We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matlock Meadows

#14 of 45 things to do in Matlock Features Animals
Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 2JG, England
+44 1629 760596
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Lush treat

The ice cream is amazing and it's a little something different that doesn't require a tonne of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Katie G
via mobile
The best ice-cream I've ever tasted

A few years ago my husband and I went on holiday to Florence and bought we'd eaten the best... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Matlockmummy
,
Matlock, United Kingdom
Read all 128 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Matlock Meadows is a modern purpose built ice cream parlour and coffee shop set within a working dairy farm. The farm has diversified by making italian style hand made ice cream here on the farm using the fresh milk from our dairy herd. The coffee shop serves 15 flavours of ice cream, also sorbet's, ice cream sundaes, a range of hot and cold drinks and snacks, giftware and local produce. We have a small outdoor play area and in the adjacent field and barn we have a micro pig, sheep, chickens, cows and calves. We are a real working dairy farm rather than a major visitor attraction. We do not charge any entrance fees and therefore rely on the income generated from the shop sales to maintain our facilities which include outside play area, free car parking, toilets, and baby changing. The farm has disabled access and facilites and can accommodate educational group/school visits also childrens birthday parties.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good31%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“working farm” (21 reviews)
“play area” (16 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 2JG, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1629 760596
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The ice cream is amazing and it's a little something different that doesn't require a tonne of money. Overall I think the idea of Matlock Meadows is a very good one. 🙂

Thank Katie G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A few years ago my husband and I went on holiday to Florence and bought we'd eaten the best ice-cream ever there...no way, the best ice-cream is at Matlock Meadows especially the Turkish Delight flavour. We live nearby and go after school on sunny days...More

1  Thank Matlockmummy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We needed to stop off some where on the way home and we saw a sign just near the Salisbury in matlock so we decided to try it. The farm area was a little sparce but there were animals and the play ground is big...More

1  Thank Spinkyminky
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Matlock Meadows with our 23 month old granddaughter. It is in a lovely quiet setting. We enjoyed a delicious lunch outside ~ the coffee shop offering a good choice on the menu - we had a delicious lunch outside!...More

1  Thank cmd212017
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Very disappointed when visiting today. We are a family with 4 adults a 3 year old and a 1 year old. After spending a fair amount on sundaes we were appalled to be expected to pay a further £2 each for the toddlers to play...More

Thank Lynne W
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

What a shame your review seems to be of the only 2 things for which there is a charge. We are actually an ice cream parlour, coffee shop and working dairy farm of which your review mentions nothing and would normally be the reason for...More

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Recently took my little girl here for ice cream and to see the farm animals. She absolutely loved it! The food was great and so were the staff and facilities! Will go back again soon and would recommend it to anyone with young children.

1  Thank lucy0811
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review - we are really pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your visit. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon. Regards Mandy Dakin

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

To be honest, until Matlock Cricket Club had made it known a junior event was supported by Matlock Meadows, I didn't know of it's existence. It's a cross between a coffee shop, an ice cream parlour and child's farm yard, with various animals in smaller...More

1  Thank Portlandfarm
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate the feedback. Really glad you enjoyed the raspberry ripple. Regards Mandy Dakin

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Not worth spending more than an hour here really. Not a lot to see. A couple of cows and that's about it. The ice cream was very nice. Shame about the extras that you have to pay for certain things like the soft play and...More

1  Thank kat1789
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

After visiting the website, have to say when we got there it was a bit disappointing A few animals outside, and a couple of cows with their calves inside, but that was it Small cafe, but not much choice, and a very strong smell of...More

Thank Gemma W
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

I am really sorry you were disappointed with our farm, cafe, and ice cream parlour. We do not promote ourselves as anything more than a working dairy farm, cafe and play area. We do not charge any admission fee and hence do not class ourselves...More

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Delicious ice cream and with the added bonus of a few animals and a play area for kids. The warm waffles are recommended!

1  Thank Tiggia
Amanda D, Owner at Matlock Meadows, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Many thanks for your review we are really pleased you enjoyed the ice cream and waffles Mandy Dakin

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Stones Restaurant
732 reviews
1.22 km away
Viva Italian
910 reviews
1.25 km away
The Green Way Cafe
196 reviews
1.18 km away
High Tor Hotel Restaurant and Bar
55 reviews
1.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hall Leys Park
134 reviews
1.47 km away
Peak Rail
225 reviews
1.10 km away
Nine Ladies Stone Circle
60 reviews
1.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
chris b
13 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Amanda D | Property representative |
Hi Chris, thanks for your enquiry, not sure why you would think we are expensive, our ice creams start at £1.50 for a child's teddy cone, £2.00 for a single cone/tub and £3.00 for a double cone/tub. Our ice cream is all hand... More
1
Vote
EliMHants
7 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Amanda D | Property representative |
Hi our ice cream is not lactose free as we use our own cows milk, but we do always have a lactose free sorbet available for those who are unable to have cows milk, the flavour varies but currently its a red berry sorbet... More
0
Votes