We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Outback

Closed Now: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Open today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Review Highlights
Establishment

Not happy with how this place looks, need updating and could be improved,.... Not sure if I will go... read more

Reviewed 1 November 2015
sarahmadrell
,
Douglas, United Kingdom
via mobile
great for drinks and music

me and my five friends found this place while visiting IOM for the 2018 TT races. its location in... read more

Reviewed 18 September 2018
Steve C
Read all 9 reviews
3
All photos (3)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good11%
  • Average0%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible56%
18 Sep 2018
“great for drinks and music”
17 Dec 2016
“Worst "Nightclub" in Britain”
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Nov
Dec
Jan
Contact
The Outback Barrack Street, Douglas IM1 2AF
Website
+44 1624 661547
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 17 October 2015

The only place in Douglas to actually have some kind of atmosphere and a packed dancefloor that doesn't resemble the dungeon at the CH. Heated smoking area is great and it's always busy on a saturday night! Prices are average for the isle of man,...More

3  Thank Kristina I
Craig T, Manager at The Outback, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for your great review. You have undoubtedly taken what we are and embraced us. We hope to see you in the near future.

Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

I would rather sit in a bath filled with horse manure with a portable speaker, and nothing but Justin beiber songs on repeat than come back here. The door staff are that jumped up on steroids they think they can treat you how they want,...More

6  Thank Anthony S
Craig T, Manager at The Outback, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for leaving your review and I am sorry we weren't quite up to your standard. We can assure you that our doormen do a very good job on keeping order within our establishment, as you can understand dealing with people once they have...More

Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
2
1
0
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
2
1
0
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 18 September 2018

me and my five friends found this place while visiting IOM for the 2018 TT races. its location in downtown Douglas made it easy to get to from where we were staying. great selection of beers. a couple of levels, including an outside area if...More

Thank Steve C
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Thought Liverpool had some dodgy clubs this place is terrible. Place is empty these days and rightly so, the door staff think they are above the law and everyone is sick of it. The dancefloor if you could even call it that is as big...More

5  Thank Luluuu01
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I have seen the decrease of people visiting over the years and much of that I believe is do to the doorstaff, there is caring for your customers safety and then there is throwing them out punching and pushing people like they're nothing they are...More

4  Thank SerbySpeedMan
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The place as previously mentioned needs a complete overhaul or knocking down and starting again. So bad even the roof has beer splashes all over it. The toilets stink and there are puddles of urine everywhere, and that's only the ladies. Downstairs was so cramped...More

Thank Manx K
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Not happy with how this place looks, need updating and could be improved,.... Not sure if I will go again in future ... ...More

2  Thank sarahmadrell
Craig T, Manager at The Outback, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Hello Sarah, Thank you for your review, and we are sorry you were not happy with our establishment. We understand that you may feel that the Outback needs to be updated, etc. however, we don't feel that way. We are constantly improving the facilities but...More

Reviewed 17 October 2015

The only place in Douglas to actually have some kind of atmosphere and a packed dancefloor that doesn't resemble the dungeon at the CH. Heated smoking area is great and it's always busy on a saturday night! Prices are average for the isle of man,...More

3  Thank Kristina I
Craig T, Manager at The Outback, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for your great review. You have undoubtedly taken what we are and embraced us. We hope to see you in the near future.

Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

I would rather sit in a bath filled with horse manure with a portable speaker, and nothing but Justin beiber songs on repeat than come back here. The door staff are that jumped up on steroids they think they can treat you how they want,...More

6  Thank Anthony S
Craig T, Manager at The Outback, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for leaving your review and I am sorry we weren't quite up to your standard. We can assure you that our doormen do a very good job on keeping order within our establishment, as you can understand dealing with people once they have...More

Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

I think I'd rather remove my eyeballs with a rusty spoon than spend another second in this foul, dank cesspit of underage debauchery. With a neo-nazi bunch of doormen who seem to be a law unto themselves added to the excitement of being crammed into...More

3  Thank 3LegsEverywhere
Craig T, Manager at The Outback, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for leaving your review and I am sorry that you were not happy with the establishment. I can assure you that our doormen are not part of a neo Nazi movement, however do have a difficult job to do, with dealing with many...More

Reviewed 21 June 2015

Large pub that doubles as a night club later in the evenings and can become very lively. Dance floors and sport TVs on both the spacious ground floor area and smaller mezzanine floor. The Outback theme is mainly reflected in the drinks they offer and...More

Thank FlaHarlock
Craig T, Manager at The Outback, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for your review, and I am glad we met your expectations (especially the Bushy's beer). We hope to see you soon!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 nearby hotels
Sykeside Country House Hotel
140 reviews
5.76 km away
Rosehill House Hotel
405 reviews
6.09 km away
Travelodge Burnley
177 reviews
7.20 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
558 reviews
7.66 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 368 nearby restaurants
The Corner Cafe
96 reviews
2.85 km away
Mondello's Ristorante
105 reviews
2.91 km away
Pavillion Express
12 reviews
3.48 km away
Happy Valley
27 reviews
3.48 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 164 nearby attractions
Animal Quackers
193 reviews
3.92 km away
The Whitaker Museum
112 reviews
4.52 km away
Bacup Market
13 reviews
3.85 km away
Casked Micropub
27 reviews
4.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Outback staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines