We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Relaxing

A beautiful place to visit. Whether you're there for a stroll or sit on the rocks and gaze out to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
KateLaubscher
via mobile
Wonderfully helpful and patient staff.

We are frequent visitors of Summerleaze and Crooklets beach and my girls love to mess around in the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kelly D
,
Devon, United Kingdom
Read all 860 reviews
162
All photos (162)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good20%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“shallow area”(15 reviews)
“shallow end”(17 reviews)
“lovely swim”(10 reviews)
About
Bude Sea Pool is a part-natural, partially man-made tidal swimming pool on the beach at this popular seaside town in North Cornwall. It was built in the 1930s under the cliffs of Summerleaze Beach to provide safe bathing in sea water, but away from...more
Contact
Summerleaze Beach, Bude, England
Website
+44 1288 354240
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveller rating
651
169
20
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
651
169
20
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shallow area shallow end lovely swim great asset safe place great facility swimming lessons high tide safe swimming unique experience great for kids all ages life guards lovely place summerleaze beach wet suits summer months
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 849 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A beautiful place to visit. Whether you're there for a stroll or sit on the rocks and gaze out to as.... or brave enough to slide into the sea water for a swim.....you can't beat the feeling of being at one with nature, all under...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank KateLaubscher
Frances F, Trustee at Bude Sea Pool, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review Kate. Glad you enjoyed your visit to Bude Sea Pool.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are frequent visitors of Summerleaze and Crooklets beach and my girls love to mess around in the sea pool when they are not surfing. This August my youngest stepped on a weaver fish and was stung. I didn't think much of it to be...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Kelly D
Frances F, Trustee at Bude Sea Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your review - we will make sure our Pool Staff see it.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were not expecting to come across this pool. Nice surprise. It was too cool to get in but we found the whole area great.More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Eirlys B
Frances F, T|rustee at Bude Sea Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review Eirlys, a lot of people walking on the North Cornwall coastal path happen upon it and are surprised to see such a magnificent sea water pool in such good condition. It is open all year so we hope you come back...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A unique swimming experience, serene and delightful, once you get over the initial shock of the water temperature (no wet suit). Love to swim here after surfing and always support the Sea Pool shop at the entrance to the car park - a swim hat,...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Explore17205217363
Frances F, Trustee at Bude Sea Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review. You are brave to swim in it in the winter months without a wet suit! And thanks too for your support for the Charity by using the sea pool shop: the sale of merchandise and second-hand books goes a...More

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Great addition to a lovely beach. Slightly cold in October unless you feel brave or have no feelings.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank DavePostle
Frances F, Trustee at Bude Sea Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Dave, we do have many hardy souls who brave the elements and swim all year round, some without wetsuits!

Reviewed 4 November 2018

The pool is completely enclosed with a cordoned-off 'beginners' area and then a larger/deeper area. It is always full of sea water but separated from the sea until the tide comes in and almost covers it up. An enjoyable and safe place to swim, kept...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank E3389TSneilm
Frances F, Trustee at Bude Sea Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, our volunteers work hard all year round to keep the pool clean and safe, and their fund-raising efforts provide the funds for essential maintenance after the winter storm damage.

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Had a nice walk today here was so nice can take your for a walk or is good for the kids was a great day will be going back there again for a bit longer next time great day out

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank John C
Frances F, Trustee at Bude Sea Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks very much for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

But may I add that my 10 children didn't enjoy it as much as the Bude Tunnel. But me and my wife had a great time. Still giving it 1 star because it isn't as great as the Bude Tunnel.More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Kittenmeister
Frances F, Trustee at Bude Sea Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

We are sorry you have only given Bude Sea Pool 1 star, The Bude Tunnel may have been more attractive to your children but we think the Sea Pool deserves more than one star, as it is a totally free attraction offering year-round safe sea-water...More

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

We missed this on our first visit to the beach but went for a look the second time and were disappointed that we did not bring our wet suits. Would have loved to have gone for a swim.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank chelciep2014
Frances F, Trustee at Bude Sea Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Come back soon with your wet suits!!!

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Fantastic quality sea pool on a stunning beach run by really friendly people. Been swimming this week in stunning sunny October weather, pool was at a barmy 11c water temp and 18c air temp. Did an early evening swim and was the only one in...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Janbenella
Frances F, Trustee at Bude Sea Pool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you for your review, glad you had a great time here.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 nearby hotels
Atlantic House Hotel
141 reviews
.40 km away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
93 reviews
.43 km away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
577 reviews
.43 km away
An Mor
353 reviews
.54 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 123 nearby restaurants
The Deck
442 reviews
.39 km away
Morwenna Cafe Bar
136 reviews
.60 km away
The Coffee Pot
220 reviews
.58 km away
The Barge
203 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 73 nearby attractions
Bude Tunnel
415 reviews
.51 km away
Summerleaze Beach
449 reviews
.68 km away
Crooklets Beach
355 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tom D
21 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Frances F | Property representative |
Hi Tom, yes there is a beach at Bude when it is high tide :)
0
Votes
liveinengland
2 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Frances F | Property representative |
Hi there, due to the nature of the pool we are unable to provide an accurate depth. However, that being said the deepest part of the pool is around 8ft and is roughly in the centre of the pool. The sides of the pool can be... More
0
Votes
kevinwood88
25 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Frances F | Property representative |
Hi Kevin, dogs are allowed around the pool area providing they are kept on the lead, however, they are not allowed in the water! Many thanks.
0
Votes