We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bodiam Boating Station
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
All photos (104)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good15%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“boat trip”(22 reviews)
“fire pit”(12 reviews)
“steam train”(15 reviews)
Affordable, fun family days out. Tranquil river cruises to Nat Trust Bodiam Castle. Mess about on the river in kayak/rowing boat/canoe/SUP. Stay in our small campsite; campfires encouraged. Enjoy hearty breakfast, lunch (speciality Spanish Tapas) or...more
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Riverside Cottage Rye Road | A268, Newenden TN18 5PP, England
+44 1797 253838
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip fire pit steam train night camping trip fantastic spot riverside location friendly owners and staff white hart nothing too much trouble row boat full english open countryside cafe bar life vests hot sunny day a great stay couple of hours
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic breakfast menu. Lunches also good. Not an enormous menu but everything we have had has been good. Daily specials are worth.a try.

Thank Bemebeme
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We had a chance to do the river cruise on a most beautiful October day it was an absolute delight,so reasonably priced and staff so lovely Danni Lee was just perfect for this,how lucky are we to have fantastic places like this in the U.K....More

Thank baywhey
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words- makes all the hard work worthwhile! Look forward to seeing you again here soon I hope.

Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We recently visited Bodiam Boating Station for a 2 night camping trip, we had a new tent to try out and wanted to see how our young grandsons 3 & 18 months would like camping. All the staff were welcoming and helpful, we had a...More

Thank Stephanie S
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We pre booked online for a kayaking trip last saturday from start to finish we were looked after really well we were safe in the knowledge that our chevy van was in safe hands whilst we enjoyed the water. The experience was amazing so much...More

Thank Emma C
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

We took the boat and had lunch at The Lime Wharf Cafe. Boat trip was lovely,the staff were friendly, the food was wonderful and we shall certainly go again & would highly recommend it.

Thank Marion M
BodiamBoatingStation, Manager at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. So pleased to hear you enjoyed the boat trip and lunch, I hope this means you will be visiting us again soon!

Reviewed 11 August 2018

We started to phone first thing in the morning , kept trying ( on redial as well) for 2 hours . . . .no one answered... , line busy . . . . We gave up ... We are amazed at the lack of professionalism...More

Thank barbaramachuca2018
BodiamBoatingStation, Manager at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

I'm sorry to hear you couldn't get through to us. We are answering the phones constantly from 8.30-6pm hence the line was busy. We picked up every phone call yesterday and if we were ignoring calls, the phone would have kept ringing. This is not...More

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We went as a family from 3 generations for a afternoon out . We took a picnic which we are at the cricket ground about 3 minutes walk from the boat station. The premises had a lovely quaint cafe with indoor and outdoor seating and...More

Thank Angela H
Vanessa F, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

So pleased you enjoyed your trip. The weather has taken us all by surprise, but today's reprieve has been welcome by many! We do have a cover for the boat, but it's a three man job to put it on and take it off and...More

Reviewed 6 August 2018

Whilst the attraction has a lot to offer - cafe, boat hire, camping, put in point for River Rother, car park and access to ferry it needs to improve communication. A group of friends planned to launch our own boats and were told that we...More

Thank nodrog270
Vanessa F, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

It's a shame you are complaining about this. It really is very straight forward. Your group leader and I had several lengthy conversations about this days before your arrival and it appears that what we'd agreed hadn't been communicated with the entire group. I know...More

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful way to spend an evening with friends. Thoroughly enjoyed the tranquillity and serenity on this river cruise. We took our own picnic, even preparing our delicious scones whilst taking in the beautiful scenery. It was very relaxing and would highly recommend. Capt....More

Thank colleenc43
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

You’re very welcome! So glad you enjoyed the trip & picnic. Couldn’t have had better weather either! See you guys again soon, I hope

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

My family (16 of us) done the sunset river cruise last Saturday, charged at £20pp which I felt was quite overpriced for what it is. We also chose to have the lime wharf cafe provide the picnic food for us, charged at £10pp. After having...More

Thank Megwunn
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry you felt the three hour sunset cruise was overpriced. We've not put our price up since starting these trips in 2014 and with such a short season, we are limited on how many...More

View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
898 reviews
7.42 km away
The George Hotel
364 reviews
9.40 km away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
776 reviews
10.10 km away
Little Silver Country Hotel
788 reviews
10.18 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
Lime Wharf Cafe
177 reviews
1.63 km away
Sahebs Indian Restaurant
162 reviews
1.91 km away
The White Dog Inn
334 reviews
4.11 km away
The Bull Inn
272 reviews
4.31 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 2 nearby attractions
Great Dixter House & Gardens
541 reviews
2.72 km away
Bodiam Castle
1,768 reviews
4.22 km away
Oxney Organic Estate
13 reviews
5.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Julia R
21 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vanessa F | Property representative |
I’m so sorry I’ve only just seen this. We’re looking into an online booking app but in the meantime please call ahead or fill out (short) booking form on our website. Thank you
8 May 2017|
Response from Vanessa F | Property representative |
Yes, of course! Dogs ride for free and you are welcome to bring your dog into the cafe & garden - we even sell doggy frozen yoghurt!! Hope to see you soon
30 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from BodiamBoatingStation | Property representative |
Hi, we have 3 separate rooms attached to the cafe, each with wc, shower cubicle & sink. There's a separate block in the campsite with 2 X wc & 2 X urinals. Hope this helpd