We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo

Features Animals
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
+44 1600 890360
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
£100 fine for parking for 11 minutes!!

Be very careful even entering the car park. Parked briefly to ask about entrance costs and food and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
wyevalley123
,
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Such a shame

Such a shame that a nice place for a family day out that has now been ruined by parking eye and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Mrs-S-Perkins
,
Hereford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 409 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo provides an ideal space to experience beautiful, free-flying, tropical butterflies!Use our identification sheets to find out about our butterflies & hunt for caterpillars and chrysalis along the way!We are ideally set in the Wye Valley, next to The aMazing Hedge Puzzle, Wye Valley Miniature Golf & Wye Valley Warfare Laser Ops! Check our website for online offers!
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good34%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1600 890360
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 408 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Be very careful even entering the car park. Parked briefly to ask about entrance costs and food and ended up with a £100 fine for parking 11 minutes!

2  Thank wyevalley123
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Such a shame that a nice place for a family day out that has now been ruined by parking eye and their notorious ways. I unfortunately will not be returning.

1  Thank Mrs-S-Perkins
Reviewed 5 days ago

Parking tip: Cover your front and rear number plate up before you enter the parking area. Uncover them once you have left. Nothing that Parking Eye can do as you are on private property and none of the staff can actually touch your car. Beat...More

1  Thank Jedzeer
Reviewed 1 week ago

Avoid at all costs. The centro is quite dated and overpriced for what it is. But the people who own the center are seemingly determined to drive away business. They employ a predatory group called Parking Eye to run the carpark, using ANPR. I myself...More

3  Thank MattyJMP
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Will not be returning under any circumstance. parking ran by the company ‘Parking Eye’ Which resulted in a £100 fine for leaving the car park five minutes late (due to saying goodbye to family and strapping kids into car seats). Did not see clear visible...More

4  Thank Cheryl L
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a nature guy, and I love insects (not all insects - just the pretty ones and ones that don't look evil). I especially love butterflies - and being a photographer, I thought this was a great opportunity to get some nice photos of beautiful...More

Thank SamThurlow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in this afternoon for something to do. As we arrived at 14:50 and they close at 16:00 we were only allowed to do one attraction so we went to see the butterflies. We were back out to the car by 15:20 Shocking to see...More

Thank iolite85
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A last minute decision to go to Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo, so didn’t check Trip Adviser reviews beforehand, big mistake. Paid for 4 hours parking, but as parking time is measured from time driving into car park and time driving out, meant going 15 minutes...More

2  Thank Richard H
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

parking! £100 "parking charge", don't park in the visitor centre 553450398 Avoid parking here, the car park is run by parking eye limited, do a quick search of them and you'll see what they are like. I paid for parking, was here less than an...More

5  Thank MontyMimi
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Well apart from the obvious which is walks, there is not a lot to do in the wye valley ion a cold december day is there? Well actually there is, this place is open in the winter and is a great little place to spend...More

1  Thank Peter e
PreviousNext
12345641
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Ross-on-Wye
The Old Court Hotel
527 reviews
.11 km away
The Paddocks Hotel
205 reviews
.77 km away
Pencraig Court Hotel
16 reviews
3.70 km away
Glewstone Court
619 reviews
5.05 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Potting Shed
78 reviews
.57 km away
Jo's Diner
30 reviews
.93 km away
The Crown Whitchurch
6 reviews
.37 km away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
309 reviews
1.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wye Valley Cruises
13 reviews
.71 km away
Canoe the Wye
399 reviews
.73 km away
Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips
226 reviews
.78 km away
Wye Canoes Ltd
111 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
heartbev
25 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from wiilhunting | Reviewed this property |
DecisionSuccessful Assessor NameSophie Taylor Assessor summary of operator case The operator has issued the Parking Charge Notice (PCN) as the appellant has failed to purchase sufficient parking time to cover the period of... More
3
Votes
kazzybRedditch
16 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HeyesBros | Property representative |
Dogs are unfortunately not allowed in any of the enclosures, the butterfly zoo included due to the zoo licensing laws, which apply to our zoo. Dogs, however, are welcome on the grounds and there is a nice riverside walk to... More
0
Votes
Sue C
25 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from cherhowells | Reviewed this property |
yes there are toilets and a cafe , also two pubs that serve teas ,coffees and meals with gardens within walking distance
0
Votes