We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cartmel Racecourse

Features Animals
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Great day out for all the family

Yesterday I spent A lovely day out at the Agricultural show where there is plenty to do and see for... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Lawtonuppercroft
,
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
via mobile
cartmel races

love cartmel been going for about 20 years now great little course and the bonus it's only 20 mins... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
stuartmetcalfe90
,
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Read all 287 reviews
34
All photos (34)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“bank holiday”(17 reviews)
“race meeting”(12 reviews)
“race course”(16 reviews)
About
Racing has been taking place at Cartmel since 1856. Set against the backdrop of the beautiful English Lake District, Cartmel Races rekindles the spirit of the original steeplechases, attracting large crowds who gather within the centre of the...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
See all hours
Contact
Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QF, England
Website
+44 15395 36340
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
183
64
18
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
183
64
18
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbank holidayrace meetingrace coursefinishing linedress codepaddock arealouis roedererrace trackplenty of foodracing fanfinish linefantastic atmospheresmall bottlefood and drink outletsshuttle busgreat family daylucky with the weather
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Yesterday I spent A lovely day out at the Agricultural show where there is plenty to do and see for all the family. The show is held on the race course which must be one of the most picturesque in the country. For the children...More

2  Thank Lawtonuppercroft
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

love cartmel been going for about 20 years now great little course and the bonus it's only 20 mins by train from barrow the only thing i gripe about is the admission fee i think £24 is a bit steep but its nice you do...More

1  Thank stuartmetcalfe90
CartmelRacecourse, Public Relations Manager at Cartmel Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Stuart, Thank you for your review and it is lovely to hear from a loyal racegoer that has been visiting our course for so many years. In response to your note on the ticket pricing, you are correct that the our Early Bird tickets...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have been to Cartmel races for the last 30 years , we went on Monday 23rd. July and had a great day as usual The only negative was the fact we paid £20 each last year but this year due to...More

1  Thank JohnDee88
CartmelRacecourse, Public Relations Manager at Cartmel Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear John, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have always enjoyed your trips to Cartmel Races. I'm sorry you were disappointed that there wasn't a senior concession but we've re-structured our ticket sales tiers and now offer heavily discounted...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My in-laws booked the race day for the family on Saturday 21st July to celebrate 2 birthdays we had in the family a 40th & 50th. There were 11 Adults, 2 teenages & one 7 year old. We arrived between 10 am & 11am and...More

1  Thank Sue N
CartmelRacecourse, Public Relations Manager at Cartmel Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and we are really pleased to hear that your family celebration went down so well, it sounds like your in-laws did a good job of organising it all! We did indeed run a 'Best Dressed Picnic' competition and we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great well managed day out! Lovely quaint track within the charming village of Cartmel. Easy to get to despite the small tight roads with some great traffic management. Easy parking on the course was well worth it. Food stalls were a bit pricey but...More

2  Thank monkeybot
CartmelRacecourse, Public Relations Manager at Cartmel Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review of our race meeting at Cartmel. We greatly value your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had a great day out and that you found the traffic management system to be effective. We will pass these nice...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed our day at races,Cartmel is a lovely little town, the racecourse itself has plenty of food and drink stalls most reasonable priced unlike some other courses, my only criticism is that viewing is pretty bad definitely needs looking into.More

1  Thank GDT2013
CartmelRacecourse, Public Relations Manager at Cartmel Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Our Racecourse has very few permanent structures which is why it is more challenging to provide viewing that on some courses, however we offer several big screens to make the races viewable from most parts of the course. We do...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place for a day out and the chance of a win!! Not been here for a while and can see that improvements have been made to the fencing around the racetrack. A walk around the village is very pleasant too. Good food options too....More

1  Thank AED123
CartmelRacecourse, Public Relations Manager at Cartmel Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day with us and a walk around Cartmel. We hope to be able to welcome back to our course again very soon, Regards CR Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We go to cartmel quite a lot and always have a fantastic time. Friendly and helpful staff, always clean and plenty of options for food and drink

1  Thank Alison L
CartmelRacecourse, Public Relations Manager at Cartmel Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alison, Thankyou for your kind review and we are glad to hear that you had a fantastic day out with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Cartmel again in the future, Regards CR Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Eight of us came here one of the reasons was it was a BBQ Saturday so we packed up our BBQ and chairs and off we went. Got a great spot near to the big screens, toilets etc You could get food and drink there...More

1  Thank Tracy V
CartmelRacecourse, Public Relations Manager at Cartmel Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tracy Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable day with us. Thank you for leaving the tip about pre-booking taxi's. As we are in a rural area, taxi's are something of a premium commodity but we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having booked our usual tickets, we were offered an upgrade to the newly introduced Platinum Package at a reduced rate of £25.00 each saving £5 each, It promised access to the Platinum Lounge in the Paddock Marquee, a Champagne Bar and the Mixology Bros Cocktail...More

2  Thank Kath L
CartmelRacecourse, Public Relations Manager at Cartmel Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kath, Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear that you seemed to be disappointed with the Platinum Lounge experience. We do undertake regular price reviews to try to ensure that our packages represent good value for money for our customers. We...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
405eddie123
16 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from CartmelRacecourse | Property representative |
Hi, thank you for your question. Yes, you can bring your own alcohol into the paddock area with a picnic. We look forward to welcoming you. Regards, CR Team
1
Vote
DMCMStHelensUK
16 August 2018|
Answer
Response from CartmelRacecourse | Property representative |
Hi, thank you for inquiry. We are anticipating our August meeting to be extremely busy and parking in the paddock enclosure is on a first come, first served basis, so we cannot guarantee space, however there will parking... More
1
Vote