We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Absolutely wonderful day

We took the boat and had lunch at The Lime Wharf Cafe. Boat trip was lovely,the staff were... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Marion M
,
Croydon, United Kingdom
via mobile
A lovely trip

We went as a family from 3 generations for a afternoon out . We took a picnic which we are at the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Angela H
,
south east
via mobile
Read all 178 reviews
104
All photos (104)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good15%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“boat trip”(20 reviews)
“steam train”(15 reviews)
About
Affordable, fun family days out. Tranquil river cruises to Nat Trust Bodiam Castle. Mess about on the river in kayak/rowing boat/canoe/SUP. Stay in our small campsite; campfires encouraged. Enjoy hearty breakfast, lunch (speciality Spanish Tapas) or...more
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Riverside Cottage Rye Road | A268, Newenden TN18 5PP, England
Website
+44 1797 253838
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
135
27
9
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
135
27
9
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat tripsteam trainfantastic spotriverside locationfriendly owners and staffwhite hartlife vestsrow boatnothing too much troublefull englishopen countrysidecafe barhot sunny daycouple of hoursa great staycamping experiencefood was lovely
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We took the boat and had lunch at The Lime Wharf Cafe. Boat trip was lovely,the staff were friendly, the food was wonderful and we shall certainly go again & would highly recommend it.

Thank Marion M
BodiamBoatingStation, Manager at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. So pleased to hear you enjoyed the boat trip and lunch, I hope this means you will be visiting us again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We started to phone first thing in the morning , kept trying ( on redial as well) for 2 hours . . . .no one answered... , line busy . . . . We gave up ... We are amazed at the lack of professionalism...More

Thank barbaramachuca2018
BodiamBoatingStation, Manager at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry to hear you couldn't get through to us. We are answering the phones constantly from 8.30-6pm hence the line was busy. We picked up every phone call yesterday and if we were ignoring calls, the phone would have kept ringing. This is not...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went as a family from 3 generations for a afternoon out . We took a picnic which we are at the cricket ground about 3 minutes walk from the boat station. The premises had a lovely quaint cafe with indoor and outdoor seating and...More

Thank Angela H
Vanessa F, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So pleased you enjoyed your trip. The weather has taken us all by surprise, but today's reprieve has been welcome by many! We do have a cover for the boat, but it's a three man job to put it on and take it off and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst the attraction has a lot to offer - cafe, boat hire, camping, put in point for River Rother, car park and access to ferry it needs to improve communication. A group of friends planned to launch our own boats and were told that we...More

Thank nodrog270
Vanessa F, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It's a shame you are complaining about this. It really is very straight forward. Your group leader and I had several lengthy conversations about this days before your arrival and it appears that what we'd agreed hadn't been communicated with the entire group. I know...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful way to spend an evening with friends. Thoroughly enjoyed the tranquillity and serenity on this river cruise. We took our own picnic, even preparing our delicious scones whilst taking in the beautiful scenery. It was very relaxing and would highly recommend. Capt....More

Thank colleenc43
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You’re very welcome! So glad you enjoyed the trip & picnic. Couldn’t have had better weather either! See you guys again soon, I hope

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family (16 of us) done the sunset river cruise last Saturday, charged at £20pp which I felt was quite overpriced for what it is. We also chose to have the lime wharf cafe provide the picnic food for us, charged at £10pp. After having...More

Thank Megwunn
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry you felt the three hour sunset cruise was overpriced. We've not put our price up since starting these trips in 2014 and with such a short season, we are limited on how many...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful place. We enjoyed a boat tour to Bodium Castle. 1h row boat, then 2h kayak adventure on a lovely quiet river, lots of wildlife. Enjoyable evening swim in the river. The campsite amenities are clean and easy to use. The cafe food...More

Thank JenJacko
BodiamBoatingStation, Manager at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm so pleased you took advantage of everything we offer here, you had a go at everything by the sounds of things! We hope to see a booking for next year soon!

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We rented 5 kayaks for a hr. and loved it. Easy parking by the Cafe. Walk to the small dock and the boys help you in the kayak. Life vests included. We started paddling left, which was a better call. There are boats to the...More

Thank WalkingInLA
Vanessa F, Manager at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Yes, definitely agree that sun cream is a must - especially with all the hot glorious weather we've been having! Hope to see you all...More

Reviewed 29 June 2018

The river here is quite ordinary and the banks are quite steep so some commentary about it would make the trip much more enjoyable. The boat is a former lifeboat. It is advertised as having a canopy to protect from sun and rain. This was...More

1  Thank DaveJJenk
Vanessa F, Manager at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately the banks are something we cannot do anything about, and the low river level due to the heatwave is making them higher! We hope you still enjoyed the serenity and wildlife the river has to offer. The canopy has...More

Reviewed 6 June 2018

Really enjoyed time on the boat and received excellent service. As I had an arthritic knee was pleased to get the help I needed to get in and out of the boat each time. Thankyou.

1  Thank Marilyn M
Vanessa F, Manager at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review Marilyn. We are always here to help and hope to have you visit us again soon.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Julia R
21 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Bin1945 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure best phone them before you travel
0
Votes
places2seeplaces2go
8 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Vanessa F | Property representative |
Yes, of course! Dogs ride for free and you are welcome to bring your dog into the cafe & garden - we even sell doggy frozen yoghurt!! Hope to see you soon
1
Vote
Sea_Pea_Bee
30 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from BodiamBoatingStation | Property representative |
Hi, we have 3 separate rooms attached to the cafe, each with wc, shower cubicle & sink. There's a separate block in the campsite with 2 X wc & 2 X urinals. Hope this helpd
1
Vote