We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Loved the entire walk with Mr Hangman

We arrived today to Stirling and wanted to get spooked before we leave to Skye tomorrow. Mr Hangman... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Katherine T
via mobile
A hoot in Stirling

You should not miss this ghostly entertainment! Imagine a walk in a Scottish graveyard in dark of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Fernsmail
,
California
via mobile
Read all 306 reviews
86
All photos (86)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“jock rankin”(16 reviews)
“david kinnaird”(11 reviews)
“story teller”(9 reviews)
About
The Stirling Ghost Walk - now nearing it's twenty-fifth year - is a guided dramatic guided tour of Stirling's historic Old Town, using comedy and drama to recount frightful tales from the history and folklore of the area. Tours run at 8.30pm...more
Contact
St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
Website
+44 1592 874449
Call
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
273
14
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
273
14
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjock rankindavid kinnairdstory tellerlocal hotelspooky funevening's entertainmenthalloween weekendwhole groupyouth hostelgreat storytellerold jailbrilliant tourhistory toursmall grouphis knowledgeall agestales
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived today to Stirling and wanted to get spooked before we leave to Skye tomorrow. Mr Hangman did a great job; great act and a perfect night for scary stories.. will definitely come back again if I visit Stirling...

Thank Katherine T
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, Katherine. A little rain and wind can really add a little to the atmosphere, can't it? I hope you all enjoy Skye...there are some great ghost stories and myths for you to discover, up there!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You should not miss this ghostly entertainment! Imagine a walk in a Scottish graveyard in dark of night with church bells in the distance as your ghastly host describes death and dismemberment. I’ve not been this happy in awhile. Wonderful job! I recommend this fun...More

Thank Fernsmail
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, Fernsmail. The Hangman delights in his mix or the merry and the macabre, and it is always nice to be appreciated. Enjoy the rest of your Scottish sojourn.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mr Jock Rankine is the most interesting character, the actor's book Hauting Stirling is the best way to understand the history of the place. I became an enthusiastic FAN!

Thank Isabel A
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed the show!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best ghost walk I have ever been on. The hangman was fantastic, his stories and anecdotes were brilliant, he is an amazing story teller, in our tour group of around 17, he engaged everyone and the ages spread from under 15 to over 65...More

Thank Jenniwat
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, Jenni - I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves, though I'm sorry you had to walk back to your campsite. At least it was a lovely clear, full-moon night.

Reviewed 19 August 2018

It was pouring hard with rain when we did the ghost walk but it didn't spoil it at all. 'The hangman' was a fantastic actor and I don't think I stopped smiling. There was some very interesting facts about some very dubious characters of the...More

1  Thank kaw70bg
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you, Kaw. Stirling has a wealth of weird and wonderful characters and tales, many of them spinning out from actual incidents and citizens of the Burgh, and the GhostWalk gives us an opportunity to mex fact and fantasy. Glad you enjoyed the show, despite...More

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Fantastic tour of the old town with dark tales of the city included. The Happy Hangman did a fantastic job of making the tour experience interesting for adults and children alike. The ghost tour is also an excellent addition to a day tour of the...More

Thank Hollie B
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Thank you, Hollie, for our 300th TripAdvisor review, and that you enjoyed both the Stirling Ghostwalk and the Old Town Jail. The Happy Hangman works hard to make both entertaining and informative for audiences of all ages.

Reviewed 18 August 2018

Short trip around some of old Stirling with an excellent guide. He kept us entertained from start to (after) finish. We were lucky to be in a small party on our night and our host tailored his tour to us. The only thing missing was...More

Thank Ruth S
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you, Ruth - yes, The Hangman does try to tailor the tour to suit each audience (serious tales for serious people, silly ones for the light hearted!), so I'm glad you enjoyed the tour. We run every Friday and Saturday throughout the long autumn...More

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

great ghost walk , best one I have been on , full of fun laughter , scary moments . great family night walk , host was fab !!

Thank Linzi C
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Many thanks, Linzi...we try to fulfil the promise on our flyers and posters: 'Fear, Fun & Frights for ALL the Family!'!

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and Daughter attended the ghost walk on on 09/08/18. We weren’t sure what was in store. I have to say it was the Funniest tour (I’d be inclined to call it an outdoor show) that I have ever been to. Not only did...More

Thank Sholeymartin
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you, Sholeymartin, I'm really glad that you enjoyed the show.

Reviewed 8 August 2018

First of all, I can't figure out why more tourists don't actually go and stay in Stirling. It's a delightful town, but a little dead at night when all the day tours leave the castle and go back to Edinburgh. But speaking of dead, I...More

Thank alisonthesp
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Wow! High praise, indeed...Bernard. I'm glad The Happy Hangman was able to provide a high-point to your holiday - and I agree that it IS a shame that more people don't stay over in Strling, as there is so much to see and do.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Stirling
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2,288 reviews
.17 km away
Hotel Colessio
888 reviews
.21 km away
The Portcullis Hotel
208 reviews
.21 km away
Friars Wynd Hotel
246 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 245 restaurants in Stirling
The Smithy
285 reviews
.19 km away
Darnley Coffee House
287 reviews
.06 km away
Henderson's Bistro
356 reviews
.27 km away
Hermann's
644 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 122 attractions in Stirling
The Old Town Jail
380 reviews
.06 km away
Church of the Holy Rude
368 reviews
.10 km away
Stirling Smith Art Gallery & Museum
153 reviews
.27 km away
Argyll's Lodging
273 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Fernsmail
13 September 2018|
Answer
Response from David K | Property representative |
Tickets available from 7.45pm at the Old Town Jail gate.
0
Votes
ashley4182
13 April 2018|
Answer
Response from David K | Property representative |
Hello there. Yup. Just show up at the Old Town Jail gate from 7.45pm. On those occasions where scheduled shows are sold-out or at full capacity we will post details at least a week in advance on our main website and our... More
0
Votes
Melanie M
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
£6 for adults, £4 for Kids, Students or Seniors
0
Votes