We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sun Inn

1 Flemingate, Beverley HU17 0NP, England
+44 7541 456215
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great beer, staff and atmosphere

We have recently moved very near the Sun Inn Beverley. Our previous local being the Woolpack. Am... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Neil B
,
Beverley, United Kingdom
via mobile
End of an Era

Last trip to The Sun, Beverley, as Son is graduating from Hull University. Many happy evenings... read more

Reviewed 9 July 2018
Alison G
via mobile
Read all 32 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Sun Inn is a historic building opposite the Beverley Minster. The place to go for the determined beer lover or for anyone wanting entertainment and live music. Dating back to 1530 this is believed to be the oldest pub in Beverley and the East Riding. You will find the pub has a array of excellent real ales always available and a really nice homely feel with a large courtyard to the rear.
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good18%
  • Average3%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch” (5 reviews)
“great pub” (2 reviews)
“mic” (3 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
1 Flemingate, Beverley HU17 0NP, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 7541 456215
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sunday lunch"
in 5 reviews
"great pub"
in 2 reviews
"mic"
in 3 reviews
"beer"
in 5 reviews
"folk"
in 2 reviews
"town"
in 3 reviews
"minster"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have recently moved very near the Sun Inn Beverley. Our previous local being the Woolpack. Am the landlords Richard and Lee work so hard making customers feel welcome and keeping music alive in Beverley. There is so much going on at this pub at...More

Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Last trip to The Sun, Beverley, as Son is graduating from Hull University. Many happy evenings spent over the last three years listening to the bands and drinking fine ales and spirits. Great atmosphere.

Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

This is THE BEST place for music in Beverley. You want it, they have got it. Open Mic, folk sessions, mixed country music session, ukuleles (yes, ukuleles), blues, rock. Not only that, the land lords, Richard and Lee are brilliant, as well as the bar...More

Thank lynne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rph2013, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thanks for the kind words Lynne, always a pleasure x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This is the best Sunday lunch I have had in East Yorkshire. Looked after by Richard, attentive, relaxed atmosphere and fabulous home made food! We will be back soon. Keep on cooking Lee! Thank you Hayley, Jim and Callum x

Thank Jim_Hayley_Callum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Very friendly and brilliant entertainment, we have visited Beverley on several occasions and tried most of the pubs but the sun inn is by far the best.💖

Thank bevgrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rph2013, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thankyou bevgrimes, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Had a few pints in here and nothing wrong with the pub at all. Very close to the Minster so handy for tourists but appears to have a strong local following also.

Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rph2013, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you Brianthelion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

A great pub, always has good quality bands on, we've never heard/seen a bad one yet! There's a small area in front of where they play for people to dance. A paved area out the back with tables and chairs for when it gets too...More

Thank Shezzyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rph2013, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you Shezzyb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Dirty beer lines. Smelt of rotten eggs. Walked in with my girlfriend and left our beer and wine despite it being changed. It was that bad. However as much as we are zero for the beer the pub itself is actually very nice. We wont...More

Thank freespirityorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rph2013, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

freespirityorkshire, I am sorry to read about the experience you had with the beer on your visit to The Sun Inn. If my memory serves me correctly you had the Yorkshire Guzzler and as mentioned you were given another pint. As you only had one...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We're looking for a pub that does Thursday night pub quiz.it was well organised, good seating arrangements. They do a raffle which ends in the winner of the chosen drawn ticket to participate in a pub version of the deal or no deal and I...More

Thank Irene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rph2013, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you Irene V and congratulations again on your win, hope you spent wisely :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Fabulous entertainment on a Saturday. The place to be in Beverley. Friendly, it's now our regular haunt when out in Beverley

Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rph2013, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you Tracey F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
589 reviews
.24 km away
Kings Head Hotel
662 reviews
.61 km away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
414 reviews
.69 km away
Tickton Grange Hotel
387 reviews
4.47 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Chamas Rodizio Bar & Grill
573 reviews
.28 km away
Cosmo's Flaming Grill Bar & Restaurant
794 reviews
.27 km away
Cerutti 2
191 reviews
.33 km away
ASK Italian - Beverley
334 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Beverley Minster
1,066 reviews
.06 km away
St. Mary's Church Beverley
242 reviews
.99 km away
East Riding Treasure House
110 reviews
.40 km away
East Riding Theatre
96 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Sun Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit