Loch Leven Brewery

Loch Leven Brewery, Kinross: Hours, Address, Loch Leven Brewery Reviews: 4.5/5

Loch Leven Brewery
4.5
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
5:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Popular mentions

4.5
32 reviews
Excellent
22
Very good
9
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Duncan I
Uckfield, UK167 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
A fantastic gem in Kinross. Incredible welcome. Relaxing atmosphere. Great beer and a wonderful way to spend the afternoon. Highly recommended.
Written 28 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

IaninPerthshire
Kelty, UK107 contributions
Jul 2021 • Friends
I live in the area but had never visited. Glad I did.... the beers were excellent and the staff helpful, polite and interested . I really felt that I was out of my own town and somewhere distant. A really nice vibe. Will I be back.?.....Absolutely
Written 20 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Baobab S
Lancashire, UK14 contributions
Feb 2020
I tried a couple of their own beers - one wasn't really for me, the other was a big WOW! YUM! I'll definitely call back next time I'm in Kinross. There are bar snacks available.
Written 18 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CarnboConfidential
Kinross, United Kingdom11 contributions
Oct 2019
Have visited the tap House attatched to Loch Leven Brewery several times since it's opening a couple of years ago. The 4 beers are available in cask and bottle are first rate and their own distilled gins are pretty fine too!

The small tap room is bright, airy & scandanivin in feel. Live music is a regular evening feature and the background music would not be appreciated by anyone born since the late 80's, which, to my mind is an added plus mark.

The staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming .

Dogs are welcome both inside and on the very small patio.

No food is served but tasty, unusal bar snacks are available. There are a variety of good eateries in and near Kinross.

Opening times vary seasonally but 8pm seems to be closing time each day.
Written 9 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

LJC1976
Aberdeen, UK35 contributions
Nov 2019 • Couples
With being from Aberdeen and the Brewdog era, it was good to see how others are doing it in their own areas.
Although I’m not into the IPA etc. drinks, we decided to pop in to try their citrus gin which tasted great.
Not sure how long the tap house has been open for but looks like the locals like it and although only currently open for a few hours in the evening, may well turn into some peoples ‘local’ if hours are extended.
Written 22 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Claire R
9 contributions
Oct 2019 • Couples
Thank you Gordon for a very warm welcome and your advice on the gin! Massive recommend to anyone passing by and apparently the Shining Knight is great too!
Written 30 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gordon R
27 contributions
Aug 2019
Well done Loch Leven Brewery for putting on some awesome live music with the Burleigh Blues band.The beer was spot and the musicianship was excellent (I loved Le Grande).Keep it up with more events like this, and PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE get a license extension, I can't believe the authorities would refuse you, 8.00 chucking out time is not good for an avid beer drinker and muso, 10.00pm please
Written 5 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Gordon, thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review. We are really pleased at how popular our Sunday evening live music events are in the Tap Room. Sadly I missed the Burleigh Blues Band performance last Sunday but a number of people have mentioned to me how great they were - I won't miss them next time! Our application for extending the opening hours is currently with the Licensing Board and fingers crossed they approve it.
Written 6 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

georgianpeony
York, UK31 contributions
Jun 2019
We were driving through Kinross recently and spotted this gem. We sampled their Rose and Pepper gin and it was absolutely amazing. A lovely place for a drink and some bar snacks in a relaxed environment (indoors or on some table in the sunshine out the front)!
Written 26 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit
Written 27 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Darryn_Fewster
Edinburgh, UK96 contributions
May 2019 • Couples
I arrived at this place, as we drive passed it on a regular basis, to try and establish what Loch Leven Brewery was all about and try and find out what was on offer here.

Inside it was lovely and warm and very cosy (not that it was particularly cold outside) but it had a very homely and warm feeling about it. We were welcomed by the barmaid with a broad smile and immediately felt very welcome.

Whilst my partner was ordering drinks, I got offered a ‘tour’ of the distillery. I say tour but it was more like a glimpse with an explanation inside a room. Having said that tho, it was very interesting and I was very honoured to be given the chance to be given the explanations and the guided explanation around the vats. This was really interesting and learning why the beers were named what they were made a lot more sense to me.

Having said that, I was very disappointed when I came out and was able to quench my thirst. I got given the paddle as I thought this was going to allow me to taste all the different beers and I must be able to find one that I liked....sadly this was not to be.

Having said I was disappointed in the beers, I was very happy to report that my missus ordered the gin and this was very nice. In my lack of experience and purely as some one who drinks beer I would say that the beers lacked body and needed to have more substance about them, having said that I am no beer expert and don’t claim to be.

The place itself was very nice and we were able to sit in a little sun trap and enjoyed the free games which were on offer. I haven’t played snakes and ladders for years but we sat drinking our drinks and enjoying the sun and being out and not in a busy pub.

This is the ideal retreat if you and our loved one wants to go somewhere and enjoy yourselves without the bustle of a pub and being bombarded by drunk people. I would just recommend going with the Gin....
Written 24 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Darryn, Thanks so much for leaving that very constructive feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit but obviously disappointed that you didn't find one of our beers that you particularly liked. Nearly all of the comments we have received on our beers since we started have been very positive and most people have been able to decide on a favorite. That said, everyone's taste in beers is very much a personal thing and there are always going to be occasions where we don't quite hit the mark with a beer drinker like yourself and I will pass on your comment to our Master Brewer about you thinking they perhaps lacked body & substance. As a very new brewery, we only currently have 4 different beers which we are brewing which means that there are many types of beers that we are not. We are aiming to plug those gaps in due course as and when we can as we develop our product range but we want to do that in a sustainable fashion. Please do let us know if there are any particular styles of beer that you think we should consider producing and we are always looking for feedback on our current beers. I am not quite sure from your comment whether it was the Brewery or Distillery that you had a look around. As you discovered, what we are not really in a position to offer 'tours' in the normal sense because, whether it was the Brewery or Distillery, they are both micro and both consist of just a single room where all the brewing / distilling processes take place. We don't as a rule offer paid-for tours but are happy to show anyone around and explain the brewing process if we are not to busy and they are interested. I am so glad that your wife liked the Rose & Pepper gin - it is my favorite too! Thanks again
Written 27 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

linda thompson
Perth and Kinross, UK9 contributions
Mar 2019 • Couples
Nice modern building .
Very nice management and staff.
Dog friendly as well.
Superb range of their own brewed on premises ales beers and gins.
Coffees and tea available as well.
Nice packs of beer to buy and bottles of gin to purchase as gifts as well.
Atmosphere is warm welcoming and very friendly.
Give it a try you wont be disappointed.
Written 27 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Linda, Thank so much for taking the time to leave this review - it is hugely appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Written 28 March 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 32
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing