We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: Leoforos Vassilissis Amalias 44, Athens 105 58, Greece
Name/address in local language
Phone Number:
+30 21 0428 5500
Today
06:30 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 06:30 - 22:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 42 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 10
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
It worked as promised

I booked with then a day-tour to Hydra, Poros and Aegina. All went good, we were picked up with reasonable punctuality - we were not in a hotel so we walked to the closest pick-up... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 August 2016
Fernando R
,
Dublin, Ireland
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Athens

Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016

We normally like to take the Hop on Hop tours in large cities as a way to get a good overview and learn more of the city we are visiting. This was our first bad experience and it was primarily due to too much traffic that we were stopped in and with the prerecorded tour we just sat there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana H
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I enjoy the Hop on Hop off bus tours because it gives a great over view of the city. We were not disappointed by the Athens experience but a pleasant surprise greeted us when we took the walking tour . I was expecting something basic but our guide , Dimitri (sp) wowed us. His background was in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stefanop54
North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Bring your own headset, it will be better than the free ones they give you! There are 15 stops where you can hop off/ hop on. It's a nice way to learn the city's history.

Helpful?
Thank mrosewhite
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

I booked with then a day-tour to Hydra, Poros and Aegina. All went good, we were picked up with reasonable punctuality - we were not in a hotel so we walked to the closest pick-up point - and the bus was quite alright. We were brought to the port and went on board of a big and comfortable boat. I... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Fernando R
hopin2015, General Manager at Hop In Sightseeing, responded to this review

Dear Fernando, thank you for your review. Glad you have enjoyed the cruise and are satisfied with the price you have booked with versus quality. All the Best More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

We used this travel agency on the spur of the moment on a Sunday in Athens to get ferry tickets in advance for our trip to Santorini. The agent was helpful in getting us these tickets, and we understood that we would pay a 5 Euro per ticket service charge for this service. However, when it came time to pay,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RARxxx
hopin2015, General Manager at Hop In Sightseeing, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for the review. Kindly note that in the whole world, Greece includeed, when you use your card in to pay through the P.O.S. machine the amount paid can only be withdrawn in the Local Currence. The machine, however, automatically informs you about the corresponding amount of the currency of you bank (whether it is in US/AUD... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2016

This tour was provided by "Athens one day cruise". Within the last 10 years I've taken tours in 11 countries, 16 cities and 2 continents. I had all kind of tours: great, good and so so. The 3 islands tour on Anna Mari ship is the first tour that make me feel ashamed with myself as they were showing that... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank arsen21
hopin2015, General Manager at Hop In Sightseeing, responded to this review

Dear Arsen, thank you for the time you have dedicated to leaving a review. We will make sure to transfer your concerns to the Supplier. Best Wishes More 

Tipp City, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2016

For our 1 day extended tour of Athens this week we decided to do a hop on-hop off bus tour during the day, and a night tour that evening. We signed up for tour #06..."Athens by Night with Dinner". Was said to run from 19:30-23:55, about 4 1/2 hours. But, we spent a miserable hour picking up a few people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim J
hopin2015, General Manager at Hop In Sightseeing, responded to this review

Dear Tim, thanks for taking time to leave a review. Kindly note that the purpose of the Tour is to show the customers the Traditional Greek Folklore Show which is famous for it's music, lively dances and the traditional way for Greeks to spend an evening : in a big company enjoying food and music which sometimes due to the... More 

ak
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2016

Let me start by saying the crew on the cruise was great and the lunch buffet was delicious. The person who sold us the tickets misrepresented the cruise to us, she described it as being 2 hours of sailing between each stop and then 2 hours on each island when we only has 1 hour 15 min on Hydra, 40... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank aktraveler_11
hopin2015, General Manager at Hop In Sightseeing, responded to this review

Dear Customer, many thanks for the review. Glad to hear you have had a nice time. We will transfer your observations about the time spent on the islands to the Cruise Supplier. Hope to see you with us again. All the Best More 

concord, ca
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2016

This was, hands down, the worst ever tour I've had. The tour guide droned on, without passion (a recording would have been better). She had no interaction with the group. When outside she had an umbrella right around her head, that cutoff some of us hearing her and she positioned herself so that the group was facing into the sun,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula B
hopin2015, General Manager at Hop In Sightseeing, responded to this review

Dear Paula, thank you for the review! Sorry to hear you had concerns about the tour organization. We will make sure to transfer you observations to the Tour Supplier. Thank you for the time, your reviews help tours get better. All the Best More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

The woman who booked our one day cruise was very pleasant, helpful and easygoing. She gave us all the information we needed for our tour. (You have to come to Scotland)

Helpful?
Thank Mister5214
hopin2015, General Manager at Hop In Sightseeing, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for taking time to leave this review. We are extremely glad to hear you are satisfied with the level of customer care in our Office. Hope to see you with us again! Kind Wishes More 

Travellers who viewed Hop In Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to Hop In Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hop In Sightseeing staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Plaka

Neighbourhood Profile
Plaka
Due to its proximity to the Acropolis, Plaka remains the area where the majority of foreign visitors stay and play. Its attractive features include small squares, some notable museums and the beautiful Mitropolis cathedral, as well as a host of places to stay, eat and drink. Its pedestrian zones make it a pleasant place to escape from the city’s notorious traffic. Adrianou and Kidathineon Streets contain a number of souvenir shops, offering classier items than you will find in the Flea Market. The most rewarding section to explore is the upper reaches towards the Acropolis itself, where many old stone houses with tiled roofs have survived. Up here you can find leafier corners and the odd quaint taverna with unobstructed views of the ancient rock.
Explore this neighbourhood