We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo

Features Animals
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
+44 1600 890360
Website
Save
Review Highlights
AVOID! There is a parking fine scam.

I paid the entrance fee, I bought some trinkets in the shop and today discover I am being fined... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
GBlayney
,
Newport, UK
been their

lovely place to vist loads different butterflys children will love it will keep them happy like we... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Heather B
,
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Read all 395 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo provides an ideal space to experience beautiful, free-flying, tropical butterflies!Use our identification sheets to find out about our butterflies & hunt for caterpillars and chrysalis along the way!We are ideally set in the Wye Valley, next to The aMazing Hedge Puzzle, Wye Valley Miniature Golf & Wye Valley Warfare Laser Ops! Check our website for online offers!
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good35%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1600 890360
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

I paid the entrance fee, I bought some trinkets in the shop and today discover I am being fined £100 for parking. There are no clear signs, this is a scam and the owners of this place should be ashamed of themselves for fleecing their...More

Thank GBlayney
Reviewed 6 days ago

lovely place to vist loads different butterflys children will love it will keep them happy like we grownups to takes go round about 30to 40 mins they got small shop has well cafe

Thank Heather B
Reviewed 6 days ago

I've visited here a number of times but my most recent was with my brother and my nephew and it's still as beautiful as always. Parking charges are in place but are very reasonable as you get a part refund when entering the attraction. Entrance...More

1  Thank hellohayley123
Reviewed 1 week ago

parking fines with no visible signage. not worth a £100 fine. id be ashamed to work at such a scam. There are plenty of other things to do in the forest of dean than to visit such a shambles of a place.

Thank Riley T
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A perfect way to spend a few hours, with or without children. Magnifying glasses and cards to identify species are supplied. The green house is hot but you can leave and return. Located next to the crazy golf and maze you could easily spend a...More

Thank swanseafamily_11
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place especially in the summer loads of butterflies 🦋 flying around and landing on you to the amusement of the children, there is always someone there to ask questions and they supply nets to put over your head if you are worried about the...More

Thank Jeni M
Reviewed 1 week ago

What could be a great day out for the family is hindered by receiving a shocking £100 fine for parking at the attraction, 14 days later!! I paid for a ticket and supposedly stayed for the 4 hours stated on my ticket. Although, of course,...More

1  Thank emmaridgill
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited this attraction and met my daughter and grandchildren for a day out. We were so looking forwaed to the day out and thought we had paid for our time ion the car park. We have now both received a £100 fine, which means...More

Thank Smithyman2014
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a couple of hours here and a few rounds of crazee golf but despite paying for a parking ticket still got a charge notice through the post from Parking Eye nearly a month later with a £100 fine discounted to £60 if paid in...More

Thank Pen240
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Butterfly Zoo seems to have seen better days but is a wonderful experience. Simply sitting on the benches inside the warm and damp environment watching the array of stunning butterflies waft past is calming but also prompts one to consider the amazing construction of...More

Thank davecentrehalf
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Potting Shed
69 reviews
.57 km away
Jo's Diner
26 reviews
.43 km away
The Crown Whitchurch
6 reviews
.36 km away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
303 reviews
1.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wye Valley Cruises
13 reviews
.74 km away
Canoe the Wye
399 reviews
.76 km away
Ross on Wye Canoe Hire - Day Trips
226 reviews
.81 km away
Wye Canoes Ltd
110 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
heartbev
25 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from wiilhunting | Reviewed this property |
DecisionSuccessful Assessor NameSophie Taylor Assessor summary of operator case The operator has issued the Parking Charge Notice (PCN) as the appellant has failed to purchase sufficient parking time to cover the period of... More
3
Votes
kazzybRedditch
16 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HeyesBros | Property representative |
Dogs are unfortunately not allowed in any of the enclosures, the butterfly zoo included due to the zoo licensing laws, which apply to our zoo. Dogs, however, are welcome on the grounds and there is a nice riverside walk to... More
0
Votes
Sue C
25 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from cherhowells | Reviewed this property |
yes there are toilets and a cafe , also two pubs that serve teas ,coffees and meals with gardens within walking distance
0
Votes