the tides and your... More 

Travellers who viewed Aquascene also viewed

 

Been to Aquascene? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Aquascene and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Aquascene staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?