We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Top End Day Tours

Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
+61 1300 324 914
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Wouldn't bother.

I booked a day your to be picked up at 5am. After waiting 1.5 hours to be picked up I rang and... read more

Reviewed 21 September 2017
heays
via mobile
Arnemland Day tour

We waited for the tour bus to arrive for almost 2 hours. We were told by Top End Tours that this... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2017
lovetennis1951
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 63 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Top End Day Tours runs the one-day Arnhem Land Day Tour (formerly run by Lords) and is the only tour operator in the NT to run day tours from Darwin to Arnhem Land. For many, this tour is a once in a lifetime experience and opportunity to interact and learn about the oldest living culture in the world with local Aboriginal history. We visit and climb Injalak Hill which has some of western Arnhem Land’s most amazing rock art sites. We visit Injalak Art & Craft Centre where guests have the opportunity to browse or purchase goods from this non-profit Aboriginal organisation and watch local Aboriginal people painting and weaving pandanus baskets. With its stunning scenery of billabongs, birds, escarpment, Arnhem Land is truly a place where you can escape and experience this unique untouched haven of the Northern Territory. Tour includes all permits, Aboriginal guide, lunch and snacks.
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good9%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“injalak hill” (11 reviews)
“injalak arts” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 5:30 AM - 7:00 PM
LOCATION
Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia

Similar Things to Do in Darwin

Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

I booked a day your to be picked up at 5am. After waiting 1.5 hours to be picked up I rang and asked for a refund. What's the point in paying good money not be picked up. Or even a phone call.More

Thank heays
Ingrid H, Owner at Top End Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we treat your comments very seriously. We sincerely apologies for the 'rostering mix up' on your particular day tour. This has never happened before, and rest assured we wont let it happen again. We will not be requiring the services...More

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We waited for the tour bus to arrive for almost 2 hours. We were told by Top End Tours that this was because there had been a mix up with your guide rostas, entirely their fault. This did not go down well with my party....More

Thank lovetennis1951
Ingrid H, Owner at Top End Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we take your comments very seriously. It was a very unfortunate 'mix up' with our guides rostering, and rest assured we will not be using the service of this one particular guide any longer as a result. We pride ourselves...More

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Don't let the early start put you off, this is a tour not to be missed! We snoozed at the start then woke for the sunrise as we drove through the atmospheric Kakadu National Park. With a few stops along the way we could stretch...More

Thank Catherine C
Ingrid H, Owner at Top End Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Its so heartwarming to read such positive feedback. It definitely is an honor to visit Arnhem Land and witness the beauty and cultural history it has to offer. Its great to see you enjoyed your interaction with the local Indigenous artists at Injalak Arts Centre....More

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

One word - FABULOUS. Arnhem Land - fabulous Lauren our Guide- fabulous Aboriginal Guide - fabulous Overall Tour - exhaustingly fabulous. Vicki & Trevor DunnMore

Thank Sootie568
Ingrid H, Owner at Top End Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Fabulous feed back! Thanks so much for sharing your 'fabulous' experience with us. We are very lucky to have such fabulous guides and local Aboriginal guides to deliver such an amazing tour, in an amazing and untouched part of our country. Please share your experience...More

Reviewed 27 August 2017

Lauren was our guide for the trip to Injalaka and took us to the Injalaka Community Art Centre where we saw screen printing and painting. The painter was doing extremely fine art work with a single reed. Then Lauren and 2 indigenous guides, Raymond and...More

Thank jaked0g5
Ingrid H, Owner at Top End Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're thrilled you had a thoroughly memorable experience on our Arnhem Land day tour. We are certainly privileged to have the opportunity to visit, and be a part of, the local Gunbalayna Aboriginal community...More

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Had a fabulous day, beautiful people, country, and rock art sites. Respectful to the indigenous owners and some wonderful art produced and available at the Injalak arts centre supporting the community. Thx Petra, Christi and CraigMore

Thank Kim P
Ingrid H, Owner at Top End Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

We are thrilled you enjoyed your Arnhem Land experience, and finished the day with wonderful memories of your visit to one of the most timeless and untouched areas of our country. It is a credit to the local Aboriginal community with such a wonderful Arts...More

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic rock art, a small easy scramble over big rocks and you're in an ancient art gallery...it is mesmerising! A full day with a delicious fresh lunch - even gluten free breads. Then the finale was a wild croc extravaganza at high tide on the...More

1  Thank Nellie N
Ingrid H, Owner at Top End Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thanks for you wonderful feedback - we would love to have your company again on one of our Arnhem Land Day Tours! It certainly is a sensory overload, leaving you with fond memories of the days experience in a timeless part of our country. I'm...More

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We joined the tour at Jabiru after a wonderful 3 day Kakadu trip with Territory Expeditions. (Do It this way if you can, rather than as a big one-day trip out of Darwin). The journey into Arnhem Land was incredible. After Cahill's Crossing the landscape...More

Thank Julie H
Ingrid H, Owner at Top End Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

It's wonderful to receive such heartwarming feedback from our guests. I'm so glad you have taken away some wonderful memories from your Arnhem Land experience. We are truly blessed to visit this timeless part of our country, guided by expert local Aboriginals and dedicated Top...More

Reviewed 19 July 2017

Early start but you can snooze on the bus. This is a great day trip into Arnhem Land, which is just amazing. A local guided us on the Hill tour and showed us such wonderful rock art, that just amazes you at every turn. The...More

Thank Jill A
Ingrid H, Owner at Top End Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thanks so much for your review. Yes - it is a big day (from Darwin) but well worth it when you look back at the memorable experience. We are so honored to share the amazing sights with the traditional land owners and learn about the...More

Reviewed 17 July 2017

Did the one day Injalak Hill Day tour in June 2017. It was great. There are few opportunities to readily enter Arnhem Land so this trip provided that opportunity. Joined the trip at Jabiru which was good - from Darwin it's a long day trip....More

Thank mtt54
Ingrid H, Manager at Top End Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Wow - thanks so much for the very detailed review. Its so heartwarming to read such positive feedback. It definitely is an honor to visit Arnhem Land and witness the beauty and cultural history it has to offer. Its great to see you enjoyed your...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Border Store in Kakadu
169 reviews
14.78 km away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
123 reviews
44.07 km away
Escarpment
120 reviews
44.99 km away
Jabiru Sports and Social Club
105 reviews
44.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Arnhemlander 4WD Cultural Tour
108 reviews
9.22 km away
Ubirr
630 reviews
14.48 km away
The Scenic Flight Company Kakadu
217 reviews
40.50 km away
Nourlangie
640 reviews
45.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
255060Kathy
19 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from paulered | Reviewed this property |
The terrain is uneven - so certainly need a good pair of sand shoes - or maybe walking boots to support the ankle or strap the ankles. The guides are excellent and take it slow and are helpful with finding the easiest path... More
1
Vote
John F
20 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ingrid H | Property representative |
Yes it departs at 0530, look at the Book Now button on our website it has all availability and pick details, costs etc.
0
Votes
Amy G
30 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ingrid H | Property representative |
Good morning - our apologies for the delay in replying but we have been travelling back from Africa ! Apologies but we don't operate in February due to the monsoon season. Please try contacting Tourism Top End for a list... More
0
Votes