We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 17A Portland Street, Southport PR8 1LR, England
Phone Number: +44 1704 537733
Website
Today
09:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 16:00
Mon 09:00 - 18:00
Tue - Thu 09:00 - 20:00
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 18:00
Description:

Portland Hall Spa is a Moroccan themed day spa offering peace, quiet,...

Portland Hall Spa is a Moroccan themed day spa offering peace, quiet, relaxation, and exceptional customer service.You'll find warmth, cosiness, and quirkiness in the unique, fabulous surroundings of an old Synagogue in the town centre of Southport, Merseyside,NW England.The spa offers massage,facial,body treatments and food. Pamper packages last a few hours or a whole day. Spa breaks are available with the Ramada Hotel. Perfect for couples, friends, and singles.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,141 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 359
    Excellent
  • 243
    Very good
  • 125
    Average
  • 137
    Poor
  • 275
    Terrible
Great treatments but overall revamp desperately required!

Good place, treatments very good but one single changing room for all guests, tired decor and average afternoon tea really let down the overall quality. Would I return...yes but... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
laurenmR8363OV
,
Stockport, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,139: English reviews
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I walk past here often and see many staff gather outside the front by the reception doors and smoke. It's discussing and totally Unprofessional. Puts the place down. Took a groupon offer, and still disappointed with many things: long wait to go to lunch, no staff around to ask what's going on, lunch area very cold, served quickly, which wAs... More 

Helpful?
Thank 19Pam73
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear of your review. I am surprised to hear your comments of staff smoking outside the main doors, this is not permitted and the managers on shift would not allow this to happen. I only assume this is guests of the spa you are referring to, and I am... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked This Spa as I needed to relax as going into hospital for a operation in 2 days so wanted to de-stress a little bit , and that we did , we arrived and was given a welcome drink and then went to have a kite bite to eat , after this we entered our a personal spa pool for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cajhw1977
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this review

Dear Col and John, Thank-you very much for a lovely review. We are delighted you were able to relax and enjoyed your day with us. The private candle-lit spa pool is a unique experience which is highly recommended! We hope you recover quickly and look forward to seeing you both again soon. Kind Regards Alex More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We are support workers in a complex needs service and so we have a very stressful job. Management authorised us going for spa day in order to relax and unwind. Portland hall provided us with the perfect opportunity to do this. 10 of us went yesterday; split into 2 groups of 5. We started the day sitting in the relaxing... More 

Helpful?
Thank LyndseyL1980
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this review

Hi Lyndsey, Thank-you for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to pamper you all at Portland Hall Spa and we are pleased we would help your group de-stress after a busy year at work! Unlike shared and communal spas, we pride ourselves on a private relaxation culture, with private facilities and with our guest experience at the heart of... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly , I was asked to give feedback which I privately emailed to the spa 10 days ago but have received no acknowledgement . I booked this “Spa Day “ as a present for a friend . When I called I mentioned this and asked for advice on packages for what we wanted and explained I was 31 weeks pregnant... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank lanekimberley
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for taking the time to contact the spa directly and also leave feedback on TripAdvisor. All feedback is very welcomed and used for improvement where possible. Our guest experience is at the heart of Portland Hall Spa, and we are committed to providing an enjoyable and relaxing spa day. I can confirm we honored the special promotion... More 

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for a Spa package and were not disappointed, in fact, we would return. Very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere from the moment you walk in. We were there for the treatments and lunch which we upgarded from a light lunch to the three course meal which we had before the treaments. In hindsight the next time we visit we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gwespyr
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of Portland Hall Spa. We very much appreciate your comments. We will endeavor to find a solution to increase the space downstairs for the changing rooms however I am confident this does not impact on the spa experience journey. We are delighted you enjoyed a relaxing day with... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a surprise spa day for my sisters birthday and she loved every second. We had a light bite when we arrived with free drinks. Which was great value. We then had a room to our selves where we were given an amazing massage which consistsed of three areas and a upgrade. Lastly we had fresh fruit and candle lit... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Eliza H
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this review

Hi Eliza, Thank-you for your positive review. It was a pleasure to share the special day with you. I am glad you embraced our private relaxation culture. All our Moroccan treatment suites are private for two guests, and unlike shared & communal spas, the candle-lit spa pool is completely private and exclusive with fresh fruit and water served poolside. We... More 

Preston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and the treatments were very relaxing and enjoyable. Both my Boyfriend and I will be visting again in the near future!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank darian_roberts_19
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for the 5 star review! We are pleased you enjoyed your treatments and meal. We look forward to welcoming you back to Portland Hall Spa in the near future. Prior to your next visit, please review our loyalty and special offers directly. Kind Regards More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and a friend went to the spa for a little break away from university, which was well needed. We booked it for stress relief, and it perfectly suited what we were looking for. It is a adorable, comfortable, relaxing environment. Extremely convenient location from the Southport train station. As we booked a package deal, we received 3 treatments and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank amymariabird98
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for a wonderful review. We are pleased we were able to provide a relaxing spa experience that relieved stress and hopefully enabled you to focus and concentrate your mind on University work! Our therapists are excellent and tailoring and offering treatments for optimal wellness benefits and we are delighted you enjoyed your treatments. We look forward to... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Good place, treatments very good but one single changing room for all guests, tired decor and average afternoon tea really let down the overall quality. Would I return...yes but never paying full price!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank laurenmR8363OV
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review of Portland Hall Spa. All feedback is welcomed and used for improvement so we can ensure we offer a consistently wonderful spa experience to all our guests. As detailed around the spa, we are limited to building restrictions with regards to extending the changing rooms due to being housed... More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a lovely pleasant and relaxing morning I had the treatments were lovely the staff were fabulous and the 3 course lunch was delightful. If you go have the cheese cake it's delish

Helpful?
Thank Cassie J
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for the wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed a relaxing morning with us. We have recently launched a new Spa Bistro menu which is extremely popular with all our guests, so upgrading to our three course meal is highly recommended! We hope to see you again soon in the near future. Kind Regards Alex More 

Travellers who viewed Portland Hall Spa also viewed

 
Southport, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Portland Hall Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Portland Hall Spa and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Portland Hall Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?