We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Ghost Walk
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
96
All photos (96)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“jock rankin”(20 reviews)
“david kinnaird”(12 reviews)
“story teller”(9 reviews)
About
The Stirling Ghost Walk - now nearing it's twenty-fifth year - is a guided dramatic guided tour of Stirling's historic Old Town, using comedy and drama to recount frightful tales from the history and folklore of the area. Tours run at 8.30pm...more
Contact
St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
Website
+44 1592 874449
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Stirling
from US$ 62.80
More Info
from US$ 44.80
More Info
from US$ 19.20
More Info
from US$ 53.80
More Info
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
289
15
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
289
15
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jock rankin david kinnaird story teller evening's entertainment spooky stories whole group youth hostel great stories old jail local history brilliant tour small group all ages graveyard character humour audience
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Huge thanks to Jock for this immersive tour - we'd done a walk of the surrounds earlier in the day but the tour really put it all in context. Jock was very dedicated to his character 'The Hangman' and was engaging the whole time. Would...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank bolwenfu
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Glad you enjoyed the experience, Bolwenfu! Yours was, indeed, a very chilly GhostWalk - and with Aussies and gents from Indonesia, Taiwan and Thailand making up the rest of the audience you were on, I think you probably felt the cold more than The Hangman....More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I'll keep this review short because simply put the Stirling ghost walk is legendary with the people of Stirling for good reason. It's fantastically entertaining! Unlike the big companies through in Edinburgh, where you get a slightly enthusiastic but mostly dull history student who occasionally...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank davidmN879AM
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you, David. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience of the GhostWalk. There are not many towns where the hangman is so warmly greeted on the streets!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very entertaining; plenty of interesting facts in amongst the more speculative stories on offer, and a fair few laughs thrown in too.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Andrew D
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, Andrew.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a must see! The happy hangman is brilliant and the tour is rich with history. I learned so much while being highly entertained. The walk, while uphill is not difficult, most people could likely handle it just fine. It was spooky and cold...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank kimbym2015
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, Kimby. The graveyard, the clear mild autumn night, and bright moon always add something special to the stories.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I actually went 2 times and it was amazing, I am looking forward to going back again and this time I'm bringing my son and friend with me. But I promise not to spoil the fun for them.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kimberly P
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, Kimberly. It is always nice when people come back to the GW, especially when they bring friends and family - we must be doing something right! See you soon.

Reviewed 10 November 2018

Guide was very informative, good story telling. Atmospheric. Go once and go again! This is an event which can be enjoyed by people of any age.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank christinehU3885HV
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Thank you, Christine. The GhostWalk changes with the audience - who are as much a part of the show as the stories, or the streetscapes of the Old Town.

Reviewed 1 November 2018

An absolutely hilarious night, would recommend to anyone! The actor was very impressive and engaged with the full group, everyone was laughing out loud at one point. He even told the annoying people to shut up hahaha, as punching them in the mouth isn't classy...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Maciek W
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you, Maciek. Glad you enjoyed the show. I'd like to note, though, that although our guide is a sadistic undead executioner, his entreaties to audience members whose banter interrupts the show is always meant in the best possible spirit.

Reviewed 31 October 2018

Amazing, Fabulous, Funny, Entertaining, Enthralling we could go on, think this tells everyone we loved it. Jock Rankin took us on a journey which kept everyone captivated an sometime in stitches. We arranged this so the 20 people could taste our new liquors Green Lady...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Odyssey828377
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you, Odyssey - the Green Lady's tale has been part of the Stirling GhostWalk right from the start, nearly thirty years ago - so The Happy Hangman was more than happy to give the old girl's namesake a wee bit of promotion! Glad you...More

Reviewed 29 October 2018

We (family of 4 including 2 children) took the ghost tour last night. Having not done one before, we weren’t totally sure what to expect.....but we didn’t expect was what we got which was an absolutely brilliant guide in the ‘Happy Hangman’! His telling of...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Jenny M
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank youy, Jenny - I'm glad your first ghostwalk was enjoyable.

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Very enjoyable and funny. The actor is fantastic, he engages the whole group. I must have laughed out loud 50 time in the tour. Great stories and great script writing. He has everyone full attention the whole time.I recommend booking in advance. Enjoy!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 85,09,435
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you, 8509435

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2,360 reviews
.17 km away
Hotel Colessio
919 reviews
.21 km away
The Portcullis Hotel
214 reviews
.21 km away
Friars Wynd Hotel
260 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 250 nearby restaurants
The Smithy
298 reviews
.19 km away
Darnley Coffee House
296 reviews
.06 km away
Henderson's Bistro
362 reviews
.27 km away
Hermann's
656 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 140 nearby attractions
The Old Town Jail
407 reviews
.06 km away
Church of the Holy Rude
379 reviews
.10 km away
Stirling Smith Art Gallery & Museum
157 reviews
.27 km away
Argyll's Lodging
274 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Fernsmail
13 September 2018|
Answer
Response from David K | Property representative |
Tickets available from 7.45pm at the Old Town Jail gate.
0
Votes
ashley4182
13 April 2018|
Answer
Response from David K | Property representative |
Hello there. Yup. Just show up at the Old Town Jail gate from 7.45pm. On those occasions where scheduled shows are sold-out or at full capacity we will post details at least a week in advance on our main website and our... More
0
Votes
Melanie M
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
£6 for adults, £4 for Kids, Students or Seniors
0
Votes