We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crook Hall & Gardens

Closed Now: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Should have visited sooner!

What a delightful hidden gem in county Durham. A warm welcome into this immaculately kept beautiful... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Durham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Excellent afternoon tea

I was lucky enough to be given a Tipsy Tea voucher, so had afternoon tea sitting in the beautiful... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Elizabeth T
Durham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 863 reviews
All photos (337)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“afternoon tea”(159 reviews)
“scones”(78 reviews)
“hidden gem”(78 reviews)
Crook Hall is a Medieval Manor house built circa 1217 and is one of the oldest inhabited houses in Durham City. Home to the Bell Family since 1995, the Medieval Hall merges into a Jacobean Manor house which in turn merges into a Georgian Town house...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Frankland Lane | Sidegate, Durham DH1 5SZ, England
+44 191 384 8028
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea scones hidden gem gardens are beautiful cream tea lovely house wedding venue well worth a visit treasure hunt tea room nooks and crannies hidden away durham city every corner lovely food quiche different areas
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 857 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a delightful hidden gem in county Durham. A warm welcome into this immaculately kept beautiful garden and hall. Both children (4 & 6) thoroughly enjoyed the garden spotting the little statues and fairies whilst following the little walkways. Again the house was beautifully presented...More

Thank WesWar
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was lucky enough to be given a Tipsy Tea voucher, so had afternoon tea sitting in the beautiful garden. The food was delicious, a good selection of sandwiches and cakes. But as always at Crook Hall, the scones stole the show. They truly are...More

Thank Elizabeth T
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband is from Newcastle and I have been here for nearly 30 years we didn't know this place existed. We recently bought a garden magazine and it had a booklet in of gardens and a card so you paid for 1 person and got...More

Thank Angela R
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had lived near Durham twenty years before we visited - it's a bit "hidden in plain view", on the river, really close to the city centre but takes a bit of finding. A splendid maze greets you on arrival, then through the gardens to the...More

Thank Andrew J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated just 200 metres from the Radisson where we were staying, this was a mst to visit. Sloping gardens cover a 5 acre site. Interestingly planted with lots of annuals amongst the perennial shrubs and trees. Easy to walk round. The medieval manor house, small...More

Thank John F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took a family member, a local, to visit Crook Hall and gardens - he had never been there, and we all enjoyed it very much. Fascinating history and gorgeous gardens.

Thank millsonbandm
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I bought afternoon tea for my elderly parents for a birthday treat. I rang ahead as my Dad walks, very slowly, with a stick and the help I received was excellent. When I arrived, a back gate was opened for me to minimise the walk...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of nine went for afternoon tea. We had booked a vegetarian option for one of our party. Turns out on the day we had two vegetarian in out group. This did not throw the guys at Crook Hall and both our vegetarian guests...More

Thank christinegibs0n
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What kind of wedding venue desnt provide parking and they have staff manning the pay for car park but dont tell you you have to pay also venue freezing cold bar operation terrible no staff and their cream tea wedding would leave a squirrel feeling...More

1  Thank Andreapacey
CrookHallGardens, Owner at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Andrea. Oh dear! What an unpleasant review. I know that you contacted us via our Facebook page regarding our parking so I am sorry that our response did not clarify matters for you. I am also sorry that you felt cold. We want all...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I’m afraid we were a touch underwhelmed by Crook Hall. Medieval hall was the highlight and probably the best preserved we’ve seen anywhere but beyond that relatively little made the visit stand out and gardens did not quite live up to their billing as amongst...More

CrookHallGardens, Owner at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We always appreciate thoughtful feedback such as yours. I am so pleased that you enjoyed seeing the Hall but I am disappointed that the gardens did not live up to your expectations. As you say,...More

View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 nearby hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2,994 reviews
.27 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1,841 reviews
.37 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1,769 reviews
.75 km away
Durham Castle
236 reviews
.84 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 354 nearby restaurants
381 reviews
.50 km away
Ebony Champagne Bar
472 reviews
.45 km away
Spice Lounge
318 reviews
.54 km away
The Capital
290 reviews
.51 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 96 nearby attractions
Durham Castle
1,098 reviews
.79 km away
Gala Theatre Durham
288 reviews
.50 km away
Marquess of Londonderry's Statue
79 reviews
.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
2 September 2018|
Response from Ashleigh G | Reviewed this property |
i dont think so dint see any when there
29 June 2018|
Response from Maggie W | Reviewed this property |
No my sister had problems and couldn't see it all .