We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Ghost Walk

St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
+44 1592 874449
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A Must See!

Do not miss this! Our guide was amazing! Funny! Spooky! Very interesting. I am so glad we did... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Athena H
,
Nashville, Tennessee
via mobile
Ghost walk.

Went on the ghost walk on the dismal night of the 19th of July. Absolutely fabulous! The 'Happy... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Lorraine C
via mobile
Read all 242 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stirling Ghost Walk - now nearing it's twenty-fifth year - is a guided dramatic guided tour of Stirling's historic Old Town, using comedy and drama to recount frightful tales from the history and folklore of the area. Tours run at 8.30pm, Tuesday-to-Saturday in July and August, each year, and at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays from September-to-June - all tours meeting at the gates of the Old Town Jail / SYHA Hostel in St John Street, Stirling. Private bookings are available throughout the year - and a 10% discount offered to patrons of local hotels, hostels and B&Bs.Visit our website or Facebook for details and updates.
  • Excellent93%
  • Very good4%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“jock rankin” (15 reviews)
“ghost stories” (13 reviews)
LOCATION
St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1592 874449
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Do not miss this! Our guide was amazing! Funny! Spooky! Very interesting. I am so glad we did this! Cash only if you pay at tour time.

Thank Athena H
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you, Athena. I hope the family enjoyed their time in Scotland - and that the little lass enjoys 'Haunted Stirling'!

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went on the ghost walk on the dismal night of the 19th of July. Absolutely fabulous! The 'Happy Hangman' was witty and obviously passionate about his subject and certainly didn't let the weather slow him down. Hats off to Mr Kinnaird ... and Bernard. A...More

Thank Lorraine C
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you, Lorraine. The night of the 19th was, indeed, vile - torrential rain, chilly winds, grey skies....a great 'dark and stormy night' for the spooks! We don't cancel for rain, though...and the 38 people who showed up that evening retained their good humour throughout....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We met the cheeky old Hangman last Tuesday Evening 4th July and had a great time. Our kids ranged from 8 to 18 and it was perfect for them also. Outstanding job done by the Hangman using loads of humour and banter with everyone to...More

Thank scott m
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks, Scott. From the silly to the scary...there are local tales to entertain boys and ghouls of ALL ages!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Entertaining from start to finish! Loved the cheeky banter! Great value for money- tour lasted about 1hr 30min and worth more than its very reasonable price.More

Thank philip r
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks, Philip. You must have been on that rather large group which launched the summer season...the Hangman tries to keep to 75 minutes, but if the boys and ghouls are enjoying themselves he just keeps on hauntin'! We deliberately keep our prices low to encourage...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have gone on many ghost walks in many places and this is definitely a favorite! Joch Rankin does an outstanding job! He is quite entertaining! Stirling provides the perfect setting. You must do this when visiting Stirling!

1  Thank cindylondon15
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks, Cindy! Glad we could create a few happy memories of Stirling.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The horrid historical figure of hangman jock rankin walked us round telling tales of ugly deeds past. The tour was interesting as it was entertaining and educational. With great wit, humour and a powerful command of language he engages the whole group and keeps your...More

Thank jamie976
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks, Jamie. It's always nice to be appreciated.

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

This is by far the best Ghost Tour Walk. Myself and my partner were a little early so walked through the old graveyard. That is where we first encountered our host. Dressed the part strolling through the headstones. There was only half a dozen of...More

1  Thank Julie S
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you, Julie. I'm glad you enjoyed the show. Whether we're performing to a huge audience or to a solitary visitor - if there's an audience, the show goes ahead! - we try to engage as many of them as possible. We hope you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 6 May 2017

The Stirling ghost walk is a great way to pass an evening in Stirling. The host Jock Rankin is always dressed in period costume and cuts a fine figure as he struts through the town. His knowledge of his subject is excellent and delivery is...More

Thank Friars_Wynd_Team
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you, folks! The GhostWalk owes a great debt to local businesses, hotels & B&Bs - which is why we offer a 10% discount for patrons of such establishments! It's always nice to see our efforts are appreciated. Thank you, again!

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

The carnaptious & repugnant Jock Rankin met us close to the gates of the Old Town Jail and led us on a tour of the Old Town Cemetery & surrounding area, regaling stories of the paranormal, supernatural, and outlandishly fictional. Despite the odd midge &...More

2  Thank mm10489
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Ha! It's not often you read words like 'carnaptious' and 'repugnant' in a 5-Star review, or that a guide would be pleased to be described, thus...but I think The Hangman would consider it a compliment! He's a big fan of irony...but that's what keeps him...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Excellent story teller. He really brought the tales of the past to life. You get a 10% discount if staying in a local hotel or B and B which was nice. Really recommend this tour for a good yarn and a gory history lesson.More

Thank AbedeenPudding
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thanks, 'Pudding. Live entertainment can be very expensive, particularly for families - which is why we keep GhostWalk ticket prices low, and offer discounts to visitors to local hostels, hotels and B&Bs. The Hangman will be doing the same thing with the daytime historical Old...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hermann's
521 reviews
.03 km away
Portcullis
481 reviews
.10 km away
Green Gates Indian Restaurant
837 reviews
.35 km away
The Smithy
174 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stirling Castle
6,038 reviews
.36 km away
The Old Town Jail
258 reviews
.11 km away
Church of the Holy Rude
297 reviews
.11 km away
Argyll's Lodging
264 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Melanie M
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
£6 for adults, £4 for Kids, Students or Seniors
0
Votes
allison f
31 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
We start at the gates of the Old Town Jail, St John Street, Stirling (next to the SYHA Youth Hostel), at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays - tickets available from 7.45pm. Booking in advance is usually unnecessary - except for... More
2
Votes
Jake H
17 September 2015|
Answer
Response from David K | Property representative |
Hello, Jacob - I think I've already responded to your e-mails. TripAdvisor takes a day or so to flag PMs like this one. Just wantewd you to know I wasn't ignoring the message.
0
Votes