We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leisure World Colchester

Cowdray Avenue, Colchester CO1 1YH, England
+44 1206 282000
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Good fun for kids

Took the kids here whilst on holiday. The thought it was great fun. They were disappointed neither... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
sarah1305
,
Ashford
via mobile
Enough Chlorine to sterilise a chicken

Whilst on holiday in the area we went here with our 7 year old to enjoy the water slides. The... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sn0wman
,
Cannock
Read all 148 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Year round fun for all the family can be had at Leisure World Colchester, with its wide range of sports and leisure activities. Whether you want to swim, work out in the gym, play sports or enjoy the social aspect of attending fun fitness classes, there is something for you at Leisure World Colchester. You can enjoy the facilities on a 'pay as you go' basis or by becoming a member.
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good39%
  • Average21%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“great pool” (6 reviews)
“locker key” (4 reviews)
LOCATION
Cowdray Avenue, Colchester CO1 1YH, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1206 282000
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Took the kids here whilst on holiday. The thought it was great fun. They were disappointed neither were tall enough for the outside rapids (we're all very short in our family). Flumes were good, just the usual cold wait on the stairs whilst queuing. The...More

Thank sarah1305
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you all enjoyed your visit. I have passed your feedback onto the Pools Manager.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst on holiday in the area we went here with our 7 year old to enjoy the water slides. The facilities and changing were ok, as was the pool set-up. However, even before entering the water the levels of chlorine were causing eye irritation. You...More

Thank Sn0wman
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review and sorry to hear you had to curtail your visit to the Leisure Pool. The chemicals in the pools are managed by an automated dosing system which reacts to the volume bacteria detected in the water. We have checked the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to take my young daughter her as the weather was bad . Gave them a call at 7.30am and message says all operators are busy ,Really at 7.30 am ??? . Made over 30 more call and left messages to call me back ..surprise...More

Thank Lee H
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at Leisure World. Due to the extreme weather conditions yesterday we were extremely busy. Once the pool is at its full capacity for health and safety reasons we have to put a ban...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have visited this pool every year for the past 5 years and have never had a bad experience. The only downside this time was the pool side showers were not working and the ladies toilets were out of service and with my wife being...More

Thank Gary S
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you review, glad to hear you enjoyed the Leisure Pool. Unfortunately the toilets had to be closed for unscheduled repairs, an alternative was offered but we appreciate it would have been busy with one less toilet facility. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited yesterday for the first time. There was no running water. People were using the toilets and then unable to wash hands due to no water and then getting straight back in the pool. The showers were not working either so there was no...More

Thank Louisey52
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear this. Cleanliness around the poolside areas is something the Pools Manager is looking into as a priority alongside other managers and operational staff. Unfortunately the toilets had to be closed for unscheduled repairs, an alternative...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came back from uni for the summer and to keep fit I go for the odd swim every now and then. I got one of the cards that would normally work on the self checkout but it doesn't have a fitness pool option. If you...More

Thank Harry T
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to Leisure World. I have passed your comments onto the relevant manager.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here today for a family day out and it was great. We did have a great time shame it's not abit bigger as with the amount of people there. Will definitely return

1  Thank J2433KKjonathank
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed your comments onto our Pools Manager.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took the grandchildren for a swim good value for the money Quite busy Would go again keeped the kids busy

1  Thank Bryan N
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you all enjoyed your visit to Leisure World.

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Despite heavy investment, the basics here just aren't right. Our kids love it here, the wave machine and flumes are great, but the changing rooms by the leisure pool are disgustingly dirty and never seem to be clean no matter what time of day we...More

2  Thank Evelyn B
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear this. We have passed this information onto the Pools Manager.

Reviewed 12 July 2017

well you would never believe this was a sports centre as they put on a fantastic Jimmy Carr live show ..There's a lot of venue's that could learn a thing or two about organising a busy live show such as this !!!!!!! from the car...More

Thank Mark L
LWColchester, Manager at Leisure World Colchester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed the show.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Grain
142 reviews
.73 km away
Middletons Steakhouse & Grill Colchester
522 reviews
.69 km away
The Green Room
374 reviews
.75 km away
Ask Italian - Colchester
234 reviews
.72 km away
Nearby Attractions
Castle Park
880 reviews
.83 km away
Colchester Castle Museum
749 reviews
.82 km away
Hollytrees Museum
154 reviews
.82 km away
Colchester's Natural History Museum
75 reviews
.86 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Leisure World Colchester staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit