Club Smokey
Club Smokey
3.5
What people are saying
A tale of 2 days (and different staff)
2.0 of 5 bubblesJun 2022
Well what can I say, we attended Smokey’s coffeeshop and club on 2 occasions during our 4 day stay in Amsterdam. Our 1st time was unreal, We sat straight across from the coffeeshop itself where we found the service to quick and happy to help, the coffeeshop also has a good selection where we used the QR code to order our drinks which were very quick in coming to the table, couldn’t fault the place really however, Our 2nd time must I say was nothing short of a disaster this time we sat outside the Smokey’s club even tho they coffeeshop and club are nearly beside one another , we done what we done last time and ordered from the QR Code where we ordered a bottle of blue WKD and a bottle of Desperados, if you have already visited Amsterdam before you will know that alcohol is not cheap, we still had around 35 minutes until we had a booking for another attraction 2 minutes down the road so thought a quick stop at Smokey’s for a smoke and a drink before we move on was the best option well deary me how wrong were we! 25 minutes after ordering still no drinks had arrived, I decided I had given the staff the benefit of the doubt to the fullest as we were only waiting on 2 bottles so when I asked the bartender he told us he had “made them” and that they must of been sent out to another table and asked where we were sitting, so after showing the bartender where we were sitting I assumed this was end of the issue and we would get our drinks brought out to us in 2 minutes (just enough time to sink them in one go before we had to start walking to our attraction) well again I was wrong sitting watching the man behind the bar clean the glasses make other tables orders and just ultimately going fairly slow with the pace another 5 minutes had gone by now and still no drinks so I decided I’m going to have to ask again as by this time we only just have enough time to leave and walk to our attraction I enquired about the drinks to the server this time who must I say came away with some bulls**t about how we had already ordered through the QR code and not through him serving us which meant that we had to go upto the bar and collect our drinks (thought the whole point of a QR code was to order stuff to our table as this is what happened the last time we attended) after saying this I told him we had waiting half an hour and need to move on so can we get the money back to which he replied “you’ll need to ask about this inside, thanks” and went back to sorting the shisha showing absolutely no interested in trying to help with the situation, I realised I can’t do anymore as it appears that it’s everyone else’s fault apart from the staffs that these 2 bottles I had ordered had vanished into thin air and had to leave Smokey’s telling the group behind us (who had also been waiting a good while for their drinks) that they can have ours if they ever come out, feeling out of pocket, still thirsty and highly unwelcomed and undervalued as a customer which was a massive shame as throughout our whole time in Amsterdam everyone we came across made us feel so welcomed until we met these two. How it was made out to be so hard to open 2 bottles of alcohol and hand them to us I’ll never know but the man behind the bar was no help and nor was the staff member serving with the big beard Who was working at around 2pm on the 18th of June, hopefully someone from Smokey’s reads this and realises it’s not right to take peoples money and not supply them with the product they have asked for and may refund us but if todays impression is anything to go by then I highly doubt it, the bulldog might be busier however I never got my money taken off me and no product in return from them.

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Club Smokey and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
How to get there
  • Waterlooplein • 6 min walk
  • Nieuwmarkt • 10 min walk
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles129 reviews
Excellent
29
Very good
42
Average
20
Poor
9
Terrible
29

Jay G
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom19 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2017 • Couples
Went boozing the first night my girlfriend, music was banging, good old skill hip hop rnb mixed with that foreign beat to mix it up.
Was €8 for males and free for ladies, can’t grumble at that. Worth every cent

Written 7 December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Iina991
Amsterdam, The Netherlands14 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2014 • Friends
As a local Amsterdammer the Smokey is not my first choice when I am going out. Dont get me wrong, as a girl it is not so bad if there are more guys than girls but in Smokey there are basically only guys (80-20% or even 90-10%). A lot of Lads up to pull some birds (inside joke: Geordie shore bar) and I feel it is even distracting when all men are staring at you. Beer is also quite expensive, you can get cheaper beer somewhere else. The music is good though, makes you wanna dance but it again, too many guys. I would recommend this bar for girls up to some fun (tash on!!!) but for guys if the interest is to pull, you could get disappointed over here. Entrance is free of charge.
Written 31 July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rebecca G
249 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2019 • Friends
Really good night out! The crowd was very mixed and fun and the DJ played some good music. Good venue for tourists and free entry! Would definitely return again
Written 11 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Pat P
Nairobi, Kenya8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2013 • Friends
This is the worst club ever! It has racist personnel manning the door. We were a group of 5 and the bouncer called pedro (if that is his real name) claimed that we could not go in since some of us were black and within the group we only had 1 lady!! When he was asked to call the manager so that we could report the racist remarks he claimed that he was the manager ( which idiot of a manager moonlights as a bouncer?!!)
My advise is avoid this place at all costs, there is a much better bar/disco right next door where you get treated like a human being.
Written 27 August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ben C
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2015 • Friends
This club should be avoided at all costs. I used the cloakroom (costs 1.50, which wasn't too bad considering its more often than not £1 in the UK) however, I when I left and went to pick up my jacket it wasn't there. The staff then said come back tomorrow and I did to which it still wasn't there and no one could be of any help to me. I was told that there was nothing they could do even though I had the ticket stub. This is a disgrace considering I had paid for the service. I can only imagine one of the staff stole it as their ticketing system was seemingly pretty good. To add insult to injury they now won't respond to any of my emails. I'm looking forward to hearing from them and getting some money towards a new jacket. AVOID THIS CLUB, EXPENSIVE AND THE STAFF ARE EITHER INCOMPETENT OR THEIVES - P.S. SMOKEYS EMAIL ME BACK
Written 1 March 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Gemma S
Rochdale, UK30 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2017 • Friends
Came here saturday 4 march friends birthday, MC rude why they need one who knows?? Asked for a birthday shout out was rude and didnt do
Spoke over music constantly could not enjoy night
Busy and packed people barge into you no apology guess us brits too polite
They also play half song so you get into one song dancin and they play another after 30 seconds this is quite common as licences cost a fortune.... you would think the 50 cents charge for a wee would pay for this... no!!
They should take note of clubs in tenerife... drinks vouchers friendly staff and whole songs= winner!!!
Smokys is a nono avoid
Written 5 March 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

SolusIreland
Dublin, Ireland523 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2016 • Friends
First the positives - in my experience, the bouncers were v pleasant to us & the music was good. Nice clientele, reasonably priced drinks. So now for the negatives - I agree with the other poster regardin going some staff. The two blonde bar ladies serving tonight (26th March 2016) were absolutely horrid to order from. Very unfriendly & rude. I ordered red wine, one bar lady said, in a very rude manner that they only had white wine. strange not to have red wine on a Saturday night, but okay fine, it wasn't a big deal. She walked away to serve someone else, so I ordered a white wine & a sparkling water to make a spritzer from the second bar lady. Equally as rude, she handed me the wine in a small tumbler glass. There was not enough room to make a spritzer so I asked her for a wine glass instead. She gave me the most horrible look, took a dirty glass off the bar, dipped it into a sink of dirty water (see pic) turned it up right & proceeded to pour the wine from the tumbler into the still wet glass with some suds still on it from the sink water. So unpleasant and unhygienic. I'm not sure whether these ladies have some kind of problem but they need to get themselves in check because they really upset me (and so I decided to write this in the hope that their manager may actually read these comments). This is no way to treat people & raises health and safety concerns. If that's what they are doing with glasses in front of you, what's going on behind the scenes??? Avoid this place!
Written 26 March 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Solus, Sorry to hear what happened your night out in Amsterdam. I think you're a little confused on which club you've been, because We do not have blond ladies behind the bar on weekends We have always red wine in stock The picture of the sink you have taken is not our, we don't have the same sink its totally different. We not have the tumblers on the right site of the picture. The picture looks like our neighbors, they have the same sink, tumblers and blond ladies behind the bar. Next time i want you and your friends invite (on the guest list with a good glass of red win) in Club Smokey when you are back in Amsterdam. So you can see that it is a mistake. Greetings Club Smokey
Written 8 June 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Harj D
Birmingham, UK9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2019 • Friends
I went here with a few friends, a few of us left as the bouncers accosted us as soon as we got in there and I'm glad that we did. We saw and heard of lots of people getting robbed by the bouncers. 2 of the group we were with had wallets stolen by the bouncers after they accused them of being 'too drunk.'
We reported to the police, who advised the staff at smokeys had got theft down to a fine art, which made it difficult to investigate or prosecute. Avoid if you have any sense
Written 12 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ThomasEngel90
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2014 • Friends
Be careful about this club, I've recently got assaulted by the staff. A friend of mine and I were trying to count the money we were going to pay for a drink when a female bartender started to actually collect the money on her own. At that point I tried to stop her by touching her hand and the money, asking what the actual price of the drink was. The bartender started to scream hysterically and called for a bodyguard. The bodyguard actually came asking another guy if he was the person concerned. Although I could have walked away, I actually told him it was me and that I didn't understand what the problem was. I asked for an explanation and return of my female friend's money for the drink she's never gotten. We were simply kicked out of the club and received no answer or reimbursement. I can't believe I encountered this situation in the city center Amsterdam.
Written 8 June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lakiery S
Denver, CO32 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 • Friends
This was one of the worst clubs that I’ve visited in Amsterdam the security was very rude and disrespectful I would not recommend coming to this club if so just be wary that the security are very Mean and disrespectful they called us names and the manger laughed in our faces
Written 27 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 89
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Club Smokey - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024) - Tripadvisor

All Amsterdam HotelsAmsterdam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Amsterdam
All things to do in Amsterdam
Day Trips in Amsterdam
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire