We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portland Hall Spa

17A Portland Street, Southport PR8 1LR, England
+44 1704 537733
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Overall view.

Treatment didn't last long, food was terrible, the pate is like cat food it says on the menu it's... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 2 days ago
chriscatterall
Pleasant but very average!

So after reading some terrible reviews on this place after booking ..I was really nervous but once... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Melissa M
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,479 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Portland Hall Spa is a Moroccan themed day spa offering peace, quiet, relaxation, and exceptional customer service.You'll find warmth, cosiness, and quirkiness in the unique, fabulous surroundings of an old Synagogue in the town centre of Southport, Merseyside,NW England.The spa offers massage,facial,body treatments and food. Pamper packages last a few hours or a whole day. Spa breaks are available with the Ramada Hotel. Perfect for couples, friends, and singles.
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good21%
  • Average10%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 20:00
LOCATION
17A Portland Street, Southport PR8 1LR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1704 537733
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Treatment didn't last long, food was terrible, the pate is like cat food it says on the menu it's home made ??? I hope not !! Staff were very average and looks great on the advert but to travel an hour and a half to...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank chriscatterall
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

So after reading some terrible reviews on this place after booking ..I was really nervous but once I arrived I was pleasantly surprised as the inside looked good and we were greeted by friendly staff..we arrived at 3pm and had to fill in a consultation...More

Thank Melissa M
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I've just returned from a day of absolute pleasure at the Portland Hall Spa. I can't begin to explain how excellent the day was from start to finish. We arrived at the spa and was instantly greeted by a very smiley lady who was so...More

Thank WarringtonJoey
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The service you get here is shocking I though it may have changed after my previous visit. Treatments you do not get the allotted time. The rooms are shared with others. The beds are horrible and creaky, very uncomfortable. And staff are unprofessional. Felt like...More

Thank dee761
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, however I am rather disconcerted by your feedback as we our reviews are the best part of 100% positive. In terms of your discomfort in having to share treatment rooms, the majority of...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Brought my younger daughter as a treat. The whole experience was fantastic, the therapist was very informative about our skin types. Lovely staff and therapist, and the food looked and tasted great.More

Thank Gayle Y
Portlandhallspa, Front Office Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you Gayle for your lovely comments. We loved having both yourself and your daughter visit us yesterday and we really do hope that you both come again soon. Please remember to look out for our promotional offers that will be sent to you via...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Overall a very pleasant experience, but overshadowed somewhat by constant wanting me to upgrade to more treatments, trying to sell the products used in massage whilst relaxing after, lots of msg sent to my phone.... Just left alone with what we'd booked would have been...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Lynne L
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Lynne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we take all criticism very seriously; initially i am pleased to hear your experience was pleasant, however disappointed to read how pushy you found our therapists to be. Our mentality around upgrades and...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

I had a lovely time at the spa today. I only came in for a deep tissue back massage and a facial, and all the staff were super friendly and accommodating. Treatments were superb and relaxing, staff were friendly and chatty and took my needs...More

Thank Lorna H
Portlandhallspa, Front Office Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good Afternoon Lorna, and many thanks for your wonderful review. We are so happy that, one, you chose ourselves, and two that we will get to pamper you again in the near future. We offer fantastic packages not only for individuals but for couples/groups too,...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Bought this as a surprise for my mum via Groupon, however on trying to book, they weren't very accommodating with availability. After going through the phone line missing the option for upgrading, the first thing they asked was about upgrading and because I wasn't wanting...More

2  Thank Loralee179
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had a great afternoon all round, very nice settings and staff. Paid for an additional longer treatment on the day but that was our choice but well worth it, would definitely go again. 👍More

Thank MarkAKee
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am pleased you took advantage of our upgrades for an extended treatment as this is something that can't be missed out on- it's also an excuse to relax for longer!...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Had a lovely relaxing day. The massage by Micheala was amazing and highly recommend. Everything about the day was great and couldn't fault. One very happy customer, thank youMore

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank steph8788
Portlandhallspa, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Hall Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Steph, Thank you for taking the time to write such a superb review. I will personally pass on your feedback to Micheala who is a very talented therapist and huge asset to our team here at Portland Hall Spa. We do hope you return...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lings on Kings
591 reviews
.15 km away
Forge Brasserie
436 reviews
.18 km away
Gusto Trattoria
293 reviews
.24 km away
Twelve
101 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Atkinson
552 reviews
.35 km away
Model Railway Village
269 reviews
.53 km away
Southport Little Theatre
118 reviews
.60 km away
British Lawnmower Museum
107 reviews
.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ClaireGeorgie
21 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Portlandhallspa | Property representative |
Hi Claire. Thank-you for your question. I am pleased to inform you that Portland Hall Spa does have a private candle-lit spa pool, Moroccan Mud Rasul and private Jacuzzi pool. Unlike shared or communal spas, where the... More
1
Vote
Sarah W
28 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Portlandhallspa | Property representative |
Dear Guest, Please contact us directly if you require any assistance as I am unsure as to the question. Kind Regards Alex
0
Votes
aj1983
23 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Portlandhallspa | Property representative |
Dear Guest, I am pleased to inform we have undergone some changes in the way we act on guest feedback. All feedback will be welcomed and acknowledged and the process of responding to previous feedback is now... More
0
Votes