We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gwili Railway

| Bronwydd Arms Station, Carmarthen SA33 6HT, Wales
+44 1267 238213
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great Day Out

Even though the train stations are all a little bit tired we had a great day with the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Russell D
,
Maidstone
Very disappointed

After being very disappointed with this experience we emailed them to let them know our concerns... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Cayce C
via mobile
Read all 468 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Take a step back in time at the Gwili Steam Railway, a delightful preserved railway just outside Carmarthen in West Wales. Running steam train services every day of local school holidays and selected days throughout the remainder of the year, this is the perfect trip for all ages to enjoy. Experience a typical country branch line from the 1950s with a stop off at Llwyfan Cerrig Station in a beautiful spot alongside the River Gwili.
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“signal box” (48 reviews)
“cream tea” (40 reviews)
“scones” (24 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
| Bronwydd Arms Station, Carmarthen SA33 6HT, Wales
CONTACT
Website
Call
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Even though the train stations are all a little bit tired we had a great day with the children, Easter bunny and free eggs for the little Ines was a nice touch as was the ballon bending, face painting and magician. The mini train was...More

Thank Russell D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After being very disappointed with this experience we emailed them to let them know our concerns, the response we had was very poor as if they just send out the same email to every complaint they receive. Hello, We have been to the Gwili Railway...More

Thank Cayce C
Fiona E, Front Office Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I can assure you that the response we gave you was not a standard reply. Time and effort was taken in replying to your concerns, I can reiterate: There was colouring and a magician to entertain the children whilst queuing....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a really enjoyable experience. The staff, who I assume are giving up their time to do this were without exception helpful and polite. The gifts that Santa gave to my awestruck 2 and 1 year old grandsons were of a decent quality. I...More

Thank SimonRichard56
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A wonderful afternoon out. Our 2 year old loved it. The only suggestion I'd make is to have a larger shelter to wait for the trains in the rain. Very welcoming staff and great service.

Thank TTilly37
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We visited today with 4 family members and 2 children under 2. The train ride was a journey back in time and the children made choo choo noises as we approached the station to see santa. The children and adults loved the train. On arrival...More

Thank Charlotte W
Reviewed 15 December 2017

A fantastic August bank holiday birthday treat, for a friends son. Two families got together to enjoy this amazing gem of steam experience. All of us absolutely loved the day out. The little train ride, the big trains, the other exhibits and the views all...More

Thank danfoster40
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

I wasnt really sure what to expect but i left feeling dissapointed and didnt feel the experience was value for money. On arrival went to the toilets at the station, they were very dirty. The train was nice and although obviously old was also dirty,...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GwiliRailway, Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We are sorry your visit was not what you expected, the majority of our customers are repeat visitors and know what to expect, we have had many nice and positive reviews. We don't rush anyone in the marquee as we know everyone wants to see...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Visited yesterday with our two 2 yr old Grandsons ! Interesting, they both loved the train ride immensely and kept making the choo choo noises ! Great afternoon, although they both cried with Santa!!!! but both loved their Quality gifts.More

Thank ew6460
GwiliRailway, Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope they enjoy Santa on future visits and we we try hard to choose toys from Santa's special list. We hope you can visit us next year on other events and we have a lovely family event at...More

Reviewed 4 December 2017

great little railway unfortunately limited in size by the highway ramp/embankment. Good reasonably priced experience with friendly helpful staffMore

Thank Wynne T
GwiliRailway, Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Our staff are mainly volunteers and appreciate you liked the event. We are working hard to change a few things and with more visitors we can plough your tickets sales back into making the Abergwili site better. Our new shed appeal will remedy this and...More

Reviewed 3 December 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit today to take the steam train to see Santa. We took our three year old grand-daughter and the magic for her began when we received the tickets in the post a few days after I had booked online. All the staff...More

Thank keldan1
GwiliRailway, Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review, just wait till you see what we have instore for future events, including Santa. I am creating new events to get the funds we need to make the facilities better, watch our website and Facebook for updates. We'd...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Carmarthen
Castle Hotel
1 review
3.75 km away
Spilman Hotel
482 reviews
3.96 km away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
449 reviews
3.99 km away
Boar's Head Hotel
212 reviews
4.04 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Black Ox
39 reviews
3.68 km away
The New Curiosity
38 reviews
3.89 km away
Ginger
470 reviews
3.91 km away
Dhaka Indian & Bangladeshi Restaurant
104 reviews
3.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
Carmarthen Market
77 reviews
3.90 km away
Carmarthen Castle
138 reviews
4.10 km away
Carmarthenshire County Museum
89 reviews
3.83 km away
Gwili Pottery
36 reviews
2.83 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dafydd L
6 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Russell D | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately I haven’t had the Sunday dinner so cannot comment
-1
Votes
25 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GwiliRailway | Property representative |
Yes no problem we only charge £1.50, but be aware it will be very busy.
2
Votes
Sarah D
27 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Fiona E | Property representative |
Hello there Yes we are running this Saturday as far as I can say. Timetable is 11.00, 12.20,13.50 and 15.15. Hope to see you then.
0
Votes