We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travellers Autobarn

1C McPherson St, Sydney, New South Wales 2019, Australia
+61 1800 674 374
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Undoubtedly the best road trip

We had high expectations for New Zealand, but I have to admit this country has surpassed them, and... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
JaviLorbada
,
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Near death experience in Christchurch NZ. Bullied into driving faulty van.

We had an incredibly stressful and disappointing experience with Travellers Autobarn Christchurch... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Avery C
Read all 83 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good9%
  • Average4%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible31%
Travellers talk about
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
1C McPherson St, Sydney, New South Wales 2019, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 1800 674 374
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sydney
from US$ 11.30
More Info
from US$ 10.50
More Info
from US$ 10.50
More Info
from US$ 66.90
More Info
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"station wagon"
in 8 reviews
"fully equipped with everything"
in 2 reviews
"cooking stove"
in 2 reviews
"camping gear"
in 2 reviews
"great road"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 3 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"van"
in 39 reviews
"toyota"
in 5 reviews
"equipment"
in 13 reviews
"000km"
in 2 reviews
"australia"
in 19 reviews
"freedom"
in 3 reviews
"aussie"
in 4 reviews
"tank"
in 2 reviews
"oz"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We had high expectations for New Zealand, but I have to admit this country has surpassed them, and that’s highly thanks to our Van from Travellers-Autobarn, we drove for more than 7000 km, through the most remote and iconic locations, in great and not so...More

Thank JaviLorbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an incredibly stressful and disappointing experience with Travellers Autobarn Christchurch NZ after booking one of their vans via the recommendation of a travel agent for a 10 day trip around the south island. The trip started off smoothly and we were thrilled with...More

Thank Avery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at Travellers Autobarn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Avery, Here's the response below that we've posted to all of your other attempts at trolling Travellers Autobarn. "Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your road trip with us. It’s very tricky situation when you have...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

We did a 41 days trip with a Travellers Autobarn stationwagon. The only good thing was the engine worked fine during the whole trip. Apart from that we had problems with almost all the equipment (esky, cooker, bottoms in the car to open the back...More

Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at Travellers Autobarn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Teresa L, Thank you for your feedback. Very glad to hear the car served you well. Sincere apologies for the issues with the camping gear. This is unacceptable. We do permit renters to buy items along the way if needed and we reimburse at...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

I booked a stationwagon from travellers autobarn for a month to travel from perth to darwin. When I went to pick it up I had to wait 2 and a half hours for them to get the car ready, not that big of a deal...More

3  Thank gingersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at Travellers Autobarn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Gingersen, Very sorry about all the issues regarding communication. We have reviewed your case and it's clear we could have done better. We are now looking at ways to improve the handling of issues that are compounded by different time zones and weekends. We...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Me and two friends rented a Toyota Hiace (the Kuga three-berth option) from Travellers Autobarn and drove down the East Coast of Australia from Cairns all the way to Sydney over the course of five weeks. Sure, you could do the East Coast via hostels...More

Thank Josh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful 2-week trip in a station wagon rented from Travellers Autobarn. We weren't really familiar with the different rental companies in Australia but after contacting a few we decided on Travellers Autobarn. From booking our rental to pick up...More

Thank Traveling_KC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We spend 3 weeks driving down the coast from Brisbane to Melbourne and had the best time ever. The Kuga camper van was spacious enough for three girls and all their luggage and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need for a great road...More

Thank gretab99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at Travellers Autobarn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you Gretab99, Great feedback! Much appreciated. Hope to see you again. Peter Burke Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We picked up the kuga camper in Melbourne for our 2 week drive to Sydney the scenic route, the initial process was good, the van was a bit tired, I took photos and included what I could of the roof ( this appears to be...More

Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Good experience renting from Autobarn, everything as expected and good value for money. We rented a station wagon with camping gear - which was all new - for a short road trip Sydney-Canberra and back, had a great time! Special thanks to Toni-Anne as well,...More

Thank Wim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We spent 4 weeks driving up the east coast with Travellers and the HI Top 5 had everything we needed for 3 adults. We made the mistake to not book anything before going to Sydney and the day before we had to leave the city,...More

Thank Mrtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 187 hotels in Sydney
The Branksome Hotel & Residences
97 reviews
3.47 km away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
2,295 reviews
3.51 km away
Mantra Hotel at Sydney Airport
134 reviews
3.54 km away
Felix Hotel
175 reviews
3.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Croquembouche Patisserie
19 reviews
.71 km away
Brasserie Bread
55 reviews
.18 km away
Botannix Garden Cafe
51 reviews
1.13 km away
Pier Hotel
11 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Westfield Eastgardens
36 reviews
1.92 km away
Bondi Helicopters
58 reviews
2.59 km away
Captain Cook Hotel
9 reviews
2.00 km away
Botany Aquatic Centre
5 reviews
2.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tombromley
27 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Peter B | Property representative |
Hi There, If you like your tent, and it's no hassle to bring it then, I'd say bring it. Ours are just plain and simple 2 person dome tents. Not special. Cheers Q&A is best done via our email or website.
0
Votes
Kasper L
20 August 2016|
Answer
Response from TimJamesThree |
Hi you guys and you should be able to get it for a cheaper price than this! All the campervan companies get real nervous when it comes to November in Cairns! Remember Christmas in Sydney is the busiest time of the year for... More
0
Votes
;