We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: Temporarily closed

Bladnoch Distillery

132 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Message from Tripadvisor: Temporarily closed

Bladnoch Distillery

132 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
132Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 17
  • 4
  • 2
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lesley Shell wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
We decided at last minute to go for a tour of our local distillery as we have said for a while it was something we must do. Even though we are not whiskey lovers we still really enjoyed the tour and the lady that took us was very informative and friendly. We were lucky as due to flood damage to the cafe this was the last tour for 2020. I will definitely recommend it to our campers next year as a good thing to do.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Bladnoch_VC, Manager at Bladnoch Distillery
Responded 7 Dec 2020
Thank you Lesley! Please come back in the new year to see the Visitor Centre at its best.
Read more
Amy W wrote a review Dec 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Although we knew the place had had a recent flood, our tour was not cancelled, and it was the last tour of the year. Upon arrival I needed to use the toilet facilities having travelled for an hour to get there. I was advised that the toilets were closed to customers due to work being carried out. After going to the nearby inn (which was closed) and the garage (also closed) I had to insist that I was able to use a toilet (after all , the staff must have a place to go surely, and the distillery is not exactly in the middle of a busy town!) Eventually I was allowed to but the girl didn’t seem very happy sorting this out for us, muttering something about not being from around here. We didn’t feel it was unreasonable to ask to use a toilet before we got started. I think if a business is still going to open for the public to visit for an hours tasting tour , and you are having work done, you should at least have 1 toilet available. Otherwise , don’t open if you can’t provide something simple like a toilet ! After that the girl didn’t really speak to us at all and we stood around waiting for the tour to start- when the other couple arrived they were checked off a list I think and they were welcomed. I think this aspect could have been better. The tour itself was very actually very informative and you got to see everything from production to the barrels. Samples were very good and decent size. Husband very happy with the whisky we purchased. Disappointing start to our visit , but otherwise a good tour.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bladnoch_VC, Manager at Bladnoch Distillery
Responded 6 Dec 2020
Hello Amy, I'm really sorry to hear you weren't given the customer service we pride ourselves on, it's really disappointing to hear. Unfortunately, we're operating on a bit of a building site at the moment. After what has already been a really difficult year for the tourism industry we also had quite a serious flood a few weeks ago. We had hoped we could keep the shop and tours running until Christmas. However last week it was apparent that this wasn't going to be possible as more and more work started. The toilets are not suitable for the public however you should have been offered the use of them if you really needed this so I can only apologise. Hopefully, you can join us again in the new year once we are fully back up and running and experience the full Visitor Centre at its best. Please get in touch with us when you plan to visit again. Take care.
Read more
LesleyS165 wrote a review Nov 2020
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom14 contributions11 helpful votes
I do not like whisky but my husband and our friends are connoisseurs. We booked a tour and were welcomed by Helen. Helen was entertaining, very knowledgeable and a real ambassador for the distillery. It’s an amazing place and I loved hearing all about it. Go for a visit 🥃
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Bladnoch_VC, Manager at Bladnoch Distillery
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Thank you for your review. This was one of our first tours post- flooding so we are really grateful for your visit. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope you will visit us again soon to enjoy some Cafe Melba!
Read more
A True Review wrote a review Nov 2020
Stranraer, United Kingdom2 contributions
We started our tour of Bladnoch distillery in the cafe. We enjoyed our drinks in a lovely warm area. We were the only two on the tour so it felt very personal. Helen very friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the distillery as she was local born and bread. We came away with a few bottles of whisky that is going to make fantastic Christmas pressies. I would highly recommend this tour and buying a few bottles as the single malt is just heaven. The new owner has invested a lot to make sure this place is to its highest standard. The team that works in the distillery was very friendly and approachable. The distillery it’s self was spotless.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Bladnoch_VC, Manager at Bladnoch Distillery
Responded 10 Nov 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We will pass your comments on to your you guide, Helen and we hope that the whisky is enjoyed by everyone!.
Read more
Janet W wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Best way to spend a rainy day in Scotland! Have done a few distillery tours before and this was by far the best. Emma the tour guide was great - very personable. Will be recommending to friends! Bought the 11 year old single malt which we'd highly recommend!! Many thanks
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Bladnoch_VC, Manager at Bladnoch Distillery
Responded 2 Nov 2020
Thank you, Janet. It's encouraging to hear you enjoyed your tour and also the whisky. We look forward to welcoming some of your friends. Thanks again.
Read more
Previous