We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bakewell Old House Museum

| Cunningham Place, Off North Church Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DD, England
+44 1629 813642
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Little gem

On a recent trip to Bakewell, there's a sign for the best museum award. So we followed the signs... read more

Reviewed 11 July 2017
John R
,
Crewe
Hidden Gem

This place is steeped In history from the past few centuries. Have to give credit to the volunteers... read more

Reviewed 9 July 2017
Matthew Y
,
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 179 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Atmospheric Tudor building with a large collection of eclectic items. Tudor rooms with massive open fireplaces, wattle and daub screens, beamed ceilings. Over 9,500 items to see and some you can touch. Lots of hands on activities for children, dressing up box, award winning RAT trail, quizzes, courtyard games. So much to see and enjoy for the whole family. Special events lists (see website). Group and school bookings by arrangement. Weekly guided walks of Bakewell Town - "Secrets and Legends" full of fascinating facts and details of Bakewell through the ages. All walks meet at the Peak information centre in Bakewell Town. Thursdays at 2pm. First Sunday of every month 5pm.
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 11:00 - 16:00
LOCATION
| Cunningham Place, Off North Church Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DD, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1629 813642

Similar Things to Do in Bakewell

Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

On a recent trip to Bakewell, there's a sign for the best museum award. So we followed the signs wondering how far is it, as this is all up bank and nothing resembling a museum in sight, eventually we found it. Entrance fee £4.50 each...More

Thank John R
anitaspencer, Manager at Bakewell Old House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review. We do advice visitors to allow extra parking time in order to not rush your museum visit.

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

This place is steeped In history from the past few centuries. Have to give credit to the volunteers what help to keep this place running. On visiting bakewell it is worth a visit for people of all ages, to see items of years gone by...More

Thank Matthew Y
anitaspencer, Manager at Bakewell Old House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you so much. We value our volunteers who put in hours in order that we can stay open. So pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 9 July 2017

This fantastic museum is crammed with an eclectic mix of interesting things. Packed with memories, costumes, a door from the time of Henry VIII that you can touch and much more, it's a great place to visit. They cater for kids too, with a rat...More

Thank GlutenfreeJJ
anitaspencer, Manager at Bakewell Old House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for you review. We do take some finding as we are tucked away.

Reviewed 6 July 2017

we visited Bakewell museum with our local group we all found it thoroughly enjoyable and very interesting, it was prebooked a lunch of a lovely selection of mixed baps cheese fresh fruit and delicious cake was provided with as much tea or coffee as you...More

Thank JESSIE E
anitaspencer, Manager at Bakewell Old House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

We love entertaining groups and so pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 29 June 2017

This is a gem, for which both my father and I spent a hugely enjoyable time exploring and discovering some wonderful gems. A fascinating place. Well worth visiting again.

Thank ACMorward
anitaspencer, Manager at Bakewell Old House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope you can get back sometime. Your entrance ticket lasts for 1 year from the date of purchase so hope you come and see us again. Thank you.

Reviewed 13 June 2017

This little museum is certainly well worth a visit & good value too. The introductory video explained the house's history well & the staff (volunteers?) were very welcoming and knowledgeable. The museum is full of unexpected treasures, not least a Tudor toilet. We certainly enjoyed...More

Thank Rosanna M
anitaspencer, Manager at Bakewell Old House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Reviewed 5 June 2017

The staff were all warm and welcoming and very accommodating. Although the peak district contains many outdoor tourist attractions this museum is indoors and great for rainy days. The place itself is fairly small but packed full of interesting and hands on exhibits. Children are...More

Thank johnclothier2002
anitaspencer, Manager at Bakewell Old House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you so much for your very positive review. Children seem to love our little museum and especially enjoy the trails. The dolls house is very old and on loan. The owner asked that it be played with which is great fun for children.

Reviewed 25 May 2017

We really liked this interesting little museum. Set on a hill behind the church (also worth a visit), the house is fascinating in its own right, but it's also packed with fascinating artefacts from all periods. A thoroughly engaging collection.

Thank Tripper055
anitaspencer, Manager at Bakewell Old House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you so much. The collection has been build up, from donations, over the last 60 years. Something for everyone to enjoy and we are so please that you had an interesting time here.

Reviewed 15 May 2017

This small museum was recommended by someone in the Tourist Information Centre and it didn't disappoint. The house itself has an interesting history and only just survived demolition - all described in the introductory video. The collections are quite eclectic and I particularly enjoyed the...More

1  Thank Chris E
anitaspencer, Manager at Bakewell Old House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you so much for your review.

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Hidden away, but well worth a visit. Costs next to nothing which is rare these days. Lovely way to spend an afternoon.

Thank philh67
anitaspencer, Manager at Bakewell Old House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for your review and very pleased that you find us a reasonable price. Your ticket does last for a year so we hope to see you again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Piedaniel's Restaurant
473 reviews
.31 km away
Ricci's
536 reviews
.36 km away
Lavender Tea Rooms
636 reviews
.30 km away
Because I Like It
125 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
River Wye
85 reviews
.50 km away
All Saints Church
104 reviews
.14 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
71 reviews
.80 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nicola S
19 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from anitaspencer | Property representative |
Just £4.50. Per adult ticket lasts one year
0
Votes
Daniella T
9 November 2016|
Answer
Response from anitaspencer | Property representative |
Oooops so sorry that i did not see your ?. The museum is open every day from 25th March to 5th November. So sorry we would not have been open on the 9th Nov.
1
Vote